We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“''It's the little things that count''” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Francais

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Francais to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Francais
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   223 Boulevard Voltaire | 11th Arr., 75011 Paris, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #35 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“''It's the little things that count''”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We have just got back from spending 4 days in Paris and did so at this Hotel.

To report Small Rooms would be a massive understatement, I have never had nor seen such a tiny room anywhere else in the world, the room and en suite combined would fit easily into my bathroom at home and the whole place is life in miniature and you need to be a limbo dancer to get to the breakfast room.

BUT - The location on rue Voltaire is ideal for getting around and the area is quiet with some good places to eat and drink, the Hotel is spotlessly clean, bright, and modern, and the staff very engaging, helpful and speak perfect English.

We'd be happy to go back and if they really do have bigger rooms (which I Seriously doubt having looked at the internal plans) then it would be perfect.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,316 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    865
    376
    53
    16
    6
See reviews for
95
884
52
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zabbar, Malta
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

It was a memorable 16 night stay at this hotel and I have no regrets with choosing this accommodation. By Parisian standards, rooms are relatively spacious and very clean.

Hotel
- situated in a very secure and quiet area - Bastille
- two metro stations just 5 minutes away on foot - Rue des Boulets and Nation
- good restaurants in the area especially in Nation square
- 24 hour reception - very polite and welcoming receptionists
- free daily local newspapers in English and in french
- excellent french breakfast incl. a selection of savory and sweet items


Room:
- we had a superior room which I definitely suggest
- complimentary chocolate and champagne upon arrival
- clean and tidy
- TV service
- free wi-fi with excellent download speeds
- spacious and well equipped bathroom

I would like to thank all the staff for making our honeymoon a dream come true!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Hotel Francais for my husbands birthday 9th Feb. The hotel was excellent, really well located for the metro and the continental breakfast was very good. As mentioned in other reviews the rooms are quite small, but we have stayed in 5* hotels in London and believe me, some of them are smaller. The room was fine, free soft drinks, very clean and hydro shower 1st class. The real plus for this hotel is the staff, the concierge was so helpful, pleasant and knowledgeable. He was more than happy to answer any of our questions, always helpful and pointing us in the right direction. The icing on the cake was the complimentary 1/2 bottle of champagne for my husbands birthday - THANK YOU xx

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happymanager, Propriétaire at Grand Hotel Francais, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear madam sir

thank you very much for your compliement on our staff and hotel, it is always a pleasure to see it compared to a 5 star hotel and see that our customers are satisfied but the most important is to know that we managed to make you spend your stay as friendly as possible because we always ensure that our customers feel at home.

hopoe see you again

warm regards
the staff of the grand hotel francais his manager
ZYAD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephie21385
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights feb 2013, paid £130 per night for two in a superior room (request a balcony by email if possible) rooms are small but very modern and clean. Service was fantastic -English speaking staff are very receptive of attempts at French! Hotel itself is on Boulevard Voltaire, which is a short (5min) walk to the nation metro station where you can jump on loads of rail line across Paris. Good value for money when you consider it's Paris!
It's in the quiet part of town away from the landmarks but won't take too long to get into Paris centre. We stopped in room 551, with a balcony.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happymanager, Manager at Grand Hotel Francais, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
dear madam
thank you for very much for choosing ou rhotel

it was a pleasure to welcome you we are happy that you enjoyed your balcony room and our services

hope to see you again

zyad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I spent a weekend in early February at this hotel and had a fantastic experience. The staff is very friendly and welcoming, and provides excellent advice and service. I arrived at 11 AM and was able to check into my room, which was very nice. Upon check-in, there was even a box of chocolates waiting in my room and a note welcoming me to the hotel. The gentleman working at the desk during the day (unfortunately, I did not catch his name) provided me with a map of Paris as well as a map of nearby restaurants - very useful.

The location is not exactly in the center of the tourist destinations of Paris, but they are all very easily accessible. The hotel is conveniently located to two metro stops, including the Nation stop which is serviced by the RER and four metro lines. It is very easy to reach all of the major destinations in Paris from the hotel.

This was my fourth time in Paris and my best hotel experience by far. I will certainly not hesitate to book again with the Grand Hotel Francais on my next trip and look forward to enjoying the hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happymanager, Manager at Grand Hotel Francais, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Madame Sir

Thank you for having chosen our hotel

We are delighted that we have helped you spend one of best stay in the capital, the satisfaction of our customers and hospitality are the two most important things for our team, we listen and try to make any changes to improve the stay of our customer and we are delighted to see that this was the case with you

Thank you for sharing it with us

warm regard

the staff and his manager zyad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I booked this trip as a Christmas present for my girlfriend as it had very good reviews and it didn't disappoint.

We stayed for 3 nights and the location was perfect, very close to the metro so easy access to near enough anywhere. There is also some nice hotels and restaurants nearby to the hotel if you do not want to travel far. The staff were very friendly, welcoming and also spoke very good English. We also received a nice letter and a bottle of wine in our room.

The room itself is exactly what you need for a trip to Paris as you are out and about most of the time anyway, nicely decorated and well furnished.

Just a tip: if you do not know a lot about the metro and the area and you have an android phone, there is an app called 'Metro 01' which is very helpful. If you type in the address of the hotel and an attraction or area, it will tell you exactly how to get there via the metro.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happymanager, Manager at Grand Hotel Francais, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
DEAR Madam SIr

Thank you for choosing our hotel

We are delighted that you had a pleasant stay in our hotel

It is always a pleasure to see such a comment, and especially for a hotel where everyone are very attentive to what customers say

Hope to see you again

warm regards
ZYAD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Great hotel in the heart of Paris when we were visiting for vacationing back in May. Rooms are a bit small, but overall it was very clean and the staff was courteous and helpful at all times. The hotel is very close to the underground so everything was convenient. There are also some restaurants and markets that open during the evening and bakeries that open during the morning.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Francais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Francais

Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Paris
Au Grand Hotel Francais
Address: 223 Boulevard Voltaire | 11th Arr., 75011 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#51 Business Hotel in Paris
#52 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Francais 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its individually decorated and personalized guestrooms and suites are soundproofed and offer elegant accommodation. Each room has air-conditioning, flat-screen TV and free Wi-Fi internet access. The well-equipped rooms feature contemporary decor and warm colours. The bathrooms include a massaging shower or bath. The Grand Hotel Français is situated in Place de la Nation, near Place de la Bastille, the fashionable Marais district and the lovely district near the Canal Saint Martin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, T4B, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Grand Hotel Francais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Francais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.