We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time to Paris - great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Francais

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Francais to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Francais
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   223 Boulevard Voltaire | 11th Arr., 75011 Paris, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #29 of 1,793 hotels in Paris
Kingscliff, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“First time to Paris - great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Spotlessly clean, room was well appointed and modern. Staff very helpful and friendly. Continental breakfast was great. Air conditioning worked very well (34degC while we were there). The hotel is not in the centre of the city but the metro is just down the road, there are plenty of restaurants and cafe's close by and it is not so far that you can't walk in if you wish (we did). We found the hotel very quiet and slept well. When we return to Paris we will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,310 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    863
    373
    53
    15
    6
See reviews for
95
881
51
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Donaghadee, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
257 helpful votes 257 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Booked this primarily on TA recommendations and weren’t disappointed. We got the train from CDG to Chatelet les Halles and changed there for Nation. A delayed flight meant we hit rush hour so very hot and crowded. Second train did an emergency stop and stayed put for 10 very long and sweaty mins so glad to get out and walk from Nation.

Nation is a very big square/octagon so had some difficulty identifying Boulevard Voltaire. Headed down towards hotel – about 5-6 mins walk.

Lovely welcome. Reception area very pleasant. We had booked a privilege room with a balcony and were very pleased with it – 2nd floor corner room with two sets of balcony doors and large windows. Well equipped with fridge, bottles of water on first day, safe, desk, ipod dock, reasonable wifi and TV with about 5 English channels (hunt for them, they are up in the high channel numbers) Small but very well functioning bathroom – great shower and big thick towels. Just missed having tissues and faceclothes. Housekeeping was good. Nice touch that there was a complimentary ½ bottle of champagne on ice and 2 glasses with a welcome note.

The hotel is in a great area. We have been to Paris many times and seen the main sights so we just wanted to chill in a nice area. There are plenty of bars and restaurants round about. The hotel will supply a map and also good details of neighbouring restaurants and the type of things they offer. We enjoyed Po Za Da (2 rue Guenot – just round the corner) and Le Petit Panisse (35 rue de Montreuil) Shop and patisserie across road from hotel. Plenty of bars and restaurants especially in rue de Montreuil closeby.

Breakfast was simple but very pleasant in the basement. Tropicana orange or apple juice, cereals, fruit, yogurts, cheeses and meats, selection of breads and pastries. Lovely coffee. We had it in our rate and it set us up for the day.

Zyad was wonderfully helpful, humorous and knowledgeable. My husband wanted to see a rugby match on tv on Sat and Zyad phoned some bars in Nation to see if they were showing it. He tracked down an Irish bar in rue de Montreuil and there it was!

We had a long, leisurely walk to Musee Carnavalet via Bastille. On Thurs and Sun there is a market in the park area in front of Bastille.
On the Saturday we walked to the fruit and veg market in Place d’Aligre which had great atmosphere. Sunday we took metro to Concorde for l’Orangerie but skipped it as queue was a bit long. Wandered around St Michel, Notre Dame and ambled back to hotel.

Decided to skip the train back to the airport and Zyad got us a taxi– was 48€ plus tip. All in all a lovely place to stay and would be very happy to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed for one night, the rooms were on the small side however it was a comfortable hotel, nice and clean with a modern bathroom. The staff were friendly, we speak very little french, luckily all staff spoke good english. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice. We would stay here again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We flew in to Paris on Saturday morning, for a weekend away to watch le Tour de France. We arrived early (10am) at the hotel, but the ever so friendly staff members made us some coffee (exceptionally good) and gave us the Wi-Fi password (free) and had a room ready for us in next to no time, even though we weren't meant to check in until the afternoon.

The rooms are a little on the small side, but I expected this in a fantastic location in central Paris, and it in no way detracted from our trip. We were welcomed with free wine, and the room was well equipped with all the mod cons, most importantly me for me a fantastic air conditioning system which was a delight to come back to after days out in the Parisian sunshine.

Shower was very good. Beds were very comfy. For those of you staying longer than 3/4 nights you would perhaps need more wardrobe space.

Staff were extremely helpful, friendly and accommodating. The hotel is open and manned at reception 24 hours a day.

Lots of variety at breakfast, and 30 second walk from Rue de Boulets metro station, which is only one stop from Nation metro station (itself only a 2-3 minute walk), which gives you all the main lines in to Paris.

Great Value, would definitely recommend this for people who are spending a long weekend away and want to be out and enjoying Paris as much as possible.

Room Tip: Not related to the hotel as such, but fantastic bakery one minutes walk towards Nation station on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I recently stayed at the Grand Hotel Francais with my wife for our 5th wedding anniversary.

The hotel was about 45min from the airport and was quite well hidden on a large road called Voiltare Boulevard.

Once inside we were greeted nicely and told that our room would be ready at 1pm so we could leave our bags, we were given a map and off we went for a local explore. The surrounding area is very traditional and non touristy which is great to have a attempt at asking for a beer.
When we got back we were shown to our room which was quite small but tastefully decorated, there was a mini bar with free water, a wardrobe fitted with a safe, English tv and both a bath/shower.
On the first day we went to the centre of Paris where the Eiffel Tower and tourist spots are located, we opted for taxi which cost around 15 euros one way, this area is fantastic and has everything you need but transport is a issue. We had a metro station right next to the hotel so on the Saturday we took the plunge. This was fantastic, a train gets to you every 3 minutes and drops you right on the Champs Élysées amongst other areas, you can swap trains to get to other areas for no extra costs, the cost of a ticket is only 1.40 euros, we used the metro all the time from that point which included 11.30pm and we felt very safe.

One thing I would note is to get your money exchanged before you leave or to have sufficient in your debit account as exchange bureaus shut early and most close on Sundays, Paris itself is such an amazing place but very pricey, a beer is 5 euros at its cheapest. The Grand Hotel Francais is fantastic for getting away from the tourist area but allows you to cheaply get to the important parts, the staff are very nice and helpful and the breakfast is lovely. I would recommend this hotel to anyone but think it suits older parties more than younger people.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The hotel is situated on a wide boulevard close to two Metro stations, Rue de Boulets and Nation, providing easy access to the city and airport.

All the staff are very welcoming, friendly and helpful and spoke excellent English (much appreciated as I have little French).

The room was small, but modern, comfortable and very clean, with air conditioning, fridge, tea/coffee making facilities, TV, and free WIFI.

Breakfast had a good selection of cereal, eggs, cheeses, meats, yoghurt, fruit etc

Would definitely stay at The Grand Hotel Francais again, it was excellent value for money and had the important element of Excellent Staff providing Excellent Customer Service. Merci.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed twice here in our 2 week tour of France. All the staff were friendly & helpful. The rooms were very comfortable & clean. The breakfasts had a good continental selection. There are a multitude of restaurants nearby with plenty of variety. Getting around was not a problem due to the closeness of the metro. We will definately return & would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Francais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Francais

Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Paris
Au Grand Hotel Francais
Address: 223 Boulevard Voltaire | 11th Arr., 75011 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#44 Family Hotel in Paris
#48 Business Hotel in Paris
#189 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Francais 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its individually decorated and personalized guestrooms and suites are soundproofed and offer elegant accommodation. Each room has air-conditioning, flat-screen TV and free Wi-Fi internet access. The well-equipped rooms feature contemporary decor and warm colours. The bathrooms include a massaging shower or bath. The Grand Hotel Français is situated in Place de la Nation, near Place de la Bastille, the fashionable Marais district and the lovely district near the Canal Saint Martin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, T4B, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Grand Hotel Francais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Francais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.