We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Citadines Bastille Gare de Lyon Paris

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Citadines Bastille Gare de Lyon Paris to your Saves list
Citadines Bastille Gare de Lyon Paris
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14-18, rue de Chaligny | 12th Arr., 75012 Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #662 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Deep in the heart of Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Recently remodeled room with mini-kitchen. Room had a balcony. Away from tourist area in a neighborhood. Subway stop nearby. Plenty of restaurants, with varied menus nearby. Free breakfast was good, pastries, yogurt,cereals etc. Would stay again.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    97
    40
    7
    3
See reviews for
84
58
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

Citadenes is located 100m from a metro station on the the main line (Line 1) and this allows easy access all over Paris. It is just down the road from the Viaduc des arts and the promenade plantee and has all the essentials nearby- supermarket, chemist, bank, restaurants etc. It's not the prettiest area of Paris, but it is the real Paris.
Your options are limited if you prefer to walk to your destination as Citadines Gare de Lyon is on the edge of the city centre. Les Marais is walking distance (approx 2 km) but you will mostly need to use the metro.
The rooms themselves were old (standard room), but clean, quiet and secure for the solo traveller. All the kitchen equipment worked. They provided a microwave, dishwasher, kettle, iron, room safe etc.
I found the staff generally pretty unhelpful. I broke a glass in the kitchen and was not even able to get a broom or a mop to clean it up. Cleaning services are an optional extra that you need to pay for unless you stay more than a week.
But other than that it was a reasonable place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

My family (wife and 13 yo daughter) and I spent 4 nights in Paris as part of holiday in Europe. This venue was perfect as it was about 100m to the metro station which was on a main line that goes to most tourist attractions. The staff were really helpful and spoke English well. They in fact helped with sorting out getting a prepaid cellphone working. The unit was smallish but very comfortable and except for a oven, well equiped. It was clean, quite and beds were comfortable. There are also a number of resturants and supermakets very close by. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

I have stayed repeatedly at Citadines Bastille - Gare de Lyon, last time in June 2011. It is a residence type hotel, with two faces: The standard rooms are elementary, without much taste and quite aged; basic housekeeping is left to the customer's care. The so-called "club rooms" are recently renovated, have all amenities (incl. iPod station), bathrobes, slippers etc., housekeeping is on a daily basis and the price includes (simple but substantial) breakfast. The price difference for Club Rooms is fully justified. The only drawback is the lack of air conditioning. On hot summer days, you litterally feel this absence, especially in the front rooms. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Rgular customers are warmly welcome. Several nice restaurants and bistrots are in the close vicinity of the hotel. In a region of Paris with no much choice of good hotels, Citadines is the best option.

Room Tip: Ask for a high-floor club room in the back of the building. The view from the front side has nothing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow Cheshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

We stayed here to round of a trip to France taking in Lyon and Dijon. It was great to have our own apartment and there was an artisan baker at the end of the street and an excellent mid size supermarket round the corner. The staff were very helpful and booked our shuttle to the airport when we arrive thus saving my wife stress about arrangements for our departure. As indicated by the title we did our own breakfast with great bread from the baker.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011 via mobile

This is a small hotel in Paris in a very well located area, people are friendly and the hotel has a beautiful small garden with the best location inside Paris. Near a market and metro stop from line 1, and some of Paris best attractions like the Bastille and the Louvre and many others are just a few metro stations away.

When traveling to Europe, don’t expect huge rooms like in the States, because everything here is done in moderation food, drinks and rooms come in smaller portions than back home.

Spaces are reduced and people are comfortable in them. So the rooms at the hotel are clean and accommodated our sleeping needs which is what we did in the room after waking for housr to all the places we wanted to visit while in this beautiful and romantic city.

The room had a nice comfortable bed and pillows, I wanted and extra pillow and it was provided rapidly. It was clean and well attended to.

Our room did have a balcony that we enjoyed in the mornings getting ready to leave.
It had a small fridge which allowed us to keep things like yogurt and cheese for a small snack, it had a microwave and a sink, but we mainly used the microwave to heat water for our morning tea and / or coffee.

Staff is friendly and most of them speak English so you can ask them for directions and guidance or tips on when to visit the attractions.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for couples and small families like 4 members. You can accommodate well in the room with either teen agers or smaller kids.
As you will spend most of your time in Paris out of the hotel definitely the price is worth it , so enjoy your next trip to Paris.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011 via mobile

This ApartHotel is really well locate on subway line 1 giving you quick access to all the important sight seeing places in Paris.

Paris Subway is anyways a must since it's very cheap (i recommend you buy a 10 trips "Carnet") and you can go anywhere you want.

The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful.

The rooms are not luxurious and they would require some maintenance but we went to Paris to visit it not to stay in the room. We had a Studio Apartment with a double bed and a small balcony (attention: not all studios have a balcony).

We had all the things we needed: kitchen with fridge, small dishwasher, sink, microwave, pots and pans as well as cutlery and dishes; the room had a safe, an iron and ironing board, TV and micro sound system. The bathroom had a bathtub, hairdryer and of course towels.

Note that there's no Air Conditioning in the room.

I would recommend not getting the breakfast in the hotel but going out a few steps on the street where there are about 5 little restaurants which serve great french breakfast at good prices (cheaper than the hotel's). There's a small supermarket 30 m to the left and a bakery about 80m as well.

I do recommend this place for its proximity to the subway and the price.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Citadines Bastille Gare de Lyon Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Bastille Gare de Lyon Paris

Address: 14-18, rue de Chaligny | 12th Arr., 75012 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #662 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Citadines Bastille Gare de Lyon Paris 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines Bastille Gare de Lyon Paris is located in the heart of the Bastille-Nation-Gare de Lyon triangle, in a typically Parisian quarter. This Apart'hotel has its own private garden and is also close to the Saint-Antoine hospital and the Ministry of Finance. This establishment offers you 98 apartments over 7 floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Otel, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Citadines Bastille Gare de Lyon Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Paris Bastille Gare De Lyon Hotel Paris
Citadines Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citadines Bastille Gare de Lyon Paris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.