We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aviatic Hotel Saint Germain

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Aviatic Hotel Saint Germain to your Saves list
Aviatic Hotel Saint Germain
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   105, rue de Vaugirard | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #141 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Simply excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

A wonderful stay in a great location in Paris. Clean rooms, friendly staff, and nearby bars and shops are fantastic and well away from the main 'touristic' areas. Well worth trying this place - nice style and atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBourgeois, Responsable relations clients at Aviatic Hotel Saint Germain, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Moose,

Thank you so much for sharing your comments following your recent stay at Aviatic Hotel.
We were truly delighted to read how much you enjoyed the services of our staff, the cleanness of our rooms as well as the location of the hotel.

We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Sincerely,
Philippe Bourgeois
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    246
    46
    13
    8
See reviews for
100
441
45
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed at the Aviatic for 2 nights in April 2013, the staff were very friendly on reception...despite my awful attempts at French they spoke to us in English. The location is great, very close to Montparnasse metro station and the Montparnasse tower. About 30 mins walk from the Eiffel Tower too. We didn't opt to have breakfast as we were on a budget and found it to be quite expensive 14 euros for the buffet and 9 euros for breakfast in the room. We found it quite nice to walk to a patisserie near the Eiffel Tower and just buy a Croissant. on the 2nd morning we walked to the local supermarche and bought some juice and brioche and took them back to eat in the room. The room (Presitge) was a great size with a clean bathroom and separate toilet (all private - not sharing). Lovely decor, very warm and cozy...fairly quiet street but you can always close the windows and have the aircon on if noise bothers you. I slept very soundly though...probably tired from walking around beautiful Paris all day!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBourgeois, Responsable relations clients at Aviatic Hotel Saint Germain, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your nice comment on TripAdvisor. We are happy that you had a pleasant stay with us.

In the Aviatic hotel you will always find English speaking staff, but if you want to improve your French, we will also be delighted to help you.

The Breakfast price might sound expensive, but it is all quality and French flavors. It is a Breakfast Buffet for 14 Euros including hot drinks, daily and fresh juices, a selection of breads, pastries, cheeses and hams, traditional macaroons, traditional cakes and madeleines as well as yogurts and more.

A couple of Prestige rooms have the bathroom and the toilet separated in the room. It depends on the room’s shape.

Thank you very much again for this note, we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the hopefully not too distant future!
Best regards,
Philippe Bourgeois
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

What a charming hotel.

Lots of nice little touches - in the reception area free (fresh) juices and 2 carafes of wine to choose from as you return from a busy day or wait for your taxi. The breakfast room has recently been refurbished; very high standard and modern whilst keeping with the overall style of this hotel. Good breakfast table as well.

Location very good. Room was "petite" but very comfortable - great bed.

This is a charming hotel is a great location and offers good value - book in advance via their own website.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBourgeois, Responsable relations clients at Aviatic Hotel Saint Germain, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to write a so enthusiastic review about your recent stay at Aviatic Hotel.

We are very flattered that you had the Parisian stay you expected and are delighted that you enjoyed both the hotel atmosphere and the services of our staff.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back at Aviatic hotel for your next visit in Paris for another “Grande” Charming experience!
Kind regards,
Philippe Bourgeois
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I was traveling with my 15 year old daughter on her first trip to Paris. We stayed 4 nights after arriving on the Eurostar from London. We took a taxi from Gare du Nord to the hotel. The location of the hotel was very good. We were close to a few metro stops as well as it being easy to walk to many sights. One night we were walking back and I noticed it was about 9pm. I took her into the middle of Montparnasse Blvd so she could see the Eiffel Tower sparkle. The view was just around the corner from the hotel.
We had breakfast served in our room each morning except the last one. We went downstairs to the buffet for that. There are many cafes/restaurants close by but we thought it was nice to pick up the phone and have hot coffee, croissants brought to our room so we could continue relaxing. The buffet was very good.
The front desk staff is outstanding!! They patiently answered everyone's questions with a smile. They speak English very well, so I didn't have to try out my rusty high school French. They arranged for a shuttle to take us back to the airport and it arrived promptly.
I would highly recommend Hotel Aviatic because of the location and friendliness of the staff. No question or request was ever a bother to them.

Room Tip: We had room 154 and were able to open our windows onto a little balcony. It was nice to get some fre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBourgeois, Responsable relations clients at Aviatic Hotel Saint Germain, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments following your recent stay at Aviatic Hotel.

We are very flattered to be your favorite hotel in Paris and are delighted that you enjoyed the atmosphere, the location of the hotel as well as the services of our staff.
The efforts we put in making our guests feel like at home are constants; warm welcoming, be served the breakfast in the room or the intimate interior design are few examples. It’s a pleasure that we me your expectations.

So you experienced the Eiffel tower view from the Montparnasse Boulevard! This is nice to see the Tower shinning while coming back to the hotel by night.

Our staff will always be looking forward to make your next stay in Paris a memorable and an unforgettable experience.

Sincerely,
Philippe Bourgeois
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I chose this hotel based on a search on Tripadvisor and because of the location I know reasonably well having stayed there numerous times with work. I booked the room directly on the hotel website having searched for the best deal and found directly was slightly cheaper than other booking sites. The booking process was straightforward.
On arrival in Paris we headed directly to the hotel getting the Metro line 4 to Saint-Placide and taking an easy 10 minute walk to the hotel. The hotel exterior is fine but perhaps need a lick of paint around the edges but I quite liked the facade of the building. The reception is pleasantly decorated and I immediately liked the design theme of the hotel's decor and the smell of paint indicated that work was ongoing in the decorationg of the interior of the hotel. We were greeted by the staff at reception who spoke excellent English which is fortunate as my French is not that great. The check-in process was efficient and everything we needed to know was explained. We arrived at our room (217) which though small had adequate space for 2 and was very nicely decorated. It looked out into a small courtyard in the centre of the building so no view at all but then we had booked the cheapest room available. There was some noise from the lift but it was not too loud and was hardly noticable except when in bed when there was no other noise in the room.
The room was in excellent condition and very clean, with plently of hanging space, a small table airconditioning, mini bar (reasonably priced), laptop size safe and a shower room that was not too bad a size compared with some rooms I have stayed in before in Paris. Good selection of shampoo and shower gel etc. There was a small TV on the wall with numerous channels including BBC1 and BBC2 and also CNN as I recall. The breakfast (14 Euro) was fabulous, lots of choice and served in the sylishly decorated breakfast room with some fabulous wallpaper. The hotel does not have a bar but in the evening there were carafes of white and rose wine, water and orange juice for guests in reception and a small lounge to sit in while drinking them.
The location was good, right by the centre of Monparnasse with all it's restaurants, bars and hussle and bussle but off the main strip so quiet apart from the fairly low volume of traffic. All in all this is one of the best hotels I have stayed in for some while and definately the best one I have staying in within Paris. All the staff are friendly, helpful and had a smile which is very unusual for staff of hotels in some of the chains I have stayed in Paris. I hope to visit again on leisure and will certainly try to persuade my colleagues to join me there on our next business trips to Paris. I will consider staying there anyway on my next trip.

Room Tip: I higher room may offer a view and less noise from the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBourgeois, Responsable relations clients at Aviatic Hotel Saint Germain, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Marty,
Thank you so much for posting this wonderful review on Trip Advisor.

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. You did well in booking your stay directly in our website. It’s true that in our case, the best rates available are there. We are pleased that the interior decoration of the hotel and the room were of your taste.

As an independent and family run hotel, the efforts we put in making our guests feel like at home are constants; warm welcoming, a high quality product selection for welcoming kits (Sampar brand), renovated rooms, intimate interior design and a fabulous breakfast buffet are few examples.

Our staff will always be looking forward to make your next stay in Paris a memorable and an unforgettable experience, for leisure or for work.

All our best regards,
Philippe Bourgeois
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The location of this hotel makes for easy access to the major attractions. It’s officially in the 6th but positioned for easy walking access to the 5th, 7th and the 14th districts. The Montparnasse and St Placide metro stations are only a couple of blocks away, but we strolled to most places.

The service was stellar and is what makes this hotel stand out for us! They are always ready to help with reservations or recommendations and made our airport transportation easy and reasonable! The room was laid out well and kept very clean, and the breakfast buffet was well stocked and fresh.
We would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We were in the back and it was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBourgeois, Responsable relations clients at Aviatic Hotel Saint Germain, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Mike,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Aviatic hotel and posting this wonderful review on Trip Advisor.
I am delighted to learn that you truly enjoyed your stay with us and that the services of our team members did meet your expectations.

Thank you again for recommending us.
We sincerely hope to welcome you back at Aviatic hotel for your next visit in Paris so as to make it “Stellar”.
Best regards from all the staff members
Philippe Bourgeois
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Elegant quiet hotel off the main boulevards. Plenty of Metro stations within walking distance, with the nearest (Montparnasse Bienvenue) about 300m. It is also perfectly feasible to stroll to the Seine in 25/30 minutes.

The breakfast here looked lovely, though we did not eat here, as we prefer to explore the local cafés, of which there are plenty to choose from.

Lovely sized bedroom with ensuite bathroom. I love a good powerful and hot shower and this did not disappoint.
Only one small quibble was that we had two single beds pushed together which were made up as a double. A double bed would have been preferable, but it was really no big deal, as the singles were quite big.

The mini bar contents were reasonably priced.

Staff were friendly, efficient and helpful and all spoke fluent English, despite my efforts at speaking French.

Bedrooms were immaculately cleaned and beds beautifully made up every day.

This was my first visit to Hotel Aviatic and I would definitely use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Specify a pukka double bed if you have any concerns.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBourgeois, Responsable relations clients at Aviatic Hotel Saint Germain, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Martin,
Thank you very much for taking time to write a so enthusiastic review about your recent stay at Aviatic Hotel.

We are very flattered that your first stay at Aviatic was a success and are delighted that you enjoyed both the hotel atmosphere and the services of our staff.

It’s a shame that you didn’t try our Breakfast buffet; however, we can see that you actually discovered a lot from Paris and the hotel surroundings and that’s the most important!

The Prestige room you stayed in had 2 single beds, pretty large each ones. Once pushed together, fixed and well arranged, this makes the largest double beds we can propose.

I will be delighted to share your kind comments with my team.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back at Aviatic hotel.
Sincerely,
Philippe Bourgeois
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aviatic Hotel Saint Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aviatic Hotel Saint Germain

Address: 105, rue de Vaugirard | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#93 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#108 Business Hotel in Paris
#239 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aviatic Hotel Saint Germain 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between Saint Germain des Pres and Montparnasse, the Hotel Aviatic is a chic hotel in the centre of Paris. With nineteenth century furniture, cherry and chestnut tones on the walls, marble floors and a courtyard garden, the Aviatic captures the spirit of the Left Bank in every detail. The hotel was constructed in 1856 to welcome the painters, sculptors and writers who would go on to put the Latin quarter at the very heart of European culture. This cultural heritage is present even in the bedrooms. Tastefully decorated, they generate a feeling of calm and a sensual ambiance. The charming, multilingual staff are always available to provide you with help and advice. They will be happy to offer local insight on art galleries, museums and the area’s famous pavement cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, AvailPro, Hotel.de, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Aviatic Hotel Saint Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aviatic Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aviatic Hotel Saint Germain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.