We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Francais

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Francais to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Francais
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   223 Boulevard Voltaire | 11th Arr., 75011 Paris, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #44 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Great place to stay, close to Metro or a nice walk to Bastille.
Staff are very friendly and helped us with everything from making confirmations for us, sending our postcards and giving us advice on where to eat.
They didn't mind that we only speak English.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    952
    413
    58
    15
    7
See reviews for
117
968
58
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

This is a nice hotel in a good location. It's few minutes walk from two different metro station on different lines so you've got loads of options. Close enough to walk into the historic part of the town as well.

Rooms are a bit small, but who goes to Paris to sit in their hotel room?

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ukunda, Kenya
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

If you want large and luxury, with hotel restaurants, then you can pay for it elsewhere, but this centrally located hotel is value for money with a clean and comfortable room and absolutely quality service. The staff are friendly, helpful, and go out of their way to make sure you have what you need plus more. Whilst I have no other experiences to compare it to, should I return to this will definitely be at the top of my list to come back to. Outstanding service - Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

The hotel is in a good location, just 1 minute walk from a metro stop and the rooms are clean and comfortable. The breakfast offered is good - pastries not as fresh as something you would get from a patisserie down the road, but there is a good selection.

But the staff and the level of service are what make this a 5 star review. They were extremely helpful from the moment we arrived, spoke perfect English, and gave us good recommendations for restaurants to go to in the area. On the final day of our stay I was running the Paris Marathon, and so had already checked out of our room after I had finished the race in the afternoon. However when I came back to the hotel to pick up my bags, they went out of their way to find an empty room for me, and gave me the key to use the room and have a shower and get changed. This really was appreciated!

Would recommend the hotel to others, and will be coming back to Grand Hotel Francais when I next visit Paris.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Very nice room! small, but very clean and comfortable,Great bat room.free WiFi in the room, good breakfast. Very close to the metro station. Walking distance from the main attractions. Great value for money, very recommend !

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

I love staying at this hotel great staff really friendly the food was really nice and then the rooms are something of beauty,Paris is one my my favourite cities in the world so it sells its self anyway i would recommend on going here it is great to get away for the weekend or even all year round.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a recent treat away for my birthday. The hotel is easy to find and very close to the metro stop.

We arrived mid morning and were greeted with a friendly welcome. They checked and our room was just ready so we were allowed to check in early which was nice. The staff also provided a map and information on the local area and how to get around the city.

My boyfriend had paid for an upgrade on the 6th floor as a surprise. This meant we had a balcony and a bigger room. I'm glad he did, as the upgrade room was not exactly big by other hotel standards, so I wonder how small the normal room would have been! The balcony was nice to get fresh air and look out down the typical Parisian street! The hotel also left me some chocolates and a happy birthday note on the bed which was a sweet little extra! As were the free soft drinks and slippers which were well needed after several days walking around!

The bed was comfy and we slept well! The bathroom was small, but manageable.

Breakfast was served 7am - 10.30am. There was a good choice of continental.

The hotel is not overly central but the metro makes getting around easy enough. Overall would recommend.

Room Tip: Pay for a bigger room and ask for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Francais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Francais

Address: 223 Boulevard Voltaire | 11th Arr., 75011 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#34 Business Hotel in Paris
#72 Family Hotel in Paris
#156 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Francais 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its individually decorated and personalized guestrooms and suites are soundproofed and offer elegant accommodation. Each room has air-conditioning, flat-screen TV and free Wi-Fi internet access. The well-equipped rooms feature contemporary decor and warm colours. The bathrooms include a massaging shower or bath. The Grand Hotel Français is situated in Place de la Nation, near Place de la Bastille, the fashionable Marais district and the lovely district near the Canal Saint Martin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Francais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Paris
Au Grand Hotel Francais

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Francais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;