We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Westminster

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Westminster to your Saves list
Hotel Westminster
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13, rue de la Paix, 75002 Paris, France (Opéra)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #263 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Long Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2007

I stayed at this hotel 2 weeks ago. great location, we were in the heart of Paris. My husband and I have been upgraded for free for our honeymoon in a very nice room. I will definitely come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmanuel T, Directeur général at Hotel Westminster, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are honoured that, for your stay, you have taken the time to leave your review of our hotel here on TripAdvisor.
Our Staff ambassadors make great efforts to ensure that all our guests can enjoy a pleasant stay. Please rest assured I have shared your magnificent words with them.

On behalf of all ambassadors we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Emmanuel Traoré
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    159
    72
    41
    14
See reviews for
97
198
27
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2007

Greeted by very professional staff. The room was very small and quite cold when we arrived. But it was furnished very nicely in a contemporary/traditional way. LCD TV, very smart bathroom, internet etc etc.
Its an upscale hotel with good facilities, well decorated and given that I got a great rate through hotwire, I was extremely pleased.
I think most of the rooms have been refurbished now (smell of paint in the corridor might confirm this!). And for goodness sakes this is Paris - you're not gonna get a large room!

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmanuel T, Directeur général at Hotel Westminster, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to make your observations regarding your stay at The Westminster Paris.
We are indeed conveniently located for all our guests. Luxurious shopping areas, beautiful museums are all within walking distance.
Your constructive feedback regarding your experiences is much appreciated. As your feedback is considered as a valuable tool to ensure consistency in our usually high level service, we have shared your feedback with our ambassadors.

We appreciate your feedback, which will help us to improve our quality of service.

Yours sincerely,

Emmanuel Traoré
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2007

This hotel is in a great location near the Louvre and the Opera. The concierge staff was extremely helpful. Our rooms were pretty. We had several issues with the rooms. This is a very old hotel so you can hear the floor creak with every step that was made in the room next to you, in the hall, etc. The biggest shock was that one of our rooms did not have electricity for much of our stay. Imagine spending that much on a hotel room and having to use a flashlight to get around your room at night. Very nice lobby.

  • Liked — The location and the helpful information about Paris that we received.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmanuel T, Directeur général at Hotel Westminster, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to make your observations regarding your stay at The Westminster Paris.
We are indeed conveniently located for all our guests. Luxurious shopping areas, beautiful museums are all within walking distance.
Your constructive feedback regarding your experiences is much appreciated. As your feedback is considered as a valuable tool to ensure consistency in our usually high level service, we have shared your feedback with our ambassadors.

We appreciate your feedback, which will help us to improve our quality of service.

Yours sincerely,

Emmanuel Traoré
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2007

We came here for my birthday and to have a day at Roland Garros. It was a trip down memory lane as I lived in Paris in the early 80s and once stayed at this hotel then and remembered it being lovely. I saw the more negative reviews on here, but ignored them - to our cost! They weren't negative, but just telling the truth!

The good bits:

i) Location. Right by the Opera and Place Vendome.

The rest is dire. The whole hotel stinks of smoke - heavy cigar smoke. We had a suite. A more run down hotel room I have never seen. The electrics are shockingly old. The carpet threadbare, and the furniture old and dirty. The suite had no views except onto the so called inner courtyard - which is plastic green grass with a few old stone mini statues and old iron tables and chairs on it. The hotel and our suite had not been cleaned properly for ages. The paint work was filthy. The bathroom amenties did not work properly. It was completely depressing. And extremely noisy. We could hear next door do everything that they were doing.

The breakfast room was dark, with only a few tables. The buffet breakfast was largely inedible. Dirty. Poor quality. The coffee was undrinkable.

The bar next to the breakfast room had lime green leather/plastic sofas.

We paid 550 euros per night. I could hardly bear to be in the place for the 3 nights we were there.

We told the reception about our complete incredulity at this hotel. We were told that 'management' were not available at weekends!!

This hotel has to be seen inside to be believed. For 550 euros per night! Excluding breakfast! I'm amazed they're getting away with it. But you can tell that the hotel is dying on its feet, from the attitude of the staff to just about everything else.

Some advice: do not go to Cafe De La Paix. We used to go there years ago, but it has now gone down hill. For 2 coffees we paid, wait for it: 24 euros!! 2 hot chocolates came to 18 euros!!

I will never return to this dirty ancient hotel ever again.

  • Liked — The location.
  • Disliked — The ancient dirt and faulty room appliances.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmanuel T, Directeur général at Hotel Westminster, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to make your observations regarding your stay at The Westminster Paris.
We are indeed conveniently located for all our guests. Luxurious shopping areas, beautiful museums are all within walking distance.
Your constructive feedback regarding your experiences is much appreciated. As your feedback is considered as a valuable tool to ensure consistency in our usually high level service, we have shared your feedback with our ambassadors.

