We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleased” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aviatic Hotel Saint Germain

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Aviatic Hotel Saint Germain to your Saves list
Aviatic Hotel Saint Germain
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   105, rue de Vaugirard | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #139 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pleased”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The staff was wonderful! They were extremely helpful and attentive to our needs. We were traveling with a toddler and the hotel and staff eased our anxieties. The rooms were clean, quiet, and modern. We would definitely stay ere again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBourgeois, Responsable relations clients at Aviatic Hotel Saint Germain, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Tara,

Thank you so much for sharing your comments following your recent stay at Aviatic Hotel.
We are pleased that our efforts in making your stay unforgettable were worthy! Make you feel at home is what we aspire to.

Our staff will always be looking forward to welcome all of you again.
Sincerely,
P. Bourgeois
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    246
    46
    13
    8
See reviews for
101
441
45
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for our first time in Paris and our second anniversary. We decided to skimp on the hotel in Paris since we had other cities we were planning on visiting and the hotels in Paris tend to be super expensive. I wasn't sure what to expect but hoped for the best. I knew it wasn't going to be a luxury hotel, but I thought it would be better than this. The elevator was so tiny, we could barely fit us and our suitcases. The first word that comes to mind when I first saw our room was "gross"! It was awful and awfully small ( I know the norm for Paris), but still. The bed was very tiny and a double at best with a hideous comforter and small flat pillows. The minibar fridge smelled horrible and after further investigation and not being able to take the smell anymore, I found an old, dried-up spill of something crusty and rotten. Since it was late and we were tired, I just cleaned it out myself, nasty. The shower was a hand-held shower head that you could hook onto the clip, but it was too short and the it wouldn't face where you needed it. It faced directly at the half a shower partition that had an opening at the bottom so the whole bathroom floor got soaked every time you showered. Also, the hot water knob kept falling off. The T.V. was on a shelf that partially blocked the view for the person on the left of the bed. This hotel is old and creaky and you hear every single move anybody above you or out in the hall makes, so forget sleeping in. It seems like you are in an old creepy house and I could not wait to get out of that place each day and dreaded returning each night. I did not try the food here, so I cannot say whether it was good or bad. I will say that the location of this hotel is great, we were able to find tons of bars, restaurants, and shops a very short walk away. We were just down the rode from a wonderful view of the Eiffel Tower from the main road. We were able to walk to most attractions, about thirty to forty-five minute walks, but the weather and walks were beautiful. The staff was friendly and helpful and everyone spoke perfect English. I would definitely suggest paying a little more for a better hotel in this area, there was a Holiday Inn a half a block away that looked much nicer.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBourgeois, Responsable relations clients at Aviatic Hotel Saint Germain, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Madam,

Thank you for staying at the Aviatic hotel and for having taken the time to share your remarks with us.

It is with great regret we learn that your stay didn’t fit to your expectations.
According to Paris standards our elevator is not especially small, two persons and two luggages can fit in.

About the room size, we understand that you have probably been hosted in hotels that have bigger room. However, besides of the old building constraints, our rooms Prestige dimensions are between 18 and 20m² which is a the standard dimensions for a 3 stars hotel room situated in this area of Paris. Additionally, two extra pillows are available in each room to give more comfort to our guests. We take good note of your comment according to the TV position but it is the first time a guest complains about.

The housekeeper has been immediately advised about the Minibar fridge experience you had. We talked to all the staff and looked in our logbook but couldn’t find any trace of this unpleasant incident.

We feel very sorry about this and we were wondering if you informed the reception desk during your stay about your experience here. In the case you didn’t, it’s a shame because we could have offered you to visit another room. We also would have liked to notice with you this mini bar smell you mention the day you arrived, or at least the day after.

On a better note, we are glad to read that you appreciated our staff’s welcoming and skills and that the hotel situation was pleasant to you.

We do apologize and we are truly disappointed that we failed to provide you with an experience you expected.

If I can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me personally at welcome@aviatichotel.com

Yours sincerely,
P. Bourgeois In-House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Hotel Aviatic is a beautifull appointed hotel. From the moment you enter the lobby, and you notice the salon on your left and the breakfast room in your right you know that you are in a hotel of a high standard. We stayed in two separate rooms as we had two bookings, and both were extremely well decorated, with very comfortable beds. A pleasant surprise was the effectiveness of the A/C, as it was quite warm outside. The breakfast was great, and the staff was exceptional. The location allows you a great range of options in terms of restaurants and shops - the Sevres/Bon Marche area, Saint-Germain, Luxembourg, and Montparnasse - all within easy walking distance. Great hotel, great presentation and great location!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBourgeois, Responsable relations clients at Aviatic Hotel Saint Germain, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for posting this wonderful review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to learn that you truly enjoyed your stay with us and that the services of our team members did meet your expectations.

The location of the Aviatic Hotel, close to the main places in Saint Germain district, is indeed a real advantage for our guests. Anyone who likes to have such a range of shops and restaurants of quality at walking distance enjoy the Aviatic location.

