We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice and pleasant Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Citadines Bastille Gare de Lyon Paris

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Citadines Bastille Gare de Lyon Paris to your Saves list
Citadines Bastille Gare de Lyon Paris
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14-18, rue de Chaligny | 12th Arr., 75012 Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #693 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very Nice and pleasant Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I just returned from our swiss-paris trip yesterday. It was difficult to choose which hotel to book in Paris because Paris has numerous choices of hotel. Because we had 10 month baby with us, Kichenett, connectivity and Airport shuttle was my priority when looking for hotels. This hotel served my purpose very nicely. It is an extremely good choice on budget. Not very cheap and not over priced . just the rightly priced and it does provide everything that it promises on its or booking.com websites.

We arrived to Gare de lyon station from Geneva and this hotel is very close from this main train station. Just 7 to 10 min walk. Also the Reuilly metro station is just 2 min from the hotel. The hotel is in city yet nicely located at a calm location so you can relax if you want to hide from city chaos. You can travel most of the Paris attractions by metro so having M1 metro station near was very convenient.

These are Apartment hotels and they have well maintained and clean apartments. We had booked 1 studio and 1 apartment with 1 bedroom. Both were extremely good. There Kitchen has dishwasher, fridge and plenty of pots, pans and dinner sets.

There are many restaurents and supermarkets nearby withing 2 to 5 minutes distance, McDonalds on 5 min walk which was a thumbs-up for us :-)

They do have washing machine and dryer that you can use for some charge. However, there is a big coin operated washing machine center just beside the hotel building.

The Lobby and reception area is very nice with a iMAC in english ( and not french like most of hotels) and printer was working fine( we had a very bad experience in Swiss about this). The reception staff was very helpful and also helped us suggesting the trips and guiding to the various travel plans and offering agencies. They all were good in english so it was not so difficult understanding them.

They were also very honest and returned us 256 euros while checking out informing us that there was a mistake in rate we booked via bookings.com. we did not even know that and we really liked their honesty.

They dont have their ownairport shuttle but they ave tie-up with a shuttle provider company, you pay 18Euro per person and can book this shuttle. It came 10 minutes before time ensuring that no-one gets delayed.

I will surely return to this hotel and also recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: If you have special needs, its better to call them and inform personally. We had put our special nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    89
    38
    7
    3
See reviews for
80
54
3
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Just returned from 5 day stay at this place. The location is excellent - 5 to 10 minutes straight walk from Gare de Lyon or a 2 minute walk from the Metro. The yellow metro line 1 runs directly to all of the major tourist attractions and our one day pass enabled us to hop on hop off when we wanted to. The area of the hotel is very safe to walk around and we were able to walk down to the Bastille comfortably. We also one evening walked back from Notre Dame as the evening was so pleasant.

Opposite the hotel is a mini-market which stocked everything we needed for our stay, there are a couple of excellent boulangeries - one at the end of the street as you turn left, and one as you turn right at Rue Diderot. There are plenty of restaurants on the Rue Diderot and also around the Bastille area all within walking distance.

Our studio on the first floor at the front of the hotel was too hot for us (even at the end of December) and we asked to be moved to the top floor at the back of the building where we could sleep with the windows wide open. This was not a problem for the staff and they were more than helpful.

Having toyed with the idea of an apartment - I was glad that we opted for the studio at a far less cost and this was more than adequate. Our bedroom was a large room with tv and table and chairs and an en-suite bathroom, the kitchen area, toilet and wardrobes were seperate as you entered the studio with a door to close the bedroom off.

The kitchen was well equipped with microwave toaster cooking utensils fridge dishwasher and all utensils including kettle. The bed was so comfy we have returned to the UK and are looking for a similar one - very very firm, lovely duvet, sheets and pillows.

All in all the hotel was exactly what we wanted - we could get up at our leisure and make breakfast in our room without having to rush around and try and get to breakfast within a certain time. There were no maids knocking our doors in the morning and nobody running up and down the corridors backwards and forwards to their rooms which we always tend to find in hotels.

The staff spoke excellent english and were very courteous, the safe in our room - which was free and an added bonus - locked out one day and the staff couldnt do enough to ensure that they got it open for us.

I wouldnt hesitate in stopping here again - next time we will drive and I understand we can park in the garage for 20 euros a day.

We flew Air France and picked up the bus outside CDG which dropped us outside the Gare de Lyon, the bus leaves every 15mins and 45mins to the hour. 17 euros each - one way -worked out a lot cheaper than a taxi.

