We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Paris” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aviatic Hotel Saint Germain

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Aviatic Hotel Saint Germain to your Saves list
Aviatic Hotel Saint Germain
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   105, rue de Vaugirard | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #137 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Paris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We were recommended this hotel by a work colleague.

From the moment we checked-in we knew that the service was going to be good. We had booked three rooms for three nights for a family trip to Paris and the hotel staff had allocated us rooms next to each other on the sixth floor - very thoughtful of them and much appreciated.

The rooms we had were on the small side but seeing as we were out about most of the time it did not matter - they were spotless and had great facilities and were absolutely fine for sleeping and a little chill out time.

Breakfast is continental style but with plenty available and with things being replenished if running low. Cheese, meats, breads, croissants, pastries, fruit were all available along with a very good coffee machine. Everything seemed very fresh too.

The location is excellent. About a 30 minute gentle stroll to the Eiffel Tower for example. There is no bar in the hotel but quite a few places less than 100m away.

We will definitely go back here at some stage.

Room Tip: The street side can be a little noisy but the windows shield a lot of the noise. Higher floors prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    246
    46
    13
    8
See reviews for
101
441
45
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gillingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

The Hotel Aviatic, was ideally situated for our trip to Paris, close to sites either on foot or via the Metro, the staff were fabulous and very helpful, from the greeting, service and general advice on the area, rooms were very comfortable and tastefully decorated, the breakfast was great with a large selection and very relaxed with no rush. we will be back huge thank you.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Firstly please note there is another hotel in Paris with the same name, which has bad reviews - don't get them confused. This is the one in Saint Germain, and we would recommend it. It's location is close to several metro stations, although we spent most of our time walking - you can easily reach the river, Notre Dame, Jardin du Luxembourg, Montparnasse cemetary, Montparnasse tower, lots of beautiful churches including St Germaine des Pres and the Pantheon, the Latin Quarter, without ever setting foot in the Metro.

The hotel is on Rue de Vaugirard, which is quite busy traffic-wise, and if your room is on the front of the hotel, as ours was, there is traffic noise when you open the window. But the double glazing completely cuts out the noise, and the traffic stops pretty much, at night. The room has air con, cooling only, so even with the windows closed we kept pleasantly cool.

The room we had is called a "Tradition" room, with double bed. I assume there are some premium rooms too. It was small-ish (as usual in Paris) but not as small as some hotels I've stayed in (including in the UK). We didn't feel cramped at all. The rooms have been refurbished (some in the process during our stay), so the decor is new, bathrooms fitted out nicely, attractive wood floors, TV (with a couple of UK channels) and all very clean and well kept. As are the public areas of the hotel.

As is usual in Paris, breakfast isn't included (except in some package deals). I thought it rather expensive, at 14 Euros per person, and this is the reason I haven't given this hotel an "excellent" rating. If the breakfast had been cheaper, it would be excellent. We only ate it on one day, preferring to go out and get cheaper food the rest of the time. The breakfast was the usual European selection of breads, pastries, cold meats, cheeses, cereal, fruit salad. It was as good as any I've had in Europe.

Overall we would stay there again - it's probably the best hotel we've stayed in, in Paris (over 3 or 4 visits). We got a reasonable deal via Eurostar's website.

Room Tip: There are rooms that don't overlook the street, which will be quieter, but we enjoyed the view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Aviatic is a very nice hotel. Set on a quiet street just off the Boulevard Montparnesse and only a short walk from the fashionable Saint Germain des pres district of Paris, it's ideally situated for tourists. There are two Metro stations nearby: St Placide and Montparnasse Bienvienue, the latter being just a little closer, I think.

Our room was on the 6th (top) floor and had just been redecorated and refitted. As one would expect, it was perfectly clean and very nicely appointed. The bathroom was well equipped and the shower worked beautifully. The decor of our room was spartan (bare floors) but very tasteful and comfortable. We were lucky enough to have a room which faced the rear courtyard so it was very quiet.

