We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location but building challenges” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Citadines Bastille Gare de Lyon Paris

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Citadines Bastille Gare de Lyon Paris to your Saves list
Citadines Bastille Gare de Lyon Paris
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14-18, rue de Chaligny | 12th Arr., 75012 Paris, France (Bercy / Nation)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #916 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice location but building challenges”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Our stay at this hotel was almost like a comedy show - except that it wasn't and we had a 2.5 month year old with us. First, our suite had been painted the day we arrived. They didn't have another room. (They claimed they were fully booked). We were really concerned about the fumes because they were so strong so we ended up leaving the door to the garden open to air it out all day and then had to leave it open overnight.

The room had a mini-kitchen with a refrigerator and microwave - which was great. The only problem was that running the microwave blew a fuse. The hotel informed us that there were no replacement fuses until the morning - except that the fuse ran the lights and all the plugs in the room in addition to the microwave and refrigerator (where we storing breast milk). My husband figured out how to swap out the other fuse in the fuse box in the room (there were only two) so we had some lights and could sterilize bottles and I could run my breast pump. The trick to this was that the other fuse was for the heat ... and with the door opened due to the fumes the temperature in the room got cold very quickly - the temperature outside dipped down into the forties overnight.

The end of the comedy show was that the hotel maintenance man got very upset at my husband (who is French and understood everything the gentleman had to say) for swapping out the fuses.

It's too bad, everything else about this hotel was very pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank julesk24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We have found this place very convenient for our stay in Paris. It is right beside a metro station and shops and restaurants are very close by. You have the choice to cook for yourself or go out for meals and they have breakfast available if you wish. Staff are very helpful, including with helping us book tours by phone. It is not elaborate or fussy but we don't want that! There are plenty of cupboards for our belongings but there is no room for a lounge to watch tv. I would happily stay here again. A major advantage is that it is so quiet without traffic noise - at least in our room.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieAnnWi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We were a little desperate to find a hotel at short notice as many seemed booked out. The hotel is a little further out from the usual Paris attractions, but of course convenient for the Gare de Lyon.
The area is just a bit run down. The hotel is certainly aware of this as security is obvious with card access required for entry to the hotel.
The rooms were clean and reasonable sized, but again, just a little dated. Unfortunately we were woken up one night by a rowdy lot going to their rooms at 3.00 am.
All in all though, not bad.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astana, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
84 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Good location, within walking distance of not only Gare de Lyon for European TGV connections but also right next door to Metro Line 1 station (2 minute walk). There are plenty of little restaurants and bars in the neighbourhood along with secveral small inner-city supermarkets for the necessary essentials.

The reception staff are freindly and helpful and although the rooms are basic, they are warm, clean and perfectly acceptable for the price you are paying.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max_scot1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We spent 5 days here in February - I had asked for a self contained apartment. Our first impression even from the hallway was this was 3 star and basic - it was not a welcoming clean feeling. Our room - queen bed was 2 singles pushed together, the bathroom you couldnt swing a cat, and self contained - it wasnt even a real kitchen - everything about the place was very average. Luckily on complaining we were upgraded to a room which was what I expect of a self contained apartment. I wouldnt recommend it to anyone. Close to a train station and that is about it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Genjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Allows for more economical meals and away from crazy tourist hounding and prices but so close to metro that not far from anything. We would stay again but ask for an upgraded room like those I read about. Plenty of space for 4 adults and pretty comfortable beds ( even the pull out)

Helpful?
2 Thank Kyna
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We spent a week in Paris in late July and really appreciated the convenience of the Citadines' location. It is literally less than 1/2 a block from the Metro 1 line which takes you everywhere you need to go. We travelled as a family of 4 and booked the 1 bedroom apartment. The kids had a pullout couch. I was surprised at how large and confortable the pull out bed was. The closet space is very limited but there was enough room to lay out 4 large suitcases without us feeling overcrowded! The kitchen was a life saver! There is a good supermarket across the street (Franprix) and decent restaurants nearby. The Lebanese restaurant across the street had very good quality food. The boulangerie on the corner was very affordable and the pastries and baguettes were delicious. there is no need to buy breakfast from the hotel. It's pricey and not as good as anything you can get from the bakery or supermarket. Note: there is no daily maid service but the kitchen comes with a little dishwasher and there are supplies for basic tidying. It is clean and the staff is very friendly and helpful. We felt very much at home and would not hesitate to book with them again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mela328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bastille / Oberkampf
Citadines Bastille Marais Paris
Place d'Italie / Quartier Asiatique
Citadines Place d'Italie Paris
Bastille / Oberkampf
Citadines Republique Paris
Citadines Republique Paris
#988 of 1,809 in Paris
3.5 of 5 stars 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Citadines Didot Montparnasse
#802 of 1,809 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 196 reviews
Les Halles
Citadines Les Halles Paris
Citadines Les Halles Paris
#548 of 1,809 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 635 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Citadines Saint-Germain-des-Pres Paris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Bastille Gare de Lyon Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Bastille Gare de Lyon Paris

Address: 14-18, rue de Chaligny | 12th Arr., 75012 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #916 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Citadines Bastille Gare de Lyon Paris 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apart'hotel Citadines Bastille Gare de Lyon Paris plunges you into the very heart of the French capital's 12th district. Explore the many artisanal boutiques in the narrow streets off the main boulevards, or enjoy an extravagant night at the Bastille Opéra. Your serviced apartments hotel is ideally situated between Place de la Bastille and Place de la Nation, adjacent to the famous Saint Antoine university hospital. The spacious and practical serviced apartments are located in a building in a residential street, next to Reuilly-Diderot metro station and 10 minutes from the Gare de Lyon train station. Disneyland Paris is also directly accessible via public transport using the RER A rail line from Place de la Nation. Our reception is open 24/7, and our serviced apartments hotel also has a private car park (charges apply)., Whether you are staying in Paris for just one night or for several weeks, you are sure to find these serviced apartments ideal. The Bastille-Gare-de-Lyon district offers something to suit every taste. Start your day with a stroll around the Cour St-Émilion where shops and bars now fill Paris's former wine-merchants' quarters. Particularly loved by the regulars, Aligre Market is the place to go to discover a simultaneously colourful, exotic and traditional Paris. Enjoy a breath of fresh air strolling along the paths of Parc de Bercy public park, or along the Coulée Verte, a former railway that's been reborn as a green promenade. For an evening out, you have the choice of enjoying classical melodies at the Paris Opera, or a rather more rock'n'roll atmosphere at a concert at Bercy Arena. In the Apart'hotel Bastille Gare de Lyon Paris you'll find fully equipped serviced apartments decorated in a warm and welcoming style. From studios for one or two people to apartments for up to six occupants, all our serviced apartments also come complete with complementary WiFi. Weekly housekeeping is provided free of charge and guests can choose from a range of à la carte services that include meal delivery, babysitting and car rentals. And whether you are on holiday or a business trip, take advantage of the private garden for a relaxing break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Citadines Bastille Gare de Lyon Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Paris Bastille Gare De Lyon Hotel Paris
Citadines Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing