We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel but not friendly staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Paris Bercy

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Paris Bercy to your Saves list
Novotel Paris Bercy
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   85 Rue de Bercy, 75012 Paris, France (Bercy / Nation)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #656 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Hotel but not friendly staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The hotel was very well situated with a good access to the town (close from the tube line). When we arrived to the hotel, we didn't have a nice welcoming: it seems that the receptionist was annoyed and not smiley at all (paradoxal for a group who has a slogan saying : "Your smile has a future"...) Our room was not ready and we had to wait more than one hour at the bar.
The room was clean but because we were three people, one of us had to sleep on a sofa transformed into a bed. The breakfast was good but it was very busy, the waiters were over-whelmed but nicer than at the reception. We stayed during one bank holiday in France so we wanted to do some shopping and we asked at the reception if the shops were opened at La Défense which the person didn't have any clue and she even didn't propose us to get information. In general the experience was not too bad but it will be good to explain to the employees that a smile can make a big difference...

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    404
    139
    24
    17
See reviews for
338
141
41
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This hotel is very close to the train station. There are also restaurants nearby. That's all to praise. Others are so so. The lobby is tiny. The room is not spacious. We thought breakfast was included in the package and had breakfast in the hotel everyday. However the variety of food wasn't that great and a bit over-priced. No swimming pool or gym to go to. Pretty basic in facility and service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed 4nights with family in April. 2adults 2children in a what I guess was a standard room, Room quite small with couch turned into bed but this didn't bother us since we only spent time there when sleeping!

Great breakfast. Our son is gluten intolerant and the hotel had cereals and a baguette for him the first morning (we didn't think it was a point pre ordering since we assumed they wouldn't have anything, how wrong we were!). The morning after the staff had been out shopping for more gluten free food without us asking for it, that's what I call great service!!

Location near Bercy Metro i great. Small shop with drinks etc just 100m away. A couple of restaurants really near, ate at Hippopotomus outside the hotel, good food and kids friendly.

The park behind the hotel was nice to stroll around in, lots of flowers when we visited in April.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I have stayed in multiple Novotel hotels and this has been one of the not as good ones. The room I slept in was quite noisy and of mediocre sleep quality. The rooms are functional and clean. The hotel has free WiFi and very good breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I only spent one night at the Novotel Paris Bercy and really enjoyed the quietness. I often had concerns with horrible sound isolation in Parisian hotels (as per other reviews) but this one was almost perfect. Although I was facing the street, I didn't hear more than a couple of cars driving by during my stay, and not a single sound from the corridor (it is carpeted) or the other rooms.

The room itself was pretty big, with all the amenities you can expect from a good hotel (fridge, safe, free wifi, coffee maker, etc ...), the only diasppointing part was the TV, really small and a bit blurry.
There is also a large (for a hotel room) sofa, a bath + a shower and the good part is, you can watch TV while relaxing in the bath as the double door of the bathroom almost faces the TV.
The shower is a bit narrow but is still functional.
Nothing to say about the bed except that it was comfortable.

The only minuses are the lack of garbage bin in the toilet and some yellowy spots besides the shower head of the tub. Apart from that the room was super clean.
The sink, although looking nice, isn't practical and the water (from the sink only) is pretty cold.

I would also add that I didn't have much interaction with the crew but check-in and out were done in a couple of minutes, and the employees were nice.

As a former Parisian, I find the location really good, near the metro line 14 (automatic and running pretty late compare to other ones), close to some nice restaurants or Bistro and Bercy Village.

I didn't try their breakfast but unless you want to stuff yourself for the day or want to eat in your room, 16€ is pricey as you can find cheap places to have a decent/good breakfast in tons of places just a few minutes walk from the hotel.

All-in-all I would definitely recommend this hotel if it fits your budget.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COCOUAL, Directeur général at Novotel Paris Bercy, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a comment on Tripadvisor.
We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Paris Bercy. I am glad you enjoyed all the facilities and amenties the hotel provide.
Nevertheless, I am sorry that you were disappointed with the Tv. I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and inform you as well as possible.

I look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel Paris Bercy.

Best Regards,

Annick Cocoual, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times and have always had a good stay. Most recently we stayed at the Bercy Novotel because we were going to a concert at the POPB, which is virtually on its doorstep. The room was well appointed and we were even given our own Nespresso machine, and also very functional. The breakfast is slightly pricey but the buffet is of good quality with a lot of choice.

Locationwise you cant beat this hotel if you are going to the POPB for a show. But even if you want to use it for touristy stays it is conveniently located on Metro Line 14, which takes you straight to the centre in 5 minutes in the most modern of all of Paris' tube lines.

We stayed there many times and will definitely come back as and when the need arises.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I generally hate it when people write bad reviews so feel bad having to do so. We had an awful room that had stains all over, was poorly cleaned (hairs around the sink) and smelt feintly of vomit. Not enough to notice immediately but certainly enough if you are staying there.. By then you are settled!! There were stains on the valance and walls in room 427. Truly awful experience. It was also incredibly noisy as its located opposite a row of bars open late so sleep was poor.

To top it off, they didn't service the room on the night we stayed there (18/19 Jan).

Won't be coming back here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COCOUAL, Directeur général at Novotel Paris Bercy, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for sharing the problems you experieced during your stay in my hotel.

I see that the time you spent in my hotel clearly did not meet your expectations and you have highlighted certain issues regarding the services that we provided.

Firstly, please allow me to say how sorry I am that we did not meet your expectations.
I consider such matters to be extremely important, your comments have therefore been shared with my team and together we are working on solving these issues so that our service will no longer disappoint in this area.

Yours sincerely,

Annick Cocoual
Directrice / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Paris Bercy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Paris Bercy

Address: 85 Rue de Bercy, 75012 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#299 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#387 Family Hotel in Paris
#508 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Paris Bercy 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel overlooks the Palais Omnisport de Bercy and is 5 minutes walk from the Gare de Lyon. The nearest metro is 3 minutes walk from the hotel.This is a 4 stars hotel and considered as first class property.This is a modern style hotel, built in 1987, entirely clad with grey mirrors.The lobby is large and open plan with several seating areas. It is modern and well decorated. There is a welcoming bar.The restaurant is bright and spacious and overlooks the Palais des Sports through large glass walls.The rooms are medium in size and in good condition, with modern decor and furniture. All rooms have a double bed and one individual bed.1 minute walk to the nearest bus stop, 1 minute walk to the nearest metro station (bercy), 15 kms to the airport (orly), 3 kms to city centre, 30 kms to the airport (charles de gaulle), 5 km to the nearest fair site (porte de versailles), Close to the station (gare de lyon).Check-in : 2pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Paris Bercy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Paris Bercy Hotel Paris
Accor Paris Bercy
Paris Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Paris Bercy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.