We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, way below their standard” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lutetia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Lutetia to your Saves list
Hotel Lutetia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 Boulevard Raspail | Hotel Closed for 3 year renovation that started April 2014, 75006 Paris, France (Saint-Germain-des-Pres)   |  
Hotel amenities
Lutry, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, way below their standard”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We booked the hotel through a French internet-site called voyageprive.com. I had booked two rooms for my family which were supposed to be superior rooms – in all honesty I don’t know what there was supposed to be superior in those rooms. First the rooms where to the street side; luckily in Paris traffic was strongly diminished due to pollution. Secondly, the rooms had seen several renovations, and you could identify any single of them – I would not have paid a single penny for that work. Thirdly, the bath-room in the room of my daughters was full of hair all over which got noticed by my girl, who herself is not the most orderly one. And even after having complained, it still was not much better.
Then in our package we had the breakfast included. One must admit, there was a nice choice of stuff, but the waiters and waitresses were not very helpful. When asking if there is some more of a certain product they told that it Is all there is….no smile, no politeness, no nothing…I do expect much more of such a hotel in the center of Paris. The location of the hotel is simply excellent.
We also had a voucher of 15% on all consumption within the hotel and its restaurants and bars. When I ordered something to drink before leaving to dinner I presented my voucher, but the deduction had not been processed. AS it was one drink only I did not bother to claim, but I should not have even to control these things in such a place.
My children had the second evening dinner at the hotel’s Brasserie – food and service were here as well but only mediocre.
All in all, a disappointing experience, and all of us were convinced that the hotel could do so much more with a little smile and the little extra in service here and there – the options are there it lacks the permutation.

Room Tip: If the rooms we booked are superior rooms, then in all honesty, you should even choose a higher qual...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    289
    131
    80
    61
See reviews for
154
357
41
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We have stayed at the Lutetia several times and always were very happy with our stay. The rooms are in need of a facelift and I am happy to see this is being done. We are returning to Paris in Oct and were very disappointed that we would not be able to return to the Lutetia. The location is the best and we have always been treated very well. It is still a beautiful Hotel. We look forward to returning after the renovation
The date of our most recent stay is not correct as there was no option for our actual stay

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Stayed here the night Ireland won the 6 nations!!

Nice hotel in central location. We did need to change rooms as the first room offered was very smoky and we had reserved a no-smoking room. Other than this, the room was great, location great close to metro and shops. (The rooms are spacious compared to other hotels in paris)

Bar service and breakfast were good.

Room Tip: If you do not smoke - be sure to ask for non-smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

They are going to do a renovation of the Hotel.... but is this a good reason for the bad service?
We had a great room (Junior Suite) - Nr. 211 - which we liked very much.
We also liked the location, rive gauche, nice and a small park on the front.
BUT: lazy service, inefficient Concierge, minibar counting wrong (they wanted to charge us for three Chardonnays - we didn't drink one!), room maids forgot to take away dirty coffee cups, concierge didn't call back for a promised restaurant's reservation..... very unpleasant for a 4stars Hotel!!!!!
They didn't heat the room, we had to ask for it...
Small Room Service Card...

Room Tip: 211 a good Junior Suite, 235 terrible!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

The Lutetia, a land-mark in Paris with a splendid location on the Left Bank is closing for three years of renovation. The management should have done so much earlier. In truth, the rooms are downright shabby. Nevertheless I had a great time. Reception staff were very friendly, housekeeping was attentive, breakfast was lovely, and the hotel's public rooms, all now heritage icons, fun to behold.

But, note to the Concorde group of hotels: you let this one run down so far that you have probably, as a chain, sustained considerable reputational damage, my own positive sentiments notwithstanding. Talk among many other guests suggested considerable puzzlement and disappointment at the degraded state of the guest floors.

Room Tip: Rooms overlook the street are best, indeed they have truly lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

The Lutetia, which is a landmark in Paris, will close in April for a few years of much needed remodeling, so this review is more or less irrelevant except for those looking to stay there over the next two months. In fact, the prices are very reasonable until the hotel actually closes it's doors. The Lutetia is a historic landmark in Paris and over the years I have often come to the bar for drinks before dinner in St. Germain, which is close by. However, the rooms are really old and it is a good thing the hotel will be redone. That said, the rooms are perfectly adequate and at the current price point probably a good choice. The bathrooms were remodeled a few years ago so are fairly nice and the beds are very comfortable. The rooms are small and the carpeting is old. The TV, which is a minuscule affair, sits on top of a minibar, which is a free standing small fridge. It was necessary to climb over the desk to get to one half of the closet. However, the Lutetia is very well located - across the street from the Bon Marché and only a 10 minute walk to St. Germain-des-Prés. I would say that if you can get a 5 star for the same price - go for the 5 star hotel. But, while the rooms are a bit worn, they are comfortable enough, and it's a great opportunity to stay at this historic hotel before it closes.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JLCousty, Directeur général at Hotel Lutetia, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Bagherailcane,

Thank you very much for choosing the Hotel Lutetia and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We hope to welcome you back very soon,

Best regards,

Jean-Luc Cousty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

The standard rooms are very small (see local hotels in Tokyo). We paid an extra €50/ night to upgrade to what I consider a normal room. Service was good, the ballroom was extremely loud. If you are there when an event takes place make sure they put you on the other side of the hotel. It is convenient to the Tube and other areas.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JLCousty, Directeur général at Hotel Lutetia, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Gary B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We would like to apologize for the inconveniences caused by the noise in the ballroom. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in better conditions.

Best regards,

Jean-Luc Cousty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lutetia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lutetia

Address: 45 Boulevard Raspail | Hotel Closed for 3 year renovation that started April 2014, 75006 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#400 Luxury Hotel in
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lutetia 4*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splendia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Lutetia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lutecia Paris
Lutetia Hotel
Paris Lutetia
Paris Hotel Lutetia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lutetia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.