We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Le General - Paris” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le General Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Le General Hotel to your Saves list
Le General Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5/7 rue Rampon, 75011 Paris, France (Bastille / Oberkampf)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #568 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Le General - Paris”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

A great little boutique hotel in a charming area of Paris. The rooms are not huge but well appointed and very comfortable. The hotel itself is beautifully maintained and the beautiful continental breakfast served in the dining room is really great.
The hotel only serves breakfast but there are many quality (and reasonably priced) restaurants within a five minute stroll.
For the walkers among us the hotel is a pleasant 40 minute walk from the centre of Paris (Champs Elysee) and other Paris highlights. There is a great variety of things and shops to see on the way and several routes to take. There is also metro stations and hop on hop off tourist buses close at hand to get you into town if you don't like to walk and discover.
The hotel staff are extemely helpful and pleasant - most speak English fluently.
My wife and I had five night at Le General and would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie L, Directeur général at Le General Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear Alan,
Many thanks for your warm comment.
We're very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and would be very pleased to welcome you back soon on LE GENERAL HOTEL.
Kind regards
S; Legendre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    144
    63
    19
    9
See reviews for
48
123
23
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Arrived at this little hotel after being 'ripped off' by a taxi driver who charged a huge fare from train station. The young men on the desk offered wet towels and a fruit drink while check in procedure was completed. They also provided a map and general tourist advice which was great!
Our room was small with a petite balcony with table and chairs. However, the air con leaked and we had to be re located. But we had a choice of rooms and were given a complimentary glass of champagne which was appreciated. The manager also helped to move luggage which was also appreciated.
Breakfast was ok but the eggs and bacon were awful! Bacon cremated and eggs were watery and had no taste. Pastries were plentiful so a more enjoyable option. The staff however were very hard working.
Found a great little Italian restaurant nearby which was reasonably priced and which had friendly service so ate there most nights after a full day of sight seeing.
Thanks to friendliness of staff I would return to this hotel, even though it is a fair hike to main sight seeing attractions.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie L, Directeur général at Le General Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear Ned,
Many thanks for your warm comment .
We're really sorry again for the trouble with the the air conditionning in your room.
A good thing you changed so that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We'll be very happy to welcome you back soon on LE GENERAL HOTEL.
Kind regards
S. Legendre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

My partner and I have just got back from a 2 night stay at Le General hotel and what a lovely little hidden gem it was! It was our first stay in Paris and we were a little apprehensive to say the least about our trip. We travelled over by Eurostar which departs at the Gare du nord train station. The hotel is about a 20 minute walk from here, alternatively, the metro at the station will get you about a 2 minute walk from the hotel if you get it to "Republique."

I would definitely recommend getting the Metro rather than walking as it can be a little bit daunting. We arrived at the hotel and were checked in pretty promptly. The gentleman who checked us in, (I am unsure of his name!) was really helpful and spoke good English.

The room was everything you needed it to be really. Yes, it is a little bit on the small side but we were expecting that staying in Paris. It had an comfortable double bed, LCD television, Expresso Machine, a little balcony and a gorgeous bathroom with an incredible size bath! The breakfast was too very good at this hotel. There were pastries, cereal, toast, juice, yoghurts, scrambled eggs, everything you needed along with a nice big pot of coffee to set you up for the day.

Across from the hotel is a little restaurant/bar called Indiana, which is fab to eat at! It is happy hour there from 5-8pm so cocktails/beers are half price! I suggest you get there early and would recommend the Raspberry Mojitos!

We pretty much travelled by Metro everywhere. It is pretty simple (as soon as you know how to use it!) and is cheap enough. We got the metro to St Michel which is pretty much opposite Notre Dame. I've got to say, if you are in Paris, you need to visit Notre Dame! It is the most beautiful place I have been in my entire life. We also walked up the towers (if you intend on doing this get there early, although the towers don't open until 10 - we waited 1hr30 mins from 10am to get in!)

We also visited Museum d'Orsay which is huge! You really do need a full day there to really maximise everything there. For only 11 Euros each I thought it was good value for money, We went down the River Seine by boat, which was lovely and again good value for money. You pass all the amazing sites in Paris including the Eiffel Tower.

On our day of departure, you do have to leave the room by 11, however our train wasn't due until 15:15, the hotel were more than accommodating to let us leave our luggage in the luggage room & collect it later on. This hotel is brilliant if you want somewhere that feels safe, close to the metro so you can get to pretty much anywhere in Paris in a matter of minutes, a great team of staff that make you feel welcome and somewhere you can get a great nights sleep after jammed packed days! The only thing I would suggest to make the hotel better, is an information booklet in the room. In here I would have all the information of which Metro to get to each attraction and good local restaurants/bars to eat at!

