We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place, nice people” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Francais

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Francais to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Francais
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   223 Boulevard Voltaire | 11th Arr., 75011 Paris, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #42 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Milwaukee WI
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“nice place, nice people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

Stayed here for a week at the beginning of December and found it to be a clean, convenient place not in a tourist area. The front desk staff are friendly and very helpful - making calls for me, following up on a late shuttle to the airport, directions to places in the city, etc.

The room was small (to be expected - I was by myself and I've traveled enough in Europe to know what to expect) but not too small - I could move around the room with ease and of course, in Paris the rooms have that wonderful large windows that open onto the street that add so much light. The furnishings were modern, and the bed was a bit soft but nothing I couldn't deal with. The bathroom was small but clean, modern and the hot water came quickly and in abundance.

Didn't have the hotel breakfast (at 12 euros, it was a bit much for someone who doesn't eat a big breakfast normally) so I can't address that.

The room was relatively quiet - although I probably should have brought earplugs as the hotel got busier over the weekend and the walls weren't not the thickest.

The neighborhood seemed to be relatively safe and quiet, with plenty of restaurants and grocery stores nearby. It is a neighborhood with many Jewish residents so some of the restaurants are closed Friday nights and Saturdays, as are some of the grocery stores but it's not impossible to find other places open.

It's 2 blocks from the Nation RER/Metro stop so it's convenient in that way. And it's a short cab ride to Gare de Lyon so again, convenient!

I would recommend friends to stay there without any reservations. A nice place in a nice neighborhood!

Room Tip: I think the top floor probably has the best rooms - lots of light, and probably a bit quieter. (I wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    946
    407
    58
    15
    7
See reviews for
114
959
58
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tarrega, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights last week and I have to say that it was a great experience. First of all, I must say that the staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. About the rooms, they are modern, well-decorated and spotlessly clean. The bathroom has free slippers and good toiletries, and you are welcomed in your room with two small bottles of wine and a box of chocs. The breakfast is good and you have free newspapers and magazines. There is a tube station just next to the hotel and it's quite easy to move around Paris. I highly recommend it to everybody, especially to couples who want to make the most of their visit the City of Lights!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

Friendly staff on arrival, spotless rooms and good location minutes walk from Place de Nation!

Room Tip: All rooms are soundproofed! 5th floor was fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

We spent 4 nights at the GHF in November 2011. The room was small as you would expect in Paris, but well designed and efficient. The bathroom was very clean. Breakfast was included in our room rate. I was happily surprised by the choice and quality of the food offered. The entire hotel staff (front office, housekeeping and breakfast) was pleasant and helpful. The hotel is located right next to a subway station.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Pros
-Good size rooms
-Nice bathrooms (they werent large but they were upscale)
-great breakfast
-great customer service
-very clean
-Free wifi!

Cons
-Hot rooms (you could open the window but the street was loud)
-loud street
-didnt like the location of the hotel, it was too far from eerything and didnt feel as safe area

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

We were so happy with our stay!

The hotel rooms are very nice. Better than many of the 4 star hotels that I have stayed in the US. The included breakfast if you choose it is really really good. Staff is so friendly and helpful. I do not have one nick-pick for this perfect hotel!

The location is great if you are okay using the sub-way. The tourist areas are so congested and of course filled with tourists! It was so nice to be able to end the day in our beautiful true Parisian neighborhood. I have friends that live in NYC and a good analogy is that if feels like staying with them in SoHo or Chelsea rather than staying in Time Square :)

Next time I stay in Paris I will definitely go back to Grand Hotel Francais...and that is saying something as I usually enjoy trying out new places for each vacation!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Great price, nice location close to two metros and excellent hotel. It was a surprise trip for my boyfriend and we got upgraded which made our trip even more special.

Hope to return to Paris next year for a longer stay and will be booking into this hotel again for sure!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Francais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Francais

Address: 223 Boulevard Voltaire | 11th Arr., 75011 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#32 Business Hotel in Paris
#72 Family Hotel in Paris
#153 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Francais 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its individually decorated and personalized guestrooms and suites are soundproofed and offer elegant accommodation. Each room has air-conditioning, flat-screen TV and free Wi-Fi internet access. The well-equipped rooms feature contemporary decor and warm colours. The bathrooms include a massaging shower or bath. The Grand Hotel Français is situated in Place de la Nation, near Place de la Bastille, the fashionable Marais district and the lovely district near the Canal Saint Martin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Hotel Francais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Paris
Au Grand Hotel Francais

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Francais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.