We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Hotel With Character” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche to your Saves list
Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   43 rue Monsieur le Prince, 75006 Paris, France (Odeon / Saint-Michel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #76 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Michigan, USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Old Hotel With Character”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2007

Stayed in March 2007. This is a typical Paris economy hotel. It's located in the 6th in a very old building; in fact, part of one wall is the Medieval wall that once surrounded the city. Typically tiny lift and stairwell and rooms. This is to be expected in a hotel of this class. We wanted a resonably-priced, well-located hotel with character and we got it. Easy (5-10 minute) walk to Luxembourg Gardens, Pantheon, Musee du Moyen-Age, Comptoir du Relais restaurant and several metro stops. Clean rooms, nice reception staff, decent European breakfast (optional). Did I mention it was reasonably-priced?
NOT for those expecting a USA-type Holiday Inn, but then you're in Paris so why would you?

  • Liked — Great location
  • Disliked — Nothing, really. It was typical for the class and price.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    171
    33
    9
    3
See reviews for
85
297
39
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2007

My wife and I have just spent 4 fantastic days in Paris to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary, we spent some considerable time prior to travel reviewing hotels in the Latin Quarter area and found quite a few comments that were off putting, that is until we came across the reviews for the Saint Paul, too good to be true? Absolutely not, this hotel is a real home from home, we had a large room on the ground floor which was quiet, very clean and comfortable and had a great shower. The staff were couteous and most helpful (not forgetting Monsieur Sputnik the cat who will visit you to check you have settled in ok!) and made us feel very welcome. The buffet breakfast, although not cheap is plentiful and will set you up for for the days sightseeing. This hotel is situated in a quiet area close to numerous restaurants and bars and is in walking distance of many of the main Paris sights, for further afield we recommend the bus service which we found very efficient and easy to find your way around the city. A word of warning, if you intend to visit the Latin Quarter in September, book early as for some reason we found a lot of hotels were full, as was the Saint Paul but fortunately (for us) they had a cancelation.There is something about this hotel that makes you feel relaxed as soon as you walk in, we have taken away some fantastic memories and thoroughly recommend it and will be definitely return in the near future.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Fl.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2007

My husband and I had booked another Hotel, but after reading the reviews we decided to look for another, We were so overwhelmed by all
the Hotels so we decided to pick an area in Paris we wanted to stay in and go from there, well after reading alot of reviews we came across the Hotel St.-Paul and decided it sounded just Wonderful, so we booked it and I must say we were still a little unsure, of our choice since its so hard to select something site unseen, but I have to say from the very first moment we set foot in the Hotel it was wonderful, its a small quaint little Hotel in a Great section of Paris, Our room faced the front and the room was a good size, and VERY CLEAN, the Bathroom was very nice and lots of HOT water, we didn't make it to the Breakfast room, but I did have the Continental Breakfast for room service and it was so nice and there was alot of items fruit, bread and cheese and yogart and wonderful coffee, and Juice. The Staff was ALWAYS very helpful and so nice, and "Sputnick" the Cat was always there to greet us, I fell in love with Paris and with this Hotel, I know you will too! I came for my 50th Birthday and
it couldn't have been more Perfact. I would love to return to Paris and when I do I will stay here again, with out a doubt. S. Flowers

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sherwood park, alberta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2007

My husband and I spent 9 nights at the Hotel St. Paul and found it to be a great hotel in a perfect location. It is charming, clean and safe with personable and helpful staff at all times. The room was spotless and we found the beds very comfortable. The bathroom was large and hot water was always readily available.
There is a computer in the lobby with free internet access and there is no charge for phone calls. Both great conveniences and money savers. The hotel is located in a great area - easy walking distance to great but not expensive restaurants, museums, gardens and shops. The Odeon metro station is only a block away which was a convenient way to get anywhere in the city. But, we also found that walking was a gret way to expereince Paris and this hotel provides a great location to access all directions easily. We found the hotel and neighborhood very quiet at night and yet only a 2-3 minute walk from the bars and restaurants that were "alive" until the early morning. There is a train agency 5 minutes away in the event you are looking to travel outside of Paris. We are Canadian and visited the Vimy Ridge memorial outside the town of Arras. Paris is full of "wow" moments but this is a day trip worth taking if you have the time. There are so many sights to see in Paris. We had full sightseeing days and most nights we would return to the hotel to change our clothes before heading out for dinner. You have to leave your large key at the front desk when leaving the hotel. This guarantees that you won't lose your key and you will always be greeted with a friendly bonjour or bonsoir.The staff always had good suggestions and proper directions. You will not be disappointed in this hotel. We will be recommneding it to our friends, although we would be more than happy to keep it our little secret!

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2007

A great hotel in a quiet (out of university term!) street, right in the centre of the Left Bank. Lovely room with air-con, small but fine bathroom and everything that was needed. Very helpful and friendly staff, who put up with my poor French and of course, the Cat, ruling the reception. Good breakfasts and next door to the Polidor, with Chartier around the corner and any number of other restaurants close. Will definitely stay again.

  • Liked — Good decor and atmosphere
  • Disliked — Small bath
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche

Address: 43 rue Monsieur le Prince, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#58 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#132 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For the last four centuries these stones have guarded the spirit of the Latin Quarter, between the Sorbonne and the Luxembourg Gardens. Many years ago Franciscan monks were lodged here...The warm decor of this hotel, steeped in tradition, its wooden beams and Haute- Epoque furnishings, the comfortable reading-room dotted with an ecological fireplace, the individual welcome accorded you, will give you the impression of being a special guest in a private residence.In each of the 31 rooms and suites of this 17th century dwelling the interior decorator has left his mark; no room resembles another. Some have four-poster beds; another has a ceiling with little twinkling lights and a Jacuzzi and, more, a still life deception. All the rooms have air-conditioning.The buffet breakfast is served in a delightful vaulted cellar containing an original well. The patio next to reception and situated on the lie of the ancient Philippe Auguste defensive wall, contains a tiny flowered garden, furnished with impressive Anduzian vases. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Paul Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.