We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 4 Star Hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Normandy Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Normandy Hotel to your Saves list
Normandy Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 rue de l'Echelle, 75001 Paris, France (Louvre / Place Vendôme)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,506 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Bethesda, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not a 4 Star Hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

I was taken by the hotel's location and allegedly 4 star rating. The location is great, but the hotel is in disrepair. The lobby and stairway carpeting is old and worn. The door to our room was fractured as if someone had broken in, with little sense of safety. The room accommodations were worn and old. The TV was small, without CNN. The minibar was empty. The bathroom, while ample, had a vide without faucets, inoperational. The sinks had faucets worn by abrasive cleaners. Tiles were cracked. The large window to the the side street was old with chipping paint. I wonder who rates the stars in France, they need to look at thsi hotel and rate it again! Very dissappointing.
http://www.hotel-normandy.com/fr/page/accueil.4.html

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelationshdpgrp, Responsable relations clients at Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Manuel,

Thank you very much for your time in writing your feedback from your last stay with us.

Guest feedbacks are valuable to us to improve and make the Normandy hotel a hassle free place.

We are continuously assisting the hotel on light refurbishment to make it a better place day after day.

Best regards.

The Normandy Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    143
    131
    135
    223
See reviews for
104
211
53
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Great location, perfect for Fashion Week. Staff very attentive to the Fashion crowd. Bed was very comfortable and can get all the major US news channels as well. Book early to get a good price and act more European than American. It goes a long way.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelationshdpgrp, Responsable relations clients at Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

What a wonderful review about your stay, thank you!

We also would like to thank you for choosing our property. It is a real pleasure to know that you enjoyed the hotel and your stay.

We are also very pleased to know that you liked your room and we have well-noted your remark concerning the location.

We would be more than happy to welcome you back very soon.

With our best regards,

Normandy Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

The room we were initially given was what you'd expect in staff quarters, we were so disappointed. (Mouldy shower, dirty headboard, chipped paint & tiles with a very old quality of decor) However when we asked for a different room, the staff were very obliging & showed us 2 other rooms. 1 which they suggested was a superior room & was more money! The superior room was what we would have expected to be standard so we chose this one, which they didn't charge us extra for.
All in all, after the initial shock, this was a pleasant stay, the breakfast was good, the staff very helpful & courteous. My partner booked this trip as a surprise for me & didn't use trip advisor! I've now read the reviews & can see why they are mixed. My personal recommendation to this hotel would be rent out your best rooms first, this will improve your status on here! (Why were we given one of the worst rooms in your hotel when you had others empty? It doesn't make any sense!) Shut off your worst rooms & give them the facelift they require and actually you'll have a good quality hotel.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelationshdpgrp, Responsable relations clients at Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Nadine,

Thank you very much for your precious comment. We are very pleased to see our dedicated team has found a solution to contribute to your lovely weekend in Paris.

We will be pleased to welcome you again in a future stay.

Best regards,

The Normandy Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Is this hotel actually for real??? Four stars? Hmmm, how can I put it? Lie, lie, lie!
I was sent to this hotel for a business trip.
Only positive point, as several travellers have pointed out, is the location. It is really great.
But it also means it is noisy, and without double glazing it's not a great place to be (thanks for waking me up at 6am mr binmen...).
The hotel could be really charming as it is set in a beautiful building. It could be modernised while keeping its charm. Its owners have obviously no interest in investing any money whatsoever. And on the spot rates starting at EUR350 a night, you wonder where the money goes...
It certainly does not go to their staff's salary. These people have got no training whatsoever. Rude and useless, sorry guys, but you were bad. The only person saying hello was one of the housekeepers who I saw a couple of times during my three-night stay. She seemed rather cheerful.
Breakfast is ok, it could be a lot worse.
Random list of things that are "wrong" for a four star hotel:
* no hair dryer in the bedroom and only one spare in reception or so it seems, I am still waiting for it...
* small single beds in a single room, do these still exist???
* no duvet but a traditional blanket stuck in between two hospital bed type white sheets
* tv with bad reception
* leaking tap in the bathroom
Oh well, at least I didn't have to pay for it. Poor foreign tourists... I live abroad but am French and can't imagine how the foreigners must be treated or what opinion they have of my beautiful country.
You Normandy Hotel people, you are ruining the Paris dream, by lack of interest in the job you do. Just think or a second you are France's ambassadors, and we need to keep it as a top tourist destination!

Room Tip: Ask for a real bed and a room with hair dryer (apparently there are some...) and at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelationshdpgrp, Responsable relations clients at Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very sorry that the Normandy Hotel did not met your expectations, as you have noticed, our hotel is charming and perfectly located but old, we try every day to do our best to bearing at these uncomfortable situations...

We are aware of our weaknesses but a total renovation is planned in the near future.
Best regards,

The Direction - Normandy Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Very near the Louvre so good location. Room basic and decor 50 years old. Breakfast poor and had to Q for table- was included in room rate but they still tried (unsuccessfully) to charge for it. OK if you're on a cheap sightseeing break but not for a romantic weekend.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelationshdpgrp, Responsable relations clients at Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time you take to give us your feedback, as you've noticed the hotel is perfectly located but some renovation are necessary, which will happen briefly.

Best regards,

The Direction of the Normandy Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I was a bit worried by some of the extremely mixed reviews about this hotel, having booked through "onhotels" website. I stayed with my mum from 22-25 March in Room 506 and have to say we were pleasantly surprised. The room was spacious, clean, had a balcony overlooking traditional Parisian roofs, toile de jouy curtains and character. Also WiFi was free and worked very well for me. Yes, the paintwork may be a bit chipped in places and the bath and shower need replacing (they've obviously started with the public areas and are working their way through), but I'd much rather have Parisian "shabby chic" and space to move around than a tiny boxroom with no personality in a modern building (I have also stayed in some of these soul-less places). The breakfast was excellent - lots of choice and gorgeous bread selection, pastries, fruit, yogurts and hot food for 12euros each. The staff were very friendly and very helpful to us, booking taxis, giving directions, always saying "bonjour". The location also cannot be beaten - step out of the door and The Louvre, fantastic shopping and restaurants are all around you. I certainly plan to visit again and return to this hotel.

Room Tip: If they have them available, ask for a room overlooking the street. I would definitely stay on the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelationshdpgrp, Responsable relations clients at Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Joanne,

The all team is really glad to read your kind feedback and recognize our quality of service as many other guest.

We are very impatient to look after you on your next Paris trip.

With our best regards,

The Normandy Hotel Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

I booked this room through last minute.com. Got a reasonably decent price. It was for 1 night, business purposes - so really needed it for sleep, wi-fi and a shower. i stayed in room 215

Well, the wi-fi signal was poor in my room. the room smelled of urine. The shower head was wrapped around the tap on the bath. There was no shower curtain around the bath. When i spoke to housekeeping and explained that the shower head was not on te wall, he shrugged and suggested i change room. I called reception and they told me there were no other rooms and then hung up.

The service was poor. The staff were rude. I couldnt sleep in the room for the smell.
I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelationshdpgrp, Responsable relations clients at Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear guest,

We regret that your last stay at the Normandy did not meet your expectation in so many points.

Thanks to your comment, we were able to address few points and improved where we have fallen.

With regards,

The Normandy Hotel Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Normandy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandy Hotel

Address: 7 rue de l'Echelle, 75001 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Place Vendôme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#376 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Normandy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Normandy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normandy Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Normandy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.