Thank you to Le General Hotel for making our stay a pleasant one & we hope to see you again soon x

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie L, Directeur général at Le General Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear Jammy,
Many thanks for your warm comment.
And many thanks as well for your suggestion even if all the Reception's Team is ready to help !!!!
We do hope to welcome you back soon on LE GENERAL HOTEL.
Kind regards
Sophie Legendre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blockley, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights and were disappointed with our small room. The wardrobe was tiny and once our suitcases were on the floor, there wasn't much room for manoeuvre! It was however, very clean.The shower was an ok size but a little temperamental.
The breakfast was average. A small breakfast area for the size of the hotel. Some guests were queuing in the mornings for a table which we've never seen before!
Can't fault the hard working staff here.
Our stay was ok but we weren't 'wowed' enough to return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie L, Directeur général at Le General Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Laura,
Many thanks for your comment upon your stay with us.
Yes, you're right, rooms in Paris might seems small but it's a regular size for a 4 stars hotel.
I really hope to welcome you back soon on LE GENERAL HOTEL.
Kind regards
Sophie Legendre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

happy with this hotel as very quiet and comfortable room. Staff very nice especially in dining room and thanks to the man who insisted we have juice and croissants when we had to leave early.The desk staff were also helpful in arranging a couple of tours for us.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie L, Directeur général at Le General Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your warm comment upon your stay with us.
All the Team was really happy to help you.
We do hope to welcome you back soon on LE GENERAL HOTEL.
Kind regards
Sophie Legendre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I’ll start with the positives: lovely boutique hotel, great breakfast area, beautiful bathroom (loved the toiletries), good location, clean and spacious room, free wifi.


Now the negatives: the hotel cancelled my reservation by mistake. My friends and I turned up at 11.30pm to be told we were not expected (even though I had paid in full in advance and had emailed the hotel in the week to inform them of our time of arrival). Luckily there was a room available but my friend and I ended up making up one of the beds ourselves. The night receptionist was very apologetic and very helpful; even though it was not his fault he did his best to assist us.


The next morning I was offered a half-hearted apology from the gentleman who had made the mistake, but not much else. Eventually we were offered complimentary breakfast, but considering the level of disappointment and inconvenience experienced on our arrival I did expect more, especially from a 4* hotel.


Overall, we were happy with the hotel itself but the poor service prevents me from offering more than 3/5. I am not sure if I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie L, Directeur général at Le General Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your comment concerning your say with us.
Kind regards
Sophie Legendre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Upon check in to Le General for a five night stay, we were treated to a room upgrade for the first two nights. The suite was beautifully appointed and furnished with modern decor. The shower however was difficult to negotiate and the water pressure was low. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. L'Occitane toiletries were abundant, as were the towelling robes and complimentary slippers.

After the second night we were downgraded to a suite which was supposed to accommodate three adults; we suspect however is was simply a double room with a child-sized trundle bed. The exceedingly small room was a tight squeeze and our luggage hugged the walls. It was well below the standard of other rooms we stayed throughout Europe. The heated towel rack didn't work, neither did the DVD player or the television remote control. There were lights out in the bathroom and bedroom. Housekeeping was inconsistent and on two occasions we had to request that our room be attended to, despite the late hour. Neither rooms had a bar fridge, though coffee making facilities were catered for.

Breakfast fare was lovely, a small but delicious array of pasties, cereals, fruit and juices. Bacon, sausages, toast and scrambled eggs were also provided. On one occasion however there were no tables, no clean cereal bowls and the milk was warm.

With the exception of Marc, who was extremely professional and accommodating, the reception staff were not at all welcoming, friendly or helpful. Requests for assistance were met with impolite indifference. The brusque demeanour of the staff did little to build rapport, or create a hospitable environment. We felt unwelcome.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie L, Directeur général at Le General Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear India,
Many thanks for your comment upon your stay with us.
And yes, Marc-Antoine is extremely helpfull like all the Team !
We do hope to welcome you back soon one LE GENERAL HOTEL.
Kind regards
Sophie Legendre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le General Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le General Hotel

Address: 5/7 rue Rampon, 75011 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bastille / Oberkampf , République
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#270 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#518 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le General Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the heart of Paris. Peace and quiet in the bustling city. Pure lines, soft materials, halos of light, warm tones of Rosewood.Welcome to a rare location designed by Jean-Philippe NUEL. A place of comfortand charm. A space filled with calm. Welcome home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Le General Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le General Paris
Hotel Le General

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le General Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.