Complaints? Just one. We were there on the night France changed the clocks to summer time. Having a lovely time in Paris, we completely forgot this and, as a result, missed our Eurostar train home on Sunday afternoon! I couldn't help feeling that someone on reception might have mentioned the time-change. Friends of ours who were in Paris at the same time later told us that their hotel displayed notices in prominent positions around the hotel. It would have been helpful if the staff at Aviatic had been as thoughtful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Lovely, friendly hotel ideally situated and within easy walking distance from the metro at St Placide. We had upgraded to a prestige double room which gave us a huge bed and a very good sized bathroom for our 4 night stay. The room was spotless, attended to daily and was well decorated. There was a TV and mini bar neither of which we used. The safe (free to use), was very welcome. The only things missing were tea and coffee making facilities. We tried room service breakfast on the first morning- ok if you have a small appetite and only want 1 hot drink- for 9 euros each. We had a breakfast out on morning 2 which was very good but on mornings 3 and 4, we had breakfast in the breakfast room which was excellent! Very good variety of buffet style cold continental foods, as much as you could eat and drink- well worth 14 euros which set us up for the day. Staff extremely helpful and spoke good English-no problem with checking in/out or returning late in the evenings. Could have left suitcase for the day after checking out but found there were left luggage lockers at Gare de Nord - down the escalator adjacent to platform 3- which was ideal for us. Ideal for our first visit to Paris.

Room Tip: Noise from metro until 1.00am so choose a room on upper floors if this is a problem for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara, Romania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Wonderful hotel, located near the Montparnasse Tower, where you have a beautiful view of Paris, quiet neighborhood with many restaurants and bakeries. Staff was very friendly and helped us with everything we needed, clean room with a nice design, very comfortable bed, in short everything was perfect, flawless, definitely we will come back here

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unidentified
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

This was a lovely, charming hotel on a quiet street closer to the Montparnasse end than the St Germain end. But it's a nice 15-minute walk that gets you to the 6th arrondissement.

Breakfast was not included in my room rate, but it was only 12 euros for the buffet. Or you could order it as room service for 9 euros (continental style).

I had a room on the 6th floor, which was the top floor, and I had a nice view of the city that looked more contemporary than Parisian. It was very quiet. The toilet/WC was tiny, and the shower/sink were in a separate room -- also tiny. But the room itself was nicely appointed and had some antique-y furniture (inc a book shelf with some English language books). There was a room safe and a flat-screen tv. There is free wi-fi.

Everything was clean.

The check-in service was great and fast. The receptionist was extremely friendly.

What ruined the experience was the check-out. It was a different receptionist on a Saturday morning. He knew I was waiting patiently to check out while he served a guest. Then when it was my turn, he ignored me and allowed another guest (French) to barge in to go over his room bill. This took at least ten minutes, and then when they were done, the receptionist went back to his work and ignored me again. I had to address him loudly before he looked up from his work. It was really unnecessary as the place is so charming.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms near the cleaning cupboard. There's a lot of foot traffic and you hear the staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aviatic Hotel Saint Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aviatic Hotel Saint Germain

Address: 105, rue de Vaugirard | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#94 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#108 Business Hotel in Paris
#222 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aviatic Hotel Saint Germain 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between Saint Germain des Pres and Montparnasse, the Hotel Aviatic is a chic hotel in the centre of Paris. With nineteenth century furniture, cherry and chestnut tones on the walls, marble floors and a courtyard garden, the Aviatic captures the spirit of the Left Bank in every detail. The hotel was constructed in 1856 to welcome the painters, sculptors and writers who would go on to put the Latin quarter at the very heart of European culture. This cultural heritage is present even in the bedrooms. Tastefully decorated, they generate a feeling of calm and a sensual ambiance. The charming, multilingual staff are always available to provide you with help and advice. They will be happy to offer local insight on art galleries, museums and the area’s famous pavement cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, AvailPro, Hotel.de, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Aviatic Hotel Saint Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aviatic Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aviatic Hotel Saint Germain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.