We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely , excellent value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Francais

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Francais to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Francais
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   223 Boulevard Voltaire | 11th Arr., 75011 Paris, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #67 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Galway, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Homely , excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

The management and staff are friendly and extremely helpful . Location is good as the the hotel is close to the metro and easy to get to from the airport . Local restaurant three mins walk is excellent value called Pozada . Shop across the road . We have only good things to say about this hotel and will return . We spent five nights there . Room is small but adequate.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,022
    446
    67
    15
    7
See reviews for
129
1,038
63
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dinas Powys, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Staying at the Grand Hotel Francais was a key part of a wonderful Parisian experience. The room (333) was immaculately clean and with an excellently comfortable bed and a shower to die for. The manager and staff were extremely pleasant and helpful and provided many useful local dining suggestions on our first night. The complimentary chocolates were a nice welcoming treat. The breakfast was plentiful and great value for money. Located within minutes of the Nation or Rue Des Boulets metro station made travelling about Paris very simple and convenient. Grand Hotel Francais will certainly be included if we return to Paris in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I stayed here on my own a few years ago and had no complaints, so when my girlfriend and I booked a trip to Paris I booked to stay here again, and am so glad I did. The room was fairly small I guess, but it never felt cramped and was instead very comfortable. We were overlooking the main street but the noise never entered our room. The bed was ridiculously comfortable, to the point that it was hard to get up in the morning! Everything in the room and bathroom was spotless, and we were given a free bottle of wine when we arrived. Free wifi was reliable, and it was nice to have BBC1 and BBC2 on the tv. The staff were very helpful and friendly, the location was great as there are 2 Metro stations very close, and there are some great patisseries nearby to grab some croissants in the morning. Also round the corner is po-za-da - a fantastic restaurant. Price is comparable with most Parisien hotels. I will definitely stay here (yet) again if I come back to Paris, and have already recommended it to several friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

If you want lots of space, this might not be the hotel for you. But if you are looking for a stylish hotel, with all the conveniences that you would expect from a 4-star hotel, impeccably clean and with friendly and extremely helpful staff, this place ticks all the boxes. It is also well located and not unduly pricey, for Paris.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Our pillow had blood on it: gross! I am genuinely surprised at all the positive reviews. The manager was rude and condescending. Good location near le marais and la nation though, and not terribly expensive. I would not come here again. You can find a better hotel for the same money.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and can honestly say that it was one of the best hotel experiences to date. The rooms were spotless, The hotel staff impeccable and the location key. Staff were funny and helped with any questions. We were within 5 minutes of 2 major stations. Highly recommend and would use as 1st choice when visiting paris with mon Cherie.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Both the Hotel and Management were excellent. It had been recommended by friends who had stayed at this establishment several times and we can see why. The manager and his staff were exceptionally helpful and always went out of their way to answer questions and make suggestions when requested.The room was well appointed and the Hotel was well located to the Metro System.
Every day of our eight night stay was made very enjoyable largely due to the friendliness and help
of the management. We will definitely recommend it to our friends and stay here again.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a Superior room - request a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Francais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Francais

Address: 223 Boulevard Voltaire | 11th Arr., 75011 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#80 Business Hotel in Paris
#90 Family Hotel in Paris
#167 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Francais 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its individually decorated and personalized guestrooms and suites are soundproofed and offer elegant accommodation. Each room has air-conditioning, flat-screen TV and free Wi-Fi internet access. The well-equipped rooms feature contemporary decor and warm colours. The bathrooms include a massaging shower or bath. The Grand Hotel Français is situated in Place de la Nation, near Place de la Bastille, the fashionable Marais district and the lovely district near the Canal Saint Martin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Francais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Paris
Au Grand Hotel Francais

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Francais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.