We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous Hotel, best place to stay on Left Bank” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lutetia Paris

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Lutetia Paris to your Saves list
Hotel Lutetia Paris
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 boulevard Raspail | 6th Arr.; Saint-Germain-des-Prés, 75006 Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #689 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
new york
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“fabulous Hotel, best place to stay on Left Bank”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

The Hotel Lutetia offers a very special Parisian Experience, it is close to Jardin Luxembourg, the Seine River and St Germain and St Sulpice. The Hotel offers all amenities of a 4star plus hotel. The room size is very comfortable and the bathrooms are larger than you would expect for a Hotel on the left bank. The Hotel has a nice Jazz entertainment program and the restaurants offer all the fabulous food you expect in Paris. I very much recommend this Hotel, I have been a guest for over 20 years and have never been disapointed .The reception staff is very friendly and their english language skills are very good, even the concierge is helpful and kind.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FX-Schoeffer, Manager at Hotel Lutetia Paris, responded to this review, April 28, 2011
Dear chrisgrobe,
thank you for sharing your experience at the Lutetia and also for your constant patronage.
we look forward to your next visit and will share your gentle words with the reception team.
Best,
Francois-X. Schoeffer
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    286
    132
    80
    60
See reviews for
149
358
42
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queretaro, Mexico
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

Not only a monumental architecture, a sober and chic decor, with a magnificiant location... need to say no more. I recommend.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith NSW
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

We stayed here as part of an APT European River Cruise add-on. It had not been my preferred choice but I am so glad that this is where we stayed. It was VERY luxurious, the service was excellent, the rooms were very comfortable and the location was outstanding - just an easy 10 minute walk to the River Seine adjacent to the Musee D'Orsay.
There were excellent restaurants close by and the Sevres Babylon metro station was a 5 minute walk away.

Room Tip: Luxury - and a great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

This is my first trip to Paris and the money spent on this hotel is well worth it. The Metro station is across the street, we never used taxis, mostly walked or took the Metro. Saw all the major sights and museums. The Grand Epicerie at La Bon Marche store also across the street has the best ready to eat foods, bread and cheese, all under one roof. We ate from there a lot!

Room Tip: Book early about 2 to 3 months ahead
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

Am returning next month Recommended left bank location near st germane far from the maddening right bank shopping scene. Nice staff great spacious mini suite

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

This was our second stay in the Lutetia, our first in October 2007, was a wonderful experience, but the five nights this time (April 2-7, 2011) were very disappointing. On our first evening my wife's bedside light didn't work, neither could we lock our door. We called guest relations, then called again 40 minutes later, as the promised repairperson hadn't arrived. Sometime later a uniformed porter arrived, looked at the light and said it can't be fixed. I think I should say, so that there can be no misunderstanding, that my wife is French, so nothing was lost in translation. We asked for another lamp, and he returned a half hour later with a temporary table lamp. needless to say he could not fix the lock, but would send a technician the following day to repair both. No one came during the five days, I did call a couple of times, but there was no answer, so we gave up. We so enjoy paying $400 per night to prop a chair against the door at night to lock it! On one of the mornings, the buffet breakfast served in the restaurant at best could be described as vaguely organized chaos. We ate once in the hotel Brasserie, waited an hour for our main course, and our server appeared to be more interested in listening to similar complaints from the next table. So much so, that when our main course arrived she had forgotten to remove the empty hors d'oeuvre plates, and actually waited for us to hold them while she served us! I tried to ask directions from the concierge, but he was on the telephone, and preferred to ignore me. We had requested a quiet room and were given one on the second floor, right above the hotel garbage exit, absolutely horrible noise at 6.00 am. The hotel offers free WiFi which disconnects after a few minutes of inactivity, and one must reconnect several times a day. We feel the hotel has deteriorated since our last visit, and we were very disappointed with our stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

If you want to stay on the Left Bank in Paris, Hotel Lutetia has the best location. Without using taxi's or the Metro, we were able to walk everywhere: to the Eiffel tower, Les Invalides, Orsay Museum, the Park and Museum of the Luxembourg, the lovely streets of the Latin Quarter, Boulevard Saint Germain…

The hotel itself is celebrating its hundredth birthday, but is still a grand old lady. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a Junior Suite, which had a view of a large court, which was very quiet (we could even leave the window open at night, without hearing any noise). We had a sitting room with a comfortable sofa and two easy chairs, bedroom with a King size bed, bathroom with bath and separate shower cubicle (with power shower!), WC (with wash basin) in a separate room, big walk-in closet. The rooms were very tastefully decorated, with original artwork on the walls. Nice touch: on the coffee table in the sitting room there was a pile of new, recent magazines. And because Lutetia was celebrating its birthday, a bottle of wine, and a box of lovely patisseries were put in our room. There were only two minuses: the bed was hard, and we could have done with more lighting in the sitting room.

The hotel has a Michelin starred restaurant, where we did not go this time, and also a brasserie, where we went two times. Great atmosphere, friendly staff, good food, especially the seafood. The daily changing menu (on the blackboard) is good value. We liked the fact that so many French speaking people were having lunch or dinner there, not only tourists.

The lobby and the breakfast room are beautifully decorated. The breakfast buffet is better than in many hotels of this class, especially the home made cakes (clafoutis?). We were very happy to find that there was no background music in the breakfast room!

Staff were friendly and efficient. There were not always enough doormen, though, and some guests were having quite a struggle getting themselves and their luggage through the revolving entrance doors (it looked like an old Tati movie..) Maybe Lutetia should give itself a new entrance as a birthday present.

To sum up: this is a great hotel in a great location, and we were very happy to have stayed here.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lutetia Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lutetia Paris

Address: 45 boulevard Raspail | 6th Arr.; Saint-Germain-des-Prés, 75006 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#64 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#294 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#500 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lutetia Paris 4*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Lutetia Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lutecia Paris
Lutetia Hotel
Paris Lutetia
Paris Hotel Lutetia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lutetia Paris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.