We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The reviews are right - this place is that good!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Francais

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Francais to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Francais
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   223 Boulevard Voltaire | 11th Arr., 75011 Paris, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The reviews are right - this place is that good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My wife and I just got back from 6 nights at this wonderful hotel. I booked it based on the outstanding reviews on TripAdvisor and the reviews were spot on. It is outside the tourist core but still very convenient to the entire city (a Metro station is practically outside the front door). In fact, we liked coming home each night to an authentic part of Paris, surrounded by locals, quaint bakeries and away from the hustle and bustle of the tourist areas. Stayed in a Superior room - small by North American standards but large by Paris standards. Very modern and sleek with great bed and amazing shower - and two balconies! A room of this size and quality in the tourist core would be three times the price. Front desk staff very always extremely pleasant and went above and beyond in helping us out with dinner reservations, tour advice, etc. Would stay here again in a second (wish I was still there now.......)

Room Tip: Spend the extra $ for a Superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    961
    418
    58
    15
    7
See reviews for
117
980
58
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is the second time my wife and I stayed at this hotel and we're happy to report that it's still a great place to stay in Paris. Yes, the rooms are very small. But, they are clean, the beds are comfortable, the soundproofing is excellent and the staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel is located very close to the Metro / RER making it easy to get around this wonderful city. The neighbourhood has plenty of good restaurants, grocery stores and cafés. So, it's a complete package. We highly recommend the Grand Hotel Francais. We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The 'excellent' part of our stay was a WONDERFUL young male at reception and he stayed this way for the entire stay. He was easily the biggest personality of our 5 week tour and always happy to help. If he is not the owner - give him pay rise!! Warm and genuine, NOTHING was a problem I only wish I could name him personally but lost my notes in traveling. The other staff were of course, very nice as well. The rooms are typically small being inner city Paris but clean, well serviced and no noise. Breakfast was good but I cant remember the price as it was included. A small bar downstairs in the lobby but not a place you can settle into for the night. Good restaurants within a 10 min walk, definitely try 'Pozada' up the road.
Not close to the major tourist attractions the Metro is a 2mins walk and after 20mins and about 12 stops, you will get off at the Eiffel Tower - easy!

Room Tip: Reach up and touch the ceiling in your room when you check in - you will be surprised:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Let's get the whinges out of the way first. The rooms in this hotel (as they are in all 3 star hotels in Paris) are small. We stayed in a superior room and it was, let's say, cosy. The measurements are on their web-site; so there shouldn't be any misunderstanding- but it's not always easy to envisage the space when there's a bed it the middle of it. The bathroom (shower room) was also cosy; certainly no place for more than one person at a time! My only other gripe is water (gripe water - get it?)- on arrival there is a small bottle of water each in the fridge - but if you drink it, it isn't replaced; a little stingy don't you think? Most hotels provide a bottle of water per day, these days.

Now the positives: the hotel is immaculately clean through out. The rooms are fully equipped and clearly a lot of thought has gone into space utilisation. We were on the second floor and there was little street noise. Inter-room noise (toilets flushing / showers etc) was virtually non-existent; very surprising for a hotel of this size (makes a huge difference). Coupled with a very comfortable bed this all made for a good nights sleep. The staff were pleasant and informative at all times (we tried out two restaurants, within the vicinity, at their recommendation - which were quite superb; reviews to follow). Location is not bad, it's not central Paris, but a 5 minute walk to 'Nation' gets you into the RER / Metro system, so you can be virtually anywhere in Paris within about 30 minutes.

& thank you, oh thank you - the Wi-Fi was speedy, easy to use, and free!

The breakfast really epitomised the whole hotel, the breakfast room was cosy, but it had quite an extensive offer, was perfectly clean and tidy and for €12 each is, in my opinion, good, sound, value.

So, if you are looking for a place to sleep and shower, for a short stay, for site seeing or a business trip, it would be difficult to find better value. I have absolutely no qualms in recommending this hotel, and will happily stay there again.

I just wish the rooms were 25% larger - but then, I guess, we'd be talking about a different standard and a different cost completely.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a short break. Rooms were small but very clean and perfect for a short stay. The staff were friendly and helpful. Hotel is situated between two metro stations and accessible for both Eurostar and travelling into the main tourist attractions. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed at the GHF first week of Sept 2013 during an unseasonably hot spell in Paris. Our room had fantastic air conditioning which was an oasis after a long hot day in the streets. Nicely appointed hotel with good value. Great bedding, clean bathroom, quiet neighborhood -we were on the 1st floor above street level. Decent breakfast for the money, fresh fruit, great coffee / cappuccino machine. Wonderful bistros nearby, especially enjoyed Tintilou and Le Petit Pastisse.
Easy Metro access. Zyad at the desk during the day was helpful, charming and offered excellent recommendations for restaurants and sight-seeing. Entire staff very helpful.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed here for one night of our honeymoon - and it was lovely! We were upgraded to an Executive Suite on the top floor which was fantastic. We had a small porch that had such a lovely view of other rooftops. The location and neighborhood seemed great, although we were only here for a quick stay en route to another location so we didn't have too much time to explore. Staff were friendly and helpful. And the breakfast selections were quite reasonable. Also free wi-fi which was nice. Would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: Would certainly ask for a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Francais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Francais

Address: 223 Boulevard Voltaire | 11th Arr., 75011 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#33 Business Hotel in Paris
#75 Family Hotel in Paris
#94 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Francais 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its individually decorated and personalized guestrooms and suites are soundproofed and offer elegant accommodation. Each room has air-conditioning, flat-screen TV and free Wi-Fi internet access. The well-equipped rooms feature contemporary decor and warm colours. The bathrooms include a massaging shower or bath. The Grand Hotel Français is situated in Place de la Nation, near Place de la Bastille, the fashionable Marais district and the lovely district near the Canal Saint Martin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Francais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Paris
Au Grand Hotel Francais

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Francais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.