We appreciate your feedback, which will help us to improve our quality of service.

Yours sincerely,

Emmanuel Traoré
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2006

Stayed at the westminster opera for two nights between christmas and new year.

The hotel itself is located in a reaonable location. we walked to the louvre in about twenty minutes and then from there to notre dame, the eifel tower, arc de triomphe and back along the champs elyses.

The Westminster is a beautiful building in posh location , however i would suggest quite overpriced for what you actualy get. I expect to pay over the odds when staying somewhere nice, however a mini bar coke came in at 8 euro ($10.50US, £5.40) breakfast if i remember correctly was 23 euro for a continental. with a bottle of corona in the bar being 10 euro (£7, $13 us)

We stayed in a vendrome room on the 2nd floor overlooking the courtyard, it had a 20"+ LCD TV with two twin beds in it. the heating and air conditioning worked realy well and the beds were the perfect mix of soft and firm when sleeping (my wife tells me i fell asleep in 9 seconds on our fist night) the bathroom was nice though i wouldnt describe it a spotless, though it was clean enough.

The hotel staff were pleasent and helpfull, the bell hops and guys outside particularly so. The front desk could have done with snootying down a little to make us feel a little more welcome.

Overal i probably wont stay at the westminster again, though i wouldnt avoid it. its over priced for the total overal package and in short there are probably better options out there (either spend less and expect less or spend more and get more)

  • Liked — comfortable beds
  • Disliked — value for money
  • Tips/Secrets — walking is an easy way to see the city, though my feet hurt now.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmanuel T, Directeur général at Hotel Westminster, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to make your observations regarding your stay at The Westminster Paris.
We are indeed conveniently located for all our guests. Luxurious shopping areas, beautiful museums are all within walking distance.
Your constructive feedback regarding your experiences is much appreciated. As your feedback is considered as a valuable tool to ensure consistency in our usually high level service, we have shared your feedback with our ambassadors.

We appreciate your feedback, which will help us to improve our quality of service.

Yours sincerely,

Emmanuel Traoré
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2006

Just returned from a 5 day stay here, rooms are entirely too small for two people with much faded glory and furniture. First night, we were given a closet size room set up for a single traveler with a queen size bed pushed against the wall. It looked like Van Gogh's room in the insane asylum (you know the painting). The room was reeking of paint fumes and the heat was not working properly. To further compound our misery, we were told after begging FOUR times to change rooms that we would have to wait till the morning. A second room was perhaps a foot wider in size. Be warned, any change that remains out on your night-table will be taken by the maids.
I had hoped for more luxury, bed turndown service, daily papers, friendly concierges based on the previous reports written. Of note, the bathrooms were appropriate in size with amenities including bidet, spa ammenties, etc. The bartenders and bell hops were friendly. If location is important, please try another hotel near the Tuileries. Avoid this hotel at all costs.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — rooms
  • Tips/Secrets — avoid
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmanuel T, Directeur général at Hotel Westminster, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to make your observations regarding your stay at The Westminster Paris.
We are indeed conveniently located for all our guests. Luxurious shopping areas, beautiful museums are all within walking distance.
Your constructive feedback regarding your experiences is much appreciated. As your feedback is considered as a valuable tool to ensure consistency in our usually high level service, we have shared your feedback with our ambassadors.

We appreciate your feedback, which will help us to improve our quality of service.

Yours sincerely,

Emmanuel Traoré
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2006

Great location. Very nice hotel, beautiful room and friendly staff. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — location
  • Tips/Secrets — Book a bigger room
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmanuel T, Directeur général at Hotel Westminster, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are honoured that, for your stay, you have taken the time to leave your review of our hotel here on TripAdvisor.
Our Staff ambassadors make great efforts to ensure that all our guests can enjoy a pleasant stay. Please rest assured I have shared your magnificent words with them.

On behalf of all ambassadors we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Emmanuel Traoré
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Westminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Westminster

Address: 13, rue de la Paix, 75002 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opéra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in Paris
#138 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#139 Business Hotel in Paris
#251 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#253 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Westminster 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An utterly sophisticated choice that is without equal among the luxury hotels of Paris; the Hôtel Westminster is considered by many to be the Crown Jewel of authentic, historical Paris hotels. Named after the Duke of Westminster, who resided in this sumptuous property in the 19th Century, the Hotel Westminster is a luxury hotel offering magnificent rooms and suites. The Hotel Westminster also boasts elegant meeting venues and one star Michelin dining, which have proven popular with major figures from the world of the arts, business and fashion, who have been guests of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Westminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westminster Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Westminster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.