We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Suede St. Germain

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de Suede St. Germain to your Saves list
Hotel de Suede St. Germain
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31 Rue Vaneau, 75007 Paris, France (Eiffel Tower / Invalides / Palais-Bourbon)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #605 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Hotel was in great location. Walked to most museums and sites. Many places to eat near hotel. Very safe because Embassy was right around the corner. Very helpful and friendly staff. Room was above average size for Europe.

Room Tip: Great places to eat around hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allali, Manager at Hotel de Suede St. Germain, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your comments. We are so happy that you enjoyed our services.
We hope to welcome you again,


Best regards
Carole ALLALI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    126
    52
    17
    10
See reviews for
69
92
16
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed here for three nights. Great location! Room was very nice for single occupancy.
Quiet and I liked that you could open the windows and have fresh air.
I found one of the staff members very helpful but one I didn't!
I was waiting for someone on the second day and asked for a sandwich to eat in the lobby - they do say they offer room service! Well they told me they had no bread! They didn't even try to offer me anything else!

Room Tip: Executive rooms are bigger!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Terrific location. Very quiet area, 5 minutes walk away from 3 Metro stations, 15 min walk away from Invalids, 30-40 min walk away from Ornay / Louvre / Eiffel Tower.

Accommodating staff. Breakfast was simple continental breakfast but very clean and stocked. We had an issue with shower not working. Staff was notified and it was fixed when we got in the next evening. Front desk was willing to help with any questions we had. We had to rent two rooms because we had 2 adults and 3 children. They kept us all on one floor.

Clean rooms. Clean rooms and bathrooms are important. Expectation was met.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allali, Manager at Hotel de Suede St. Germain, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guests,

We are happy that your family enjoyed their stay.
Thank you for your comments about our staff and our service.


Best regards
Carole ALLALI
HOTEL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel de Suede 40 years ago and was so charmed that its name stuck in my memory. I hadn't been back to Paris from then until earlier this month (June 2013), and I decided to revisit the hotel. I wasn't at all disappointed. In fact, there has been some improvement, particularly the petit dejeuner -- now a full spread. The location could not be better; it is off the beaten track (just a little), close to the Metro, and within walking distance of Les Invalides, the Champs du Mars, and even the Eiffel Tower if you are wearing walking shoes. One small gripe -- will every hotel on earth, including this one, please stop charging for internet access?

Room Tip: Some rooms open to the courtyard, which is very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allali, Manager at Hotel de Suede St. Germain, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guests,

We are so happy that you enjoyed ou hotel 40 years after your first visit. We were not managing the hotel at this period.
Indeed, the hotel has been renovated those past 10 years and will continue to improve its services.
Concerning our internet access, we propose free internet only for low speed access but for high speed conection, the service is not free.
In the future, we might choose a new partner for internet which will be free.

Thank you again for your comments,


Best regards
Carole ALLALI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Do not come with a big luggage. Obviously 3 star hotel in Paris has no service of porter. So if you are handicaped or with heavy luggage climbing those stairs can be a problem. Paying 260E and have no elevator to your room was a shock to me. So as they said that I can not get any other room and will not be reimboursed.... I embarassingly needed to ask an overworked person (yes they do have only one single person to manage 37 rooms the whole nigt) for a 'favor' to carry my luggage. I felt handicaped and very embarased by the poverty of service and the absence of a manager or the owner. The only poor employee need to leave the reception alone and run around like a chicken ....however well he/ she works, he/ she can never manage such a heavy work load. The hotel owner is obviously abusing with filling up rooms to which you will need to climb with heavy luggage and by not having enought people for service. It is embarasing that they do not respect a potential client'shandicap ( or heavy luggage). In addition the bathroom window had no curtain so people will see you from the opposite side of the courtyard while you are taking your shower.... (But tou can always wear your swimsuit).
Only possitive point: The size and the cleanningness of the bathroom.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allali, Manager at Hotel de Suede St. Germain, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Guests,

I just read your comments and would like to be sure that you booked a suite or a deluxe in the Pavillon area.
Indeed, those rooms are located in a house and only 2 rooms are on the first floor.
We are sorry if this information was not clear and would like to apologize for the misunderstanding. You should have come to the front desk to meet the Hotel Manager.
We do take time time to read all the comments of our guests and please be sure that our goal is to satisfy our guests.

Best regards
Carole ALLALI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

very near to the Metro. There are many eating places nearby, Macdonalds a , a supermart just next to the hotel; The hotel is clean and neat. The staff are very friendly and helpful. There is tiny elevator which is useful if you have heavy baggages. Location is central - near to Lourve museum,Overall a pleasant stay. WIll book this place again if visit Paris

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allali, Manager at Hotel de Suede St. Germain, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment about our location.

We hope to welcome you again,

Best regards
Carole ALLALI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The location was decent but there are many others to choose from even closer to St. Germain. The hotel is small and potentially charming but the service is mediocre. The front desk team are not particularly organized nor accommodating. Getting Wifi passwords or power adapters proved both irritating to the staff and beyond them. Yes, we're tourists, no, we can speak French and don't need any attitude, but please realize that when we return we'll be picking a different business. The overall impression is that we were the only people happy to have us stay there. Everyone else was just inconvenienced.

Also, the room - we get that Paris hotels have small rooms. The bed barely fit the space - too cramped, get smaller beds and new linen.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de Suede St. Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Suede St. Germain

Address: 31 Rue Vaneau, 75007 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Eiffel Tower / Invalides / Palais-Bourbon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #605 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Suede St. Germain 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, AvailPro, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel de Suede St. Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suede St Germain Paris
Hotel Suede St Germain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Suede St. Germain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.