We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Little Parisian Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le General Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Le General Hotel to your Saves list
Le General Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5/7 rue Rampon, 75011 Paris, France (République)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #607 of 1,792 Hotels in Paris
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely Little Parisian Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed here in September 2013 ... and Loved it ! The Rooms are Tiny , But very clean and smart . The Parisian Balcony in The Room more than makes up for the small size of it , so make sure you get a room with a Balcony in it when Booking. The Reception / Bar area is extremely modern , and the Breakfast in the morning was beautiful , scrambled eggs , bacon & sausages ... yum yum ! The Manager who Greeted us on Arrival was just Brilliant ... His Name was Mehdi , and he made us feel very welcome and safe on Arrival. He did everything for us to Ordering Taxis , Giving us Metro Maps , Explaining Directions to us , Giving us advice on what restaurants to go to and sending Ice to our Room whenever we requested it ! Thanks for a Wonderful Time , Le General ! We will be back Someday ! Steven & Nicola x

Room Tip: Get a Street View Balcony Room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    135
    60
    19
    9
See reviews for
45
114
22
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Penticton, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is on the Rue Rampon, just off of the Place de la Republiqe. The Republique gives you access to the really great \metro as it is a major change point & you can go everywhere inParis from there. The system has a good map & you would have no difficulty getting to the Louvre. Also you can connect with the Metro & RER rail to get to Versailles. easily.
The hotel is a small on & breakfast is included. The rooms however are very small. Be sure to ask for a large room otherwise you won't have enough room for 2 people. The staff are very friendly & obliging. There is also a small fitness room. We were there for 4 nights in June 0213

Room Tip: The hotel is very close to restaraunts & even a grocery store is you need snacks & water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a few nights on business in July, and I was very impressed - I found it to be excellent value for money in a superbe location, nice rooms, nice decor and wonderful service. Definitely one of the best hotels I've stayed in in Paris. There is a good wi-fi connection for those on business and a desk so there is space to work.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed here in August 2013. Firstly, nice location in a quiet side street and within a couple of minutes walk to the metro. Some nice eating places close by and for the overseas traveller there are two laundromats within a ten minute walk. The staff are polite and helpful, the rooms are smallish but very comfortable. Wifi can be a little sketchy at certain times but no real problem. The beds and pillows are comfortable and the bathroom areas are clean and well maintained. There was no fridge in the room we were in which seems to be the norm in certain parts of Europe. The breakfast is good enough even though there are limited options. Overall a really nice hotel that I would happily stay in again and also recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Le General is a most delightful hotel for a stay in Paris. The welcome and treatment by staff throughout our stay was tremendous. One couldn't have asked for more from re confirming tour bookings to ordering taxis or chilling champagne, the staff were friendly and helpful. The room was small as was expected but with ample room to put two large suitcases. We also enjoyed the benefit of a lovely little verandah with a table and two chairs. Each evening we were able to sit out and enjoy either drinks before or after dinner or a light meal. The bathroom was roomy and the whole tastefully and well equipped. We loved the espresso maker beside the bed!! Breakfast was in a well presented room and offered a good variety of food. The local area offered a wide variety of cafe and restaurant eating. Located at the edge of Le Marais but close to two Metro stations, travel to any part of Paris was simple. (Buy a canet of 10 tickets for easy and cheap travel).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

First, the staff at Hotel General could not have been more service oriented. Anything asked for created an immediate positive response. Indeed, one of the female concierges proactively recommended a Siene River cruise, and this turned into an epic memory that will forever be cherished. This morning when we checked out at five a.m., the male concierge was most apologetic that he could not offer us breakfast (he was genuinely sorry given that we had breakfast included in our room and apologized three times) this was really not expected as we knew we were leaving before the start of breakfast service, but he produced a quick care package of croissants and cheese, very very thoughtful. Yes, the rooms are small, but the majority if Paris hotel rooms are small. Our Bathroom was clean and modern, and our room had a balcony with a small table and chairs (limited to only four rooms, but recommended if you can get). Plastic cups instead of real glasses were not so good, and the cleaners did not bother to check the balcony for the ashtray they provide you with (had to clean out my own ashtray). Breakfast was plentiful and great selection for anyone. We had friends staying at a hotel just around the corner, and they had almost the same accommodations, but were paying 100 euros more??? We would stay at Hotel General again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My Husband and I stay here on our trip to Paris in June 2013. We loved this hotel. While the room we stayed in was small, it was clean and comfortable and had everything you needed, the hotel itself is in a great location. Staff were great and we would easily stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le General Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le General Hotel

Address: 5/7 rue Rampon, 75011 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > République
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#269 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#550 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le General Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the heart of Paris. Peace and quiet in the bustling city. Pure lines, soft materials, halos of light, warm tones of Rosewood.Welcome to a rare location designed by Jean-Philippe NUEL. A place of comfortand charm. A space filled with calm. Welcome home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Escapio, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le General Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le General Paris
Hotel Le General

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le General Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.