We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Aviatic hotel and remain at your entire disposal for any further assistance you might need.

Yours sincerely,
Philippe Bourgeois
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed here for one night at the end of August. The room was massive and had a very nice large bathroom with all the facilities we needed. The wardrobe space was large and we had more storage space in the room as we had a large desk. The service of the hotel staff was fantastic, our welcome was great, we were let in to the room two hours earlier than we should have been! The hotel is conveniently located for all our needs, being just a short walk from two main metro stations and a short walk to shopping destinations. The express breakfast was great value for money and was served in out room. The overall feel of the hotel was amazing and the 'happy hour' was a nice touch, which was free drinks served in the lobby.We also had a great nights sleep with no sound from the traffic nearby. For the price we paid the hotel was fantastic and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBourgeois, Responsable relations clients at Aviatic Hotel Saint Germain, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Jan,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at Aviatic Hotel.

We have been delighted to share it with the entire team who strives every day to provide you with the highest standards. It’s a great satisfaction for us to see that our guests truly appreciate to stay in our establishment.

Thank you again for taking time to write this review.
We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back!

Yours sincerely,
P. Bourgeois.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This hotel is charming and has lots of nice, individual touches. The staff are helpful and friendly. The rooms are comfortable, clean and quiet. We payed a little extra for a "prestige" room, which was quite large by Parisian standards. It was well-priced and in a reasonably good location. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBourgeois, Responsable relations clients at Aviatic Hotel Saint Germain, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Alan,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to leave your impressions of your stay at Aviatic Hotel.

It was a pleasure to read that you were overall satisfied with our services and enjoyed your stay with us. Your enthusiasm for our hotel and especially for our staff is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation for the entire team.

We are looking forward to welcome you back on your next visit!


Yours sincerely,
Philippe Bourgeois
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We found this little gem by way of Tripadvisor search. It is a great little hotel that deserves another stay should we ever find ourselves in Paris again. It is located in a great location, a two min walk away from a large Metro station that has multiple trains stopping there. It is also with a 20 min walk away from the Ecole Militaire, shorter if you wish to take one of the Valib bikes. This also means that the Eiffel Tower is just within stone throw on the other side.

The room itself was small, same as most Parisian rooms unless you wanted to step up in price range. The bathroom was large considering the size comparison to the bedroom itself. Everything was clean, tidy, appointed well and appeared new. The service at the front desk was excellent, with the staff helping from food recommendations to travel requirements.

The is a breakfast buffet for $14 Euros or an express breakfast that you can have sent up to your room.

Watch the pricing. We booked online with their own website which gave us a huge 50% discount which essentially put them in the range in comparison to other hotels of this nature. Which leads me to think if you pay the rack rate, you may be over paying for the value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBourgeois, Responsable relations clients at Aviatic Hotel Saint Germain, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Henry,

Thank you so much for posting this wonderful review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to learn that you truly enjoyed your stay with us and that the services of our team members did meet your expectations. Besides the small rooms’ size standard in Paris, the Aviatic hotel works out well. We also benefit from a splendid smiling and self-willed team that makes anybody’s stay unforgettable.

Regarding the Rack rate, it’s an indicator of the highest rate that can be applied; it’s also the rate with the most flexible policies. You’re right, booking through our own website or contact us by e-mail (welcome@aviatichotel.com) is the easiest way to get the “best price guarantee”.

We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Aviatic Hotel, I remain at your entire disposal for any further assistance you might need.

Yours sincerely,
P. Bourgeois,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Characterful, clean and friendly, very close to Montparnasse station, lots of restaurants nearby, quiet and comfortable, good bathroom and very reasonably priced. Helpful staff, good breakfast, I will be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBourgeois, Responsable relations clients at Aviatic Hotel Saint Germain, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your comments following your recent stay at Aviatic Hotel.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the hopefully not too distant future!

Sincerely,
P. Bourgeois
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aviatic Hotel Saint Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aviatic Hotel Saint Germain

Address: 105, rue de Vaugirard | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#93 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#109 Business Hotel in Paris
#226 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aviatic Hotel Saint Germain 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between Saint Germain des Pres and Montparnasse, the Hotel Aviatic is a chic hotel in the centre of Paris. With nineteenth century furniture, cherry and chestnut tones on the walls, marble floors and a courtyard garden, the Aviatic captures the spirit of the Left Bank in every detail. The hotel was constructed in 1856 to welcome the painters, sculptors and writers who would go on to put the Latin quarter at the very heart of European culture. This cultural heritage is present even in the bedrooms. Tastefully decorated, they generate a feeling of calm and a sensual ambiance. The charming, multilingual staff are always available to provide you with help and advice. They will be happy to offer local insight on art galleries, museums and the area’s famous pavement cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, AvailPro, Hotel.de, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Aviatic Hotel Saint Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aviatic Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aviatic Hotel Saint Germain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.