We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for our money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Les Jardins du Marais

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Les Jardins du Marais to your Saves list
Hotel Les Jardins du Marais
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   74 rue Amelot, 75011 Paris, France (Formerly Home Plazza Bastille) (République)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #760 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Rehovoth, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good value for our money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

The room was a bit small, but suited our needs.
The breakfast was very rich and delicious.
A nice small hotel in a very good location - right near a metro station and 15 minutes walk from the Bastille.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timsit, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Les Jardins du Marais, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments.
We hope to host you again in Paris soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    391
    182
    112
    68
See reviews for
165
406
37
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Forest Park, Washington
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

If you like to walk, this place is not in the thick of it, but on the edge so not in direct tourist area! do a map search of the train stop 1 minute walk from hotel, -Ste. Sebastien Froissart. very clean and comfortable, rooms can be small, on a street more quaint, off from a busy street. great restaurants and patisserie nearby, oh that bread! hotel has a unique layout with a central courtyard with tables , cute bars across the street. Very clean, lots of tv channels, very pleasant staff, comfy bed, very nice continental breakfast available with assortment of breads, cheeses, dried fruit, nuts, fresh juices, pastries, cooked egg and baconm and of course cafe! i walked from this hotel to Notre dam, Rivoli & Honore shopping area, The Louvre, Bastille, and then 1 mile to my train at Paris Nord station. There is a airport shuttle for 50 euros as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timsit, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Les Jardins du Marais, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your detailed and nice comments; we hope to host you again in Paris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahrain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This was a lovely small hotel situated close to the busy streets of Paris, my stay there was very nice and the staff were helpful and friendly. As a 4-star hotel it appears very neat and the service is up to standard, suffice to say that guests won't be disappointed by the service here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timsit, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Les Jardins du Marais, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments and we are looking forward to host you again in Paris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Take away: Good value for the money (considering the quality of other similarly priced places) but I would have had a nicer room at a Best Western.


This hotel was overall OK. The lobby and corridors were gorgeous but that definitely is not enough to constitute deserving the four-star rating. Firstly, we requested a queen-size bed room. When we arrive we had two twins. I called reception to ask them if we could switch and he replied that he would send someone up to re-make the bed. I was confused, and asked him to explain how that would work. He did, and informed me that the hotel does not have any queen size beds, all of their "big bed" rooms are two beds pushed together and made up as one. This to me is extremely cheap. whether or not this was true is another question, if it is true that is DEFINITELY not 4-star quality, if it isn't true and he was trying to get me off his back, that's potentially even ruder.

The room itself was fine. Not dirty, but not particularly nice. It seemed dingy and unfortunate compared to the lit-up and glamorous hallways/rest of the hotel. Perhaps my boyfriend and I just got screwed over with the room, but a 4-star hotel should not have any rooms of such poor quality in my opinion. The beds themselves were not comfortable and there was not even a mattress pad on them, just a sheet over the mattress.

Other issues with the room: the bathroom was a bit cramped, and the shower had only half of a glass wall, no door or curtain. So when we showered the whole bathroom got soaking wet and slippery. The blowdryer with which we were provided was probably the worst blowdryer I have seen in a hotel. It looked like a vacuum hose and barely worked.

I will say that the sheets and comforter were of decent quality. definitely felt clean.

We were charged for making a local call, (not a lot but seems a bit unnecessary to charge us for that). Additionally when we asked the hotel to reserve us a cab they did not inform us that it is the custom in Paris to pay for the driver's trip over to you. Having spent several months in Paris and never encountering this I was surprised when we got into our cab and the fare was up to 13 euros (for a 7 euro ride). So we hopped out and he went back to the hotel to get his money. This charge appeared on our bill but we asked the hotel to take care of it and they did. However I believe it would have been appropriate for them to inform us of this practice, they run a hotel filled with non-parisians so they cannot assume that we would know that this is the case.

Johann at the front desk was lovely. Aside from that we had minimal interactions with the staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timsit, General Manager at Hotel Les Jardins du Marais, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
I am sorry you were disappointed with your room.
Be aware that we have different room sizes and perhaps a reservation for a larger room would have fit you better.
Contact us at info@homeplazza.com to solve the matter and we will succeed to make you happy during your next day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA Beach, VA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This hotel has a unique set up, you enter from the street into the lobby and then go out a side door into a courtyard through which you access the small buildings that house the actual rooms. Our room was larger than a standard Paris hotel room and it had a desk, a small fridge, a sink, a coffeemaker and a microwave; all great to be able to pick up a light dinner in Paris shops to enjoy in the room. The staff was very helpful and there is a terrific little Italian restaurant on the corner. This hotel is convenient to a metro station and we would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timsit, General Manager at Hotel Les Jardins du Marais, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
I am happy you have enjoyed your stay at Les Jardins du Marais and we will be delighted to host you again during your next stay in Paris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Just a nice hotel, a little bit far from major attractions, good restaurant. Terrible view from my room, dirty carpets and old furniture but comfortable with very small pillows. Kind and efficient personnel.. 50/50 chances to return again,

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timsit, General Manager at Hotel Les Jardins du Marais, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel.
I note that you enjoyed the restaurant and the service you have received at the hotel.
Your comments will be forwarded to our House-Keeping manager to avoid future comments on the subject.
The hotel is located close to major historic site (Le Marais district, the Place des Vosges) and at 100 meters from the Metro station and you can reach Opera in 10 minutes, Place de la Concorde in 12 minutes... .
Also 2 other Metro stations on two main Metro lines are at 250 meters.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The first thing you notice is that the hotel is not actually in the Marais nor is there any sign of a garden. Au contraire, it's cramped an noisy with a busy narrow street on one side and an echoing court yard on the other. My opinion is slightly coloured by the fact that when I arrived, amid the chaos, they calmly and unapologetically told me that my confirmed reservation would not be honoured but they'd found me a room in a hotel the other side of Paris (which was unwelcome news at midnight). My colleague was luckier and got to spend the night in a pokey room in this charmless hotel but I was put in a shared taxi with other disgruntled would-be guest off to the much nicer Hotel Collectionneur Arc de Triomphe.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timsit, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Les Jardins du Marais, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
We are sorry you did not like our hotel. Your comments have been followed to the Front Desk employees.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Les Jardins du Marais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Jardins du Marais

Address: 74 rue Amelot, 75011 Paris, France (Formerly Home Plazza Bastille)
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > République
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#305 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Les Jardins du Marais 4*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Le Marais, historical and trendy district, near Place des Vosges and Bastille Opera, Les Jardins du Marais present 263 elegant rooms and suites and a beautiful private garden terrace. A real oasis of charm and tranquility in the heart of Paris. The restaurant and its beautiful terrace offer a French inspired contemporary cuisine. With its 10800 sqft of conference facilities, the hotel, with its five modular room located around the private gardens and a glass canopy, can accomodate up to 450 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Les Jardins du Marais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Jardins Du Marais Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Les Jardins du Marais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.