We had a final meal at the Train Bleu in the Gare De Lyon - blew 200 euros but well worth it for the experience - decent wine a dozen oysters fresh grilled fish and hand made macaroons. Im sure there are better restaurants offering exquisite dishes less expensively however this was walking distance, a great ambience, and pure indulgence!

Our only fall into the tourist trap was to visit the Sacre Cour which was breathtaking at night and to be talked into having our portraits drawn by the artists in the square. We said we didnt want our pictures drawn and the artists ignored us - started chatting away in English and before we knew it the pictures we drawn. We were then charged 60 euros each (!) we said we didnt have enough cash and the artists asked the manager of the restuarant where we were eating to take our credit card payment and give them the cash. What the heck it was Christmas Eve - but be warned !!

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have road noise if you want to sleep with the windows open. We opted for a top f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Our stay at this hotel was almost like a comedy show - except that it wasn't and we had a 2.5 month year old with us. First, our suite had been painted the day we arrived. They didn't have another room. (They claimed they were fully booked). We were really concerned about the fumes because they were so strong so we ended up leaving the door to the garden open to air it out all day and then had to leave it open overnight.

The room had a mini-kitchen with a refrigerator and microwave - which was great. The only problem was that running the microwave blew a fuse. The hotel informed us that there were no replacement fuses until the morning - except that the fuse ran the lights and all the plugs in the room in addition to the microwave and refrigerator (where we storing breast milk). My husband figured out how to swap out the other fuse in the fuse box in the room (there were only two) so we had some lights and could sterilize bottles and I could run my breast pump. The trick to this was that the other fuse was for the heat ... and with the door opened due to the fumes the temperature in the room got cold very quickly - the temperature outside dipped down into the forties overnight.

The end of the comedy show was that the hotel maintenance man got very upset at my husband (who is French and understood everything the gentleman had to say) for swapping out the fuses.

It's too bad, everything else about this hotel was very pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

We have found this place very convenient for our stay in Paris. It is right beside a metro station and shops and restaurants are very close by. You have the choice to cook for yourself or go out for meals and they have breakfast available if you wish. Staff are very helpful, including with helping us book tours by phone. It is not elaborate or fussy but we don't want that! There are plenty of cupboards for our belongings but there is no room for a lounge to watch tv. I would happily stay here again. A major advantage is that it is so quiet without traffic noise - at least in our room.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We were a little desperate to find a hotel at short notice as many seemed booked out. The hotel is a little further out from the usual Paris attractions, but of course convenient for the Gare de Lyon.
The area is just a bit run down. The hotel is certainly aware of this as security is obvious with card access required for entry to the hotel.
The rooms were clean and reasonable sized, but again, just a little dated. Unfortunately we were woken up one night by a rowdy lot going to their rooms at 3.00 am.
All in all though, not bad.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astana, Kazakhstan
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Good location, within walking distance of not only Gare de Lyon for European TGV connections but also right next door to Metro Line 1 station (2 minute walk). There are plenty of little restaurants and bars in the neighbourhood along with secveral small inner-city supermarkets for the necessary essentials.

The reception staff are freindly and helpful and although the rooms are basic, they are warm, clean and perfectly acceptable for the price you are paying.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We spent 5 days here in February - I had asked for a self contained apartment. Our first impression even from the hallway was this was 3 star and basic - it was not a welcoming clean feeling. Our room - queen bed was 2 singles pushed together, the bathroom you couldnt swing a cat, and self contained - it wasnt even a real kitchen - everything about the place was very average. Luckily on complaining we were upgraded to a room which was what I expect of a self contained apartment. I wouldnt recommend it to anyone. Close to a train station and that is about it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Citadines Bastille Gare de Lyon Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Bastille Gare de Lyon Paris

Address: 14-18, rue de Chaligny | 12th Arr., 75012 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #693 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Citadines Bastille Gare de Lyon Paris 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines Bastille Gare de Lyon Paris is located in the heart of the Bastille-Nation-Gare de Lyon triangle, in a typically Parisian quarter. This Apart'hotel has its own private garden and is also close to the Saint-Antoine hospital and the Ministry of Finance. This establishment offers you 98 apartments over 7 floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Citadines Bastille Gare de Lyon Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Paris Bastille Gare De Lyon Hotel Paris
Citadines Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citadines Bastille Gare de Lyon Paris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;