We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Voltaire” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Hotel Candide

Save Saved
You added New Hotel Candide to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
New Hotel Candide
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Rue Petion, 75011 Paris, France (République)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,332 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Close to Voltaire”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Great (quiet) location not far from Voltaire Metro station, with good eateries nearby. Good breakfast room and selection. Free wi-fi is a bonus. Room was not big.... but only used it to sleep in! Ensuite ample. Staff very accommodating. Hotel is not big, which was one of the attractions. (Far more personable.)

Room Tip: The room I had did not have air-con; but the windows opened to a common courtyard with sufficient ai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamal_Barouti, Director at New Hotel Candide, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Customer, It was also a pleasure for us to welcome you and to count you among our loyal customers. Waiting to welcome you again please accept, dear customer, our cordial greetings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    102
    94
    65
    56
See reviews for
65
58
20
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uruguaiana, RS
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I, my husband and my son stayed at this hotel no September.The room is a little small for 3 people .The room has a fridge, wi-fi free, good beds, tv, shampoo.The breakfast was very good , it surprised me.They had fruit salad, 3 or more kind of cheese, salami, 2 kinds of bread, juice e sometimes eggs.The other advantage of this hotel is we can use the computer and the printer without pay . The only bad thing is that I found a nut and a napkin under the bed.The staff was so good there were a woman who spoke French and a English and an old man that spoke Spanish and French.Nearby, you can find 2 supermarkets with a lot of delicious things, a place that sells all kind of cheese, other with chocolate, meats and a MC Donald's on the corner.The subway is on the corner too.And the price was good.

Room Tip: It a small hotel and the street is kind of quite, I think that all the rooms are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamal_Barouti, Director at New Hotel Candide, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear customer, Thank you for staying at the New Hotel Candide. Your comment allows us to improve services that we offer to our clients to allow them to have a pleasant stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We booked this hotel four weeks before our stay and paid in full. On arrival we were told that the hotel internet was down for the previous 3 days and that they had overbooked so they had no room for us until the following day. We were told to walk to another nearby hotel - with our bags - and come back next morning for breakfast. We told them to wanted a taxi to the other hotel ( 15 minutes by taxi!!!) - which was a 2 star and filthy - hairs on the floor, in bed and pokey room. We spent a very bad night there.

Next morning we went back to New Hotel Candide and was advised to leave our luggage in storage and that a room would be free at 12 noon. We told them that we wanted our room after breakfast which we got.

This was a very bad start to our holiday and we were given the impression by the staff that this was an acceptable way to treat hotel guests coming to stay in Paris. (We travel to European cities at least twice a year and have never been treated like this before)

The room was small, very basic but bed was comfortable. No extras - shower caps, tea/coffee making facilities and the hair dryer was from the 60's. Would never recommend this hotel after our experience.

Signed:Experienced Traveller

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamal_Barouti, Director at New Hotel Candide, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear client,
We have noted your comments regarding your stay at the New Hotel Candide in Paris and your problem of changing the hotel.
Know that we are very attentive to the quality of service that our customers are, entitled to expect from our hotel and that is why we deeply regret not being able to give you full satisfaction.
Sorry that your appreciation of the New Hotel Candide was marred by this unfortunate experience, and hope you will give us the opportunity to be better hosts in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fgura,, Malta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

we have been for 2 nights in this horrible hotel, rooms are very small and need a full refurbishment, the waiter in the restaurant is very very arrogant and idiot person , although breakfast was sufficiently good. the receptionists are a little bit better although not too much helpful. in my opinion tourists must stay away from here!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamal_Barouti, Director at New Hotel Candide, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Client,
We are sorry to read that you did not appreciate your stay with us. As we explained to you, we cannot let clients bring food from the breakfast to their room or for take away as it has to be consumed at the restaurant. We understand you were not happy with that but it is our policy. We hope we will have the chance to host you again in one of our hotel.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

This is not a luxury hotel. On the other hand, it gives great value for money. The rooms are not large, but are comfortable enough. The breakfast is not too fancy but it is copious. The staff is extremely friendly. And the location, whole not in the center of the main tourist areas, is in a very pleasant neighborhood well served by restaurants, supermarkets, and other shops. The nearest metro stop is less than 100 meters away, so getting around is really no problem. Also, the Bastille and Marais neighborhoods are within easy walking distance. It is important to ask for a room facing the street. These rooms are larger and better lit. If you're looking for a luxurious accommodation, then you can spend your money, a lot more money, elsewhere. But, if you want a place to call home while visiting Paris, and to leave enough money in your pocket to do some shopping without guilt, then this place is definitely worth considering. We would come back here again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamal_Barouti, Director at New Hotel Candide, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear customer, we thank you for your comment and your choice, we hope to welcome you again and count you among our loyal customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed here for 4nights the hotel was good very silent, clean.. and more over very close to the station and this is just a 3* hotel not a 5* so everything will be small.. very good WiFi connection.. breakfast was good,,very helpful staff in reception.. they helped us every time ..this is the first time we stayed in this hotel but we were happy staying there..

Room Tip: 304 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamal_Barouti, Director at New Hotel Candide, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Customer
Thank you for your comment and your stay at New Hotel Candide, we will be happy to welcome you again and make your stay even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

When we arrived at the hotel, the front desk informed us that the elevator was broken but would be fixed by the time we leave in 3 days. We had to personally haul our luggage up three flights of stairs, with no offer of assistance from the hotel staff. When we left, the elevator was not fixed and again, we received no assistance.

During our whole course of stay, nobody cleaned our room.

One night, we called front desk to help us call for a taxi in 20 minutes and inform us when he has done so or if the taxi has arrived. We waited over an hour, and still received no answer from front desk. Therefore, we called back and the staff just said he tried calling for a taxi but nobody answered. We ended up just walking a couple blocks away from the hotel in order to find a taxi.

Another night, we accidentally knocked a wine glass over so there was broken glass all over the washroom. Again, we attempted to call front desk for room service to help us clean it up. They stated there was no room service available. Therefore, we requested if we could at least have a broom to clean it up ourselves. They said alright, and we waited over an hour but nobody ever came up. We ended up having to leave the broken glass lying there until after we checked out.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamal_Barouti, Director at New Hotel Candide, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear guest,

We have received your comments regarding your stay at New Hotel Candide in Paris and your problem : Regarding the lift, we apologize for the work of the latter to improve the comfort of our guests, we were obliged to stop it for three days, but offered to all our customers who wanted to mount their luggage by our staff.
Know that we are very attentive to the quality of service that our customers are, entitled to expect from our hotel and that is why we deeply regret not being able to give you full satisfaction. Sorry your appreciation of New Hotel Candide was marred by this unfortunate experience, and hope you will give us the opportunity to be better hosts in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to New Hotel Candide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel Candide

Address: 3 Rue Petion, 75011 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > République
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,332 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — New Hotel Candide 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel near the downtown area - 18 kms from Orly Airport, 25 kms from Charles De Gaulle Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Fastbooking, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your New Hotel Candide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Hotel Candide, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.