We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four days in November” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Waldorf Trocadero

Save Saved
You added Hotel Waldorf Trocadero to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Waldorf Trocadero
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   97 Rue Lauriston, 75116 Paris, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #362 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
Kettering, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Four days in November”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed here with the wife at short notice due to previous plans being cancelled. We received a free upgrade to a superior room although I don't know what benefits this afforded us. The room itself was adequate, with a good size bed, tv and the bathroom was clean.

Standard hotel charges were in place for the snacks in the room (5 euro for Pringles), and the room service was on the pricey side. Room service consisted of cold dishes only but was of a decent standard.

I think overall I would have rated the hotel as fairly standard with nothing to make it stand out as exceptional. One thing that did make a difference were the staff who were helpful and had good English. They had top tips for visiting the louvre (how to avoid the queue) as well as others.

Position wise the hotel was well situated with regards to transport links (metro stations within walking distance), restaurants and some attractions (arc de triomph and Eiffel tower both walk able.

Overall would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    111
    127
    42
    18
    12
See reviews for
23
163
12
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stay here over the weekend. Nice hotel, very clean. There were 4 couples stayed and we had quite a nice size room with a balcony the other couples had very small rooms although we all booked superior. Our room was 501 and as its and end room the bathroom was quite big. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. There was a bar in the hotel but it was never used as they only had a few drinks which were warm and nobody manning it. You could not come back to this hotel and have a last drink. Good location only a couple of minutes walk from the Trocadero Square and Eiffel Tower

Room Tip: Room 501 and probably all the 01 on each floor woiuld be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Great hotel! Room was larger than expected even though we had the smallest room available with twin beds. The bathroom was large with shower/tub combination. We had a large dresser, closet, desk with chair and two other small chairs with a small table. There was also an in-room safe. The room opened onto the back of the hotel with a large open space looking at the backs of other buildings. We did not expect a view.This was very quiet and we were able to open the windows. The location was fabulous if you want to be in the 16th near Trocadero. Plenty of restaurants, shops for getting water, snacks, fruit and wine within walking distance. Metro and busses are very accessible. A short 10 minute walk to either Trocadero and the Arc de Triumphe. I lived and worked in Paris for 2 years in the late 90s. The service workers in Paris have changed dramatically since that time. They are gracious, friendly and willing to speak English. Most menus are in French and English. Americans just have to remember they are French and just don't smile as much as Americans do. As to price, October is a busy month in Paris. I looked at hotels and prices for about 4 hours on the internet before I chose this hotel. I wanted to be in the 16th. I feel I got a great price for the location and the accommodations. The only negative is the beds were too hard. I sleep on a 4 inch foam pad at home. We did not ask the hotel if there was anything they could do for us re the beds. We did not eat breakfast in the hotel. The staff was wonderful, friendly and helpful. I would stay here again and recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Top floor, inside rooms are very quiet. There are no "good views" in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I would rate this as very good were it not for the price! I stayed here with work at an eye watering cost of 249 Euros a night for single occupancy without breakfast!

That said the staff were very friendly and helpful, the rooms were comfortable and clean and the breakfast was ok. Not a 4* hotel more like 2-3*. The location seemed good although I was there for business nearby so didn't see any sights but it was within walking distance of plenty of bars and restaurants. I could just about see the very top of the Eifel tower from my room which was nice.

Only small gripes:
No shower curtain and screen was not long enough so bathroom flooded after a shower
Breakfast could have had more variety and been cheaper - 20 euros for full breakfast!

Would recommend so long as you don't pay over the odds!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PARIS
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Having recently stayed at the nearby Hotel Baltimore, we found this hotel to be considerably less expensive and more down to earth with its friendly staff who seemed like locals. Instead of the tiny rooms at the Baltimore, the rooms here are of comortable size and are nicely decorated. The breakfast was good as well.
If you are looking for a luxury hotel with full staff and amenities, this is not the place but if you want a comfortable room that is walking distance from the Eiffel Tower and Arch de Triomphe - this is your place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I was in Paris for just one night and I needed something close to the centre, close to a Metro station and just something clean, quiet and well presented. The hotel ticked every box and was exactly what I wanted. Yes, the room was small as others have said, but come on......It's a standard now that hotels in the midddle of capital cities aren't the biggest unless you're in a suite! And the lift being small? Who cares?? It's a really nice hotel and I will definitely staty there again.

Room Tip: My room was on the 6th floor. It's a quiet street anyway but no traffic noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Location of the Hotel is great. It is very easy to approach all tourist spot and Restaurants.
The staff is very good and helpful even allowed us to check in early.The main drawback is rooms are very very small, I never expected that after one double bed there was hardly any space left.

Room Tip: Location is better !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Waldorf Trocadero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Waldorf Trocadero

Address: 97 Rue Lauriston, 75116 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#176 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#181 Family Hotel in Paris
#315 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Waldorf Trocadero 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional style between Eiffel Tower and Champs Elysees - 2 min from Boissiere, near Arc de Triomphe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Expedia and Otel so you can book your Hotel Waldorf Trocadero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Trocadero Paris
Waldorf Trocadero Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Waldorf Trocadero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.