We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & super clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gavarni

Save Saved
You added Hotel Gavarni to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Gavarni
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5 rue Gavarni | 16 Arr., 75116 Paris, France (Passy)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #737 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
Stafford, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great location & super clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

My husband & I stayed for 4 nights at Hotel Gavarni in March 2012. We arrived a day earlier than our reservation but the staff were very helpful & was able to accommodate us with no problem. The room was small by American standard but the cleanliness of the room far outweighs the size issue. The location is superb and the staff were excellent. I would definitely come back & highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    34
    16
    8
    1
See reviews for
7
27
10
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

We spent May 2 & 3, 2012 touring around Paris, spending the night at the Hotel Gavarni! It has old world charm with modern conveniences. It is very close to the Passy Metro stop and is within easy walking distance to the Eiffel Tower. The concierge recommended a wonderful restaurant, le Bistro des vignes a short walk from the hotel. There are many retail shops and cares in the immediate area. Everyone we met was super friendly and helpful!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

What a pleasure to be back at the Gavarni; I started using this fine hotel back in the early 80s when I made frequent business trips to Paris; the hotel has changed owners in the meantime, but the Gavarni has only changed to become even better. Its location in the 16th arrondissement in a quiet streed off the busy Passy is excellent and the view, available from the upper floor rooms, towards the Eiffel Tower perfect. I can recommend this hotel both from a price/quality point of view and from the excellent breakfast service. Another pro is the freely available WIFI system - a must in all quality hotels; regarding restaurant, as with almost all three star hotels in Paris you have to go outside. But this really an advantage: 50 meters from the Garvari you will find the restaurant La Petite Tour - an excellent traditional French restaurant, where you sometimes will find movie stars dining incognito. When I was first introduced to the Garvarni I was told that Hemmingway used to stay in the Garvarni - I suppose he also came to La Petite Tour for lunch or dinner.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Very convenient hotel - walking distance to the Eifel Tower OECD. Clean, small rooms, great breakfast included.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pocono, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

A very last minute trip to Paris with no knowledge of the 16th arrondisemont provided us a very pleasant surprize with this little jewel of a hotel.
Located on Rue Gavarni accessable to Rue de Passey and Eiffel Tower area this
was beyond expectations! The staff was EXCELLENT! As helpful as possible with everything we needed, they were wonderful! I would go back again if I could as soon as possible.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

Stayed here with my husband and dad for a quick two day stay in Paris. We had originally booked the apartment/ family room for a great price online, however upon arriving at the hotel for check in we were told there was a problem with the room and they asked if we would mind staying in the Eiffel Suite. The Suite was beautiful with a lovely view of the tower. The room was large enough with a pull out sofa, which wasn't ideal as we had originally booked the apartment for two separate sleeping areas. That said, the lovely room and view along with the amazing location made up for it. Also, the price we ended up paying for the suite was much less than they normally claim they command. As anticipated for Paris the bathroom and the lift were very small but not something that I minded. Another pro was it was an all green hotel. Two cons I could think of was the horribly slow wi-fi. So slow not even useable. Also as we drove parking was expensive at a garage around the corner. All in all a lovely stay and a view that took my breath away especially when the tower lit up at night. I can't say that we would have chosen or stayed at this hotel for the full price they advertise, but for the short stay and the way everything work out it was lovely.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Gavarni is a nice hotel. The best features are its good value for money, location and its reasonably priced breakfast. However, its rooms are quite small (unless you are staying in one of the suites) and the bathrooms are the most compact I have seen in a Paris hotel. I found the sound proofing in the rooms to be a a little thin (I often can hear people snoring in adjacent rooms)! There is cable TV in the rooms offering many non english language channels.

The lift unfortunately opens between floors meaning that luggage has to be hauled up or down the stair case to the relevant floor.

The reception staff are relaxed and I found most of them to be very helpful.

There are plenty of eating options nearby but as the 16th district is mainly a residental/diplomatic area, there is not the same range or abundance that can be found elsewhere. That said there are several good restaurants nearby and a small shopping centre - Passy Centre - about 10 minutes away.

The metro - Passy station - is also a short walk down the street.

Room Tip: The junior suites offer more room than the standard rooms. The standard rooms are quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Gavarni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gavarni

Address: 5 rue Gavarni | 16 Arr., 75116 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Passy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #737 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Gavarni 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Gavarni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gavarni Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gavarni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.