We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay far away - especially on New Year's Eve” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lutetia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Lutetia to your Saves list
Hotel Lutetia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 Boulevard Raspail | Hotel Closed for 3 year renovation that started April 2014, 75006 Paris, France (Saint-Germain-des-Pres)   |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Stay far away - especially on New Year's Eve”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I rarely write reviews but was so immensely disappointed (understatement) at the 'gala' new year's eve event on December 31, 2013 at Hotel Lutetia, that I am making an exception. We are not new to this hotel, we stayed for two weeks in 2010 and bought tickets for the new years event. The hotel was celebrating its 100th anniversary and the rooms were in need of renovation. As it was the 100th anniversary, the new years event was really good - even at a whopping price of 320 euros each plus heftily priced drinks. We stayed for two weeks in 2011, largely due to the location close to friends who live in Paris. New Years event was again expensive but a far cry from the year before. Our room was shabby. We rented an apartment in 2013 but wanted to entertain our friends for new years and chose Hotel Lutetia. What a fiasco. The bar staff were on strike but the hotel management did not have the decency to offer us a refund and to make other arrangements. We found out upon arrival when it was too late to make other arrangements. 320 euros each for a meal I would rate 3 out of 5 and sullen service that I would rate 1 out of five. We appreciate that a bar strike is somewhat out of the control of the hotel management but the unapologetic nature of the staff who were working was unforgivable. After dinner we went to a nearly empty lounge where the 'gala' promised to us was to occur. We were promised a dance band, hats and noise makers, and a festive welcome to the new year. We got a jazz band who did not even count down at midnight. We only knew it was midnight because we noticed some patrons had stood up to kiss. None of what was promised, and not even a glass of champagne. The attitude of this hotel and of the concorde hotel chain is inexcusable. I sent emails to both Juliette Chaize at the hotel and to concorde hotel chain management. No response. Nada. No sense of customer service. Never again and I heartily suggest that anyone reading this and considering any stay, meal, or event at Hotel Lutetia think twice. Stay far, far away from this dump and their terrible 'service'.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JLCousty, Directeur général at Hotel Lutetia, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Peter W,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. We would like to apologize for the unpleasant encounters you had with the work stoppage and the inconvenience caused. We already reported your various comments to the managers concerned.

Best regards,

Jean-Luc Cousty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    289
    131
    80
    61
See reviews for
154
357
41
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

I visit Paris quite often, and would normally have stayed at another hotel, but I was speaking at a conference that was held here. This hotel reminds me of the hotel in "The Shining". Creepy corridors, rooms well overdue for a facelift, creaky elevator - it just lacked photos on the walls of days gone by with Jack staring out. My room - unique for the corridor - had a hollow door that opened out and made me feel unsafe. The furnishings were old, the walls and paint in the room were chipped and scratched, and the bathroom was dingy. I ordered room service for breakfast two days in a row - both days the order was late and not correct. The second day, it was so late that I never got to eat it! The conference room was fine, but the food served was shameful considering we were on French soil. I complained to the front desk about the room service and the state of the room, but received a lukewarm acknowledgement that "not all rooms are modern". The only bright spot in this whole hotel is the concierge and bell staff - extremely helpful and responsive. I can't imagine ever staying here again - there are so many better choices in Paris.

Room Tip: Stay someplace else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JLCousty, Directeur général at Hotel Lutetia, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear americantravelgirl,

Thank you for your comments about your last stay. We are deeply sorry that we didn't meet your expectations. We took good notes of all your remarks and shared it with the different heads of departments.

Best regards,

Jean-Luc Cousty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Our stay at the Letetia could't have been better. Recommended by a friend we couldn't have been happier with our choice. The breakfasts were excellent and the concierge staff was exceptional. If a request needed some time to schedule the next concierge on duty was handling it without any prompting. We were on the 7th floor with a view of the Eiffel Tower. The room wasn't large but it was functional. and the tremendous view made the room special. We did quite a bit of walking and the Hotels' central location on the Left bank made nearly every major landmark accessible.Many thanks to Nicolas and Jean-Marie for making our stay a most memorable one.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JLCousty, Directeur général at Hotel Lutetia, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear MJP2014,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review regarding your last stay at the Hotel Lutetia. We are really happy to know that you enjoyed the Hotel and its location.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon,

Best regards,

Jean-Luc Cousty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We had a lovely stay, glamorous hotel entry, large sized rooms, and view of Eiffel Tower. The buffet breakfasts as above average, and staff all friendly .This hotel breathes history and style, don't expect a Sterile Hilton experience,

Room Tip: Ask for Eiffel Tower view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JLCousty, Directeur général at Hotel Lutetia, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Flyby111,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post on Tripadvisor this very nice feedback about your recent stay at the Hotel Lutetia. We are looking forward to welcoming you back, and wish you all the best for 2014!

Kind regards,

Jean-Luc Cousty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

It is great to stay at a hotel that is not your typical Sheraton/Hyatt/Hilton/Radisson! Lutetia has a distinct Parisian feeling and I do hope that this quality will not disappear when the hotel will go through its major (and TBH much needed) renovation later this year!
The lobby is great if you need to work - free WiFi, no background music and easy to find a quiet spot.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JLCousty, Directeur général at Hotel Lutetia, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear TheNomisFamily,

Thank you very much for taking time to write this kind review about your recent stay at the Hotel Lutetia. We wish you all the best for 2014, and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Jean-Luc Cousty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

The exterior and public rooms of this hotel are glorious and take you back to an age of glamour but unfortunately that is where it ends. Our room was as bland as is possible with magnolia painted walls and not even a hint of the era of the hotel in any of the decoration. The bathroom was tiny and basic.
The breakfast was extortionately priced and therefore we ate out in a local café where a café and croissant for two is less than 25% of the price.
We were very disappointed with this one and wouldn't return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JLCousty, Directeur général at Hotel Lutetia, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Sarah_London547,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your last visit and we are sorry to read that it did not meet your expectations.

We wish you a prosperous and a happy New Year 2014.

Best regards,

Jean-Luc Cousty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

My wife and i shared our anniversary and Christmas at the hotel. The staff were outstanding the room with a view of the Eiffel Toweer was very comfortable. The brekfast busffet was terrific. in all it was a great stay made even better by a warm and welcoming staff. They were top notch in every department. A beautiful and grand hotel with a warmth and ambience of another era.

Room Tip: ASk for a junor suite with a view of the Eiffel Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JLCousty, Directeur général at Hotel Lutetia, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Bruce10215,

Thank you for sharing such a wonderful review of your stay with us here on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to read that we had made your stay such an enjoyable one.

Best wishes for 2014 and kindest regards,

Jean-Luc Cousty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lutetia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lutetia

Address: 45 Boulevard Raspail | Hotel Closed for 3 year renovation that started April 2014, 75006 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#401 Luxury Hotel in
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lutetia 4*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splendia, Amex and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Lutetia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lutecia Paris
Lutetia Hotel
Paris Lutetia
Paris Hotel Lutetia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lutetia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.