We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Francais

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Francais to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Francais
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   223 Boulevard Voltaire | 11th Arr., 75011 Paris, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #47 of 1,792 Hotels in Paris
Pacifica, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Perfect Honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

This hotel was everything we dreamed of for a perfect honeymoon in Paris. The staff was always helpful and friendly. We would spend time in the lobby with a drink and chatting with the owner. The room was just right. Cozy but modern and super clean. The breakfast room was small but the food was always tasty and the coffee strong. We also loved that you could order drinks or hot cafe cremes for your room. The hotel is around many great restaurants, food stores and close to the Metro. What more could you ask for?

Next time we visit, we will certainly stay at this little gem.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    981
    429
    61
    15
    7
See reviews for
120
1,004
60
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

The hotel and rooms are nicely updated and modern but SMALL. But that's to be expected in Europe I guess. The elevator could fit 2 people tops, which was a squeeze for us and our bags. The bathroom was actually a decent size and very clean but the placement of the toilet was kind of comical. It was so close to the door that you felt like you were sitting in the other room. And it was mounted a bit high...I'm 5'7" and my feet were dangling while seated! It was actually kind of funny. The hotel was situated very close to two major metro stops, which was very convenient, and many restaurants and cafes were within walking distance. Free Wi-Fi was great as well.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklin, Canada
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

This hotel is really very nice- it's just all scaled back a little. The rooms are beautifully appointed, comfortable, and very clean and modern, but they are VERY small! If you are anything like my husband and I, this will not matter to you at all, as the hotel room really only serves us as a place to crash at night. We really don't like to spend too much time in our hotel room because we're always out seeing the sights. The room has all that we really needed- a mini-fridge, a desk, a very comfortable bed, a little bit of storage for our clothes and stuff, and a clean, beautifully done-up private bathroom, with a toilet, sink, and tub/shower combo. Floor space- not so much!
We had signed up for a deal where we got breakfast included in our rate. Although I would definitely stay at this hotel again in a heartbeat, the breakfast there is not something I'd do again. The quality of the food left something to be desired- not that it was bad, it was certainly edible and okay... it's just that in Paris you really want to be taking advantage of the amazing cuisine at every possible opportunity, and this stuff just tasted... store bought? Fake? I dunno, just not good. Next time I will forgo the meal there and pick up something at one of the many little places nearby instead. (Plus they serve the meal in the basement- a little depressing.)
Another thing worth mentioning is the location of this hotel. It is a little bit out of the city center, but there is a subway stop seconds away from the doors, so it is not really an issue. In about 15 minutes or so, you can be right down where all the action is (ie: Notre Dame, Louvre, etc.)
The staff are also very friendly and helpful! They spoke English, but were also very supportive of our efforts to scape by with our high-school level French skills! They even gave us some mini French lessons before we went out for the day to help us get around better! Everyday that we came downstairs to leave, they'd ask if we needed anything before we left (directions, maps, etc.) and if we did, they would thoroughly explain everything we needed, even giving us a map and drawing on it for us. Whenever we came back at night, they would give us a warm greeting, and make us feel very at home.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to be as close to the action in Paris as possible without spending a fortune.
Summary: Good Value, small yet comfortable room with all ammenities, mediocre breakfast, friendly, helpful staff, semi-convenient, quiet location. I'd recommend this place to anyone, and I'd stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

Just come back from there. A great hotel, very clean and modern inside. We would stay again. And the staff were very helpful and friendly!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights for Valentines. The hotel was exactly as described on trip advisor. We stayed on the fourth floor in a fab room with a balcony. It had everything we needed - a double bed, wardrobe, power shower, hairdryer, toilet with soft closing seat! Complimentary slippers which were really nice after having a shower. A safe to put our important things in, a flat screen tv on the wall which had mostly French channels but also had CNN & BBC world news. The doors to the balcony were double glazed so we didn't notice the noise from the street when they were closed. Every morning the housekeeping changed towels etc. Breakfast was between 7am & 10am, as well as continental breakfast, we were offered tea/coffee & asked what room we were in, she'd also ask it in English if you struggled with speaking French. The hotel was open 24/7 so we could come back whatever time we liked. We went out all day & came back around 10pm. To go into Paris we used the the metro stop 'rue de boulets' which is a couple if mins walk from the hotel. To get to the cemetery 'Pere Lachise', we walked. From the hotel, it took us around 10/15 mins walk. You can also walk to the Bastille from the hotel, again only takes around 10/15 mins. It's full of restaurants, bars, cafes, takeout paninis/crepes, we decided to take a walk down there when we arrived as we didn't want to go far on our first night. Also on the way back is a mcdonalds!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

Just got back from the hotel. I really don't have anything bad to say. A few tiny improvements but nothing to stop me going back. as others have said easy location by metro so good transport links. Breakfast could do with some bread for toast as i don't feel the selection is big enough. Room was small but nicely decorated and well kept. Reception were really helpful, and always polite, no complaints at all. As others said Walls a little but I loved the comfy bed :0) would use this hotel again should I go back to wonderful Paris!!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayo Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

Having just returned from a 4 night stay at the Grand Hotel Francais, I had to write a review to sing its praises. From start to finish the wonderful and friendly staff made us feel right at home, from on arrival providing us with a map of resturaunts in the area (highly recommend Les Gallopins, just a short stroll away from the hotel) to helping me organise a birthday cake for my boyfriends birthday and having it placed in our room so he would get a nice surprise. Nothing is too much for the staff of this hotel and they will help you in any way possible.

The rooms are small, but this is Parisian style so we weren't shocked-they may be small but they are perfectly formed, with extremely comfortable beds and excellent bathroom with power shower, and cleaned to perfection every day. Breakfast was delicious, with a range of croissants, breads, cheeses, meats, and cereals with fresh tea, coffee and juices. There is also a little bar area with t.v where we sat one night and had a drink and a chat with the very lovely night porter that was on duty.

Location is excellent with Rue de Boulets metro stop a short walk from the hotel, and also Nation station which has a large selection of metro lines running from it, making the centre of Paris very accessible within 15-20mins. The RER A also runs from Nation to Marne La Valle for anyone wishing to go to Disneyland Paris. There are lots of charming resturaunts, bars, cafes and boulangeries in the area, as well as a small supermarket across the road from the hotel where you can purchase water, soft drinks etc.

If I could rate this hotel any higher I would- its an absolute gem-thank you once again for making our stay so enjoyable-I am already planning my next return to Paris and I will be back to the Grand Hotel Francais for sure! Wishing the hotel and its fabulous staff continued success! :-)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Francais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Francais

Address: 223 Boulevard Voltaire | 11th Arr., 75011 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#34 Business Hotel in Paris
#78 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Francais 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its individually decorated and personalized guestrooms and suites are soundproofed and offer elegant accommodation. Each room has air-conditioning, flat-screen TV and free Wi-Fi internet access. The well-equipped rooms feature contemporary decor and warm colours. The bathrooms include a massaging shower or bath. The Grand Hotel Français is situated in Place de la Nation, near Place de la Bastille, the fashionable Marais district and the lovely district near the Canal Saint Martin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Francais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Paris
Au Grand Hotel Francais

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Francais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.