We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearly perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le General Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Le General Hotel to your Saves list
Le General Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5/7 rue Rampon, 75011 Paris, France (République)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #608 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nearly perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

First, the staff at Hotel General could not have been more service oriented. Anything asked for created an immediate positive response. Indeed, one of the female concierges proactively recommended a Siene River cruise, and this turned into an epic memory that will forever be cherished. This morning when we checked out at five a.m., the male concierge was most apologetic that he could not offer us breakfast (he was genuinely sorry given that we had breakfast included in our room and apologized three times) this was really not expected as we knew we were leaving before the start of breakfast service, but he produced a quick care package of croissants and cheese, very very thoughtful. Yes, the rooms are small, but the majority if Paris hotel rooms are small. Our Bathroom was clean and modern, and our room had a balcony with a small table and chairs (limited to only four rooms, but recommended if you can get). Plastic cups instead of real glasses were not so good, and the cleaners did not bother to check the balcony for the ashtray they provide you with (had to clean out my own ashtray). Breakfast was plentiful and great selection for anyone. We had friends staying at a hotel just around the corner, and they had almost the same accommodations, but were paying 100 euros more??? We would stay at Hotel General again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    135
    60
    19
    9
See reviews for
45
114
22
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My Husband and I stay here on our trip to Paris in June 2013. We loved this hotel. While the room we stayed in was small, it was clean and comfortable and had everything you needed, the hotel itself is in a great location. Staff were great and we would easily stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed at Le General for 9 nights and found it to be a great base for exploring all of Paris. Very close to the Metro and the Yellow Hop on Hop Off bus stop and plenty of wonderful restaurants and gourmet food shops nearby. The room was on the smaller side but completely in keeping with European standards. It was always very clean, well appointed and the bathroom was very large with a lovely bath to soak those aching muscles.
The staff were always helpful but not over the top (very French/Paris) and the breakfast was actually one of the best we had in France. Wifi was working the majority of the time, you just need to get the login and password from reception. Free business centre was handy for printing tickets, boarding passes etc. Great AC.
I would stay again in a heartbeat - really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: We stayed at the front and didn't have any street noise so all rooms should be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

First visit to Paris, booked this hotel but not a good stay. Room is very small, but paid €200 a night from 28-Dec to 31-Dec. Unexpecting surroundings with lots of graffiti. Staff was great, free breakfast was good with limited choices of food. We feel we paid too much for the stay. Never had wifi signals for iPhones or iPad. Needed to borrow a laptop from the hotel...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We came to Paris to celebrate our daughter's 16th birthday and were recommended to stay at Le General which, overall, turned out to be a really good recommendation.
Locally based, in a quiet street off a busy main road. Our room was on the 3rd floor, and "Privilege" standard, a large very comfortable double bed with a single put up bed and was cleaned and tidied daily. Although the room wasn't quite ready when we arrived (we were early), they let us in there to freshen up and unpack, which was very handy.
Air con was a welcome benefit since the weather was really hot throughout our stay. Large comfortable bathroom with lots of toiletries, bathrobe and slippers. Coffee machine but no tea maker - very French!! However, only 2 cups / gowns / slippers provided even though we were 3!
The breakfast buffet was varied and plentiful although I felt the rolls were hard, not as fresh as could have been.
Only 2 English channels on the TV - BBC World News and CNN.
Our one issue with this hotel is the staff. Unlike the description on their website, you are not always greeted with a smile or any sort of warm welcome. Often there is only one member of staff on Reception who shares duties on the bar. At busy times clients were often kept waiting by a harassed employee, with no apology offered for the long wait incurred. However, after 4 days walking around Paris and eating in various restaurants and cafes, and visiting a variety of tourist sites, we found this attitude to be very Parisienne and something to be accepted as the norm. Customer Service is not their forte.
If you bear this in mind, Le General is an acceptable place to lay your head during your stay in Paris.

Room Tip: If hot, ensure your room has air con.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Le general is in a great location if you enjoy walking or confident using the metro trains. The train timetable doesn'ttake long to figure out and once you do, you are away exploring Paris.
Le general itself is clean and tidy and we found the staff to be very helpful. The rooms are small but serviced daily to a very good standard. Breakfast was adequate and enough variety to keep most travellers happy. There are plenty of restaurants closeby and a walk up the road to oberkamp provides even more eateries. We enjoyed our time here and Le General was a good place to call "home " for a week. The only negative - the walls are paper thin so if your neighbours are noisey you will be disturbed.

Room Tip: There is no swimming pool. Ask for a room at the rear of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Le General Hotel is less than a 10-minute walk from the Place de la Republique metro station, which was the reason I chose the hotel. I arrived before noon, too early to check in. I was greeted at Reception, which is a simple speaker's rostrum behind which a young lady was standing. I told her my name and acknowledged that I was too early to check in. She confirmed that, and asked if I would like to check my luggage until 2 p.m. I asked if I could use the WiFi, and she had me sit down in the comfortable lobby lounge, provided me the WiFi passcode, and brought me coffee, which never showed up on my bill. This one young lady earns this hotel a 5!
A few comments about the rest of the stay. The breakfast was excellent, with both cold and hot food served: cheese and rolls, fruit, muesli, bacon and eggs, etc. The room was adequate in size, for one person or maybe a close couple, but less than spacious.
Considering excellent location, clean rooms and superb service, Le General is a top value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le General Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le General Hotel

Address: 5/7 rue Rampon, 75011 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > République
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#268 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#555 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le General Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the heart of Paris. Peace and quiet in the bustling city. Pure lines, soft materials, halos of light, warm tones of Rosewood.Welcome to a rare location designed by Jean-Philippe NUEL. A place of comfortand charm. A space filled with calm. Welcome home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le General Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le General Paris
Hotel Le General

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le General Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.