We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so good” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Normandy Hotel

Save Saved
You added Normandy Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Normandy Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 rue de l'Echelle, 75001 Paris, France (Louvre / Place Vendôme)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,504 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Dubrovnik, Croatia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not so good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is a rundown hotel in a perfect location. Large rooms that have seen better days, rooms clean but everything needs updating. Air condition not working. wi fi only in the lobby, in the rooms is not available. Decent breakfast,but does not meet the service for the money you pay

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    133
    125
    132
    215
See reviews for
96
203
50
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ilford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I booked this hotel via Eurostar on a special offer, based on the amazing location, then read the reviews on TripAdvisor and started to worry... however, I was very pleasantly surprised by the lovely hotel we found ourselves in. Yes, it's shabby and has obviously seen better days, but it was scrupulously clean, the staff were always helpful and courteous, the beds were very comfortable and the room sizes, compared with other Parisian hotels I have stayed in, was generous. There were a few quibbles, which I will come to later, but first the good points.

Location - amazing. You are literally a stone's throw from the Louvre, 5 minutes walk from the Tuilieries and Place Vendome, 10 mins from the Musee D'Orsay and Les Halles. Just a little further afield are the Pompidou Centre & Notre Dame. The area felt very safe at any time of day and was full of bars, cafes and restaurants.

Our Room - we were on the 6th floor in a room that straddled the corner of the Rue Saint-Honore and Rue de L'Echelle - I only saw 2 other rooms in the hotel so possibly there are better rooms that the one we had but I doubt it. On the top floor we had 3 little balconies, 2 in the room and one in the bathroom, all with traditional French doors that flooded the room, decorated with pale blue Toile de Jouy, with light. From the bathroom we could see over the rooftops to the big wheel in the Tuileries and the top of the Eiffel Tower, the others looked out over the Louvre and towards the Hotel De Ville. It was great to be able to stand on the balcony and look down on Paris.

The furniture in our room was typically French and quite old (although fully functional), which gave the room a lovely ambiance. There was a large wardrobe with lots of hangers and 2 lots of shelving (where the safe was), a desk and chair and a dressing table with another chair. We also had a useful closet built into the eaves. The room had 2 single beds together on wheels (which didn't lock, but as I was on holiday with my 8 year old this wasn't an enormous issue as we weren't doing anything to move them around!) and the mattresses were perfect - firm and supportive without being uncomfortably hard - wonderful after a day spent walking around Paris! The bedding was changed daily and was immaculate.

The room also had a cabinet-style fridge (empty) which worked well, on which stood a small flat-screen television that had quite a few channels but the only English-speaking ones were News and Business ones. However, we didn't come to Paris to watch television, so this was not an issue for us. No tea/coffee facilities so bring a travel kettle if this is important to you. There was no inbuilt air-conditioning in the room, but a portable machine that worked very efficiently (although very noisily). My sister was in a room on the 4th which had a standing fan instead that was both efficient and silent - probably the only feature of her room that I envied (although her room was smaller than ours and didn't have balconies it was larger than the average Parisian hotel room and nicely decorated, but again showing its age)!

The bathroom was also large due to the shape of our room and contained a bath with overhead shower, bidet, toilet and washbasin with a handy little dresser. There was also a hairdryer and the mirror was well-lit. Some toiletries were supplied but we didn't use them. Towels were changed daily. The shower had great water pressure which was a relief given that we were on the top floor.

Service - the safe in our room was locked and we couldn't use it - the concierge could not have been more helpful and immediately sorted it, waiting outside to make sure that it worked properly before going. He was very helpful again when asking for restaurant recommendations. All the counter staff were smiling, cheerful and efficient. My sister had a slightly different experience when asking if she could change rooms, but that was 1 person out of 5 people. The chambermaids were very hard working and kept the rooms and public areas beautifully clean.

The not so good:

Although scrupulously clean, the paintwork and decor had seen better days - in particular the paintwork on the French windows, which was badly chipped and rotting in places. The plaster on the ceiling of the bathroom was peeling. We didn't mind this too much and felt it added to the atmosphere, however the stair carpet leading into the main hallway was ripped in 2 places and a trip hazard.

Breakfast wasn't included and was 12€ for what appeared to be a very limited choice of cereal and breads when we looked in the breakfast room. We went to the cafe across the street and had lovely breakfasts for c.8€

The shower screen in the bathroom was totally inadequate and meant the floor was completely flooded every time we used the shower.

The advertised WiFi had a very weak signal and could only really be accessed in the reception area with any strength. However we found that this was true of the WiFi across the road in the cafe and in the nearby Starbucks so it's possible that the whole area just isn't very well served. Nevertheless it was frustrating.

The air conditioning unit worked well but was incredibly noisy. We found that if we turned it on before we went out to dinner then we came back to a cool room and could turn it off and get some sleep.

The hotel had a bar and an additional restaurant but they were both closed and appeared to have been for some time. We didn't use room service so can't comment on that.

On the whole we really enjoyed our stay here. I would not have stayed here at the prices advertised in the lobby (300€+ a night!!) but on the deal we got with Eurostar we had 4 nights for the price of 3 at a far better rate and I felt we got a bargain. We didn't come to Paris to sit in the hotel and watch telly, and the bits that needed refurbishment were not the sort of thing that, alone, would upset us. A perfect location, we would definitely return if we could get a similar deal again.

Room Tip: Corner rooms (ours was 607) are massive. Rooms on the 6th floor have balconies you can stand out on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We had a 5 night stay as a couple. This is a rundown tired beauty in a perfect location. The hotel has large rooms that have seen better days. The sheets were clean and the bed comfortable, however everything else needed cleaning and updating. It was advertised as air conditioned but it was not working!! Luckily we had French doors that allowed airflow. We did accept this room after being shown 3 others! The staff were rude and unhelpful. Wifi did work efficiently. The breakfast was reasonable. I would not stay again due to the staff who made life as difficult as possible for all guests.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aguadilla, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

First time visit to Paris, the hotel was allegedly rated as a 4-star, upon arrival we felt great at the reception but the room was terrible, we felt like in a dungeon. There was no air conditioning in the room and it was really hot. The service person came to the room and he solved the problem by opening the windows. The next day, we were moved to another room that looked much better, but the air conditioning did not work so we had to spend two more nights in a hot room until finally we were moved to another room with a portable a/c unit that made noise all the time. The internet was not working in the rooms, further the small refrigerator that we had in the previous rooms did not work. Cable only has about 18 french language channels, all of the furniture is old and scratched, wasted. The TV was about a 13-inch flat screen on top of the refrigerator. My wife and I had to sleep in a two twin beds put together. It was definitely a mess.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

No wifi access as promised, torn carpetry on stairs(!!!), lousy air conditioning, aloof and at times hostile staff, old torn furniture, we asked for a full size bed or queen size bed & we got twin beds(??), the bar was never open, exposed wood & cracks all over the walls, would not even call us a cab when we were ready to leave.
the ONLY good thing was its location...& the sweet housekeeping staff (hope they get a decent wage!) This is NOT a three star hotel! we were just there in early July 2013 so AVOID, they don't deserve your business.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I wanted to watch the TdF in Paris, saw a three night deal on the Internet at this hotel and immediately booked it. Then I read the reviews on here. I walked into the Normandy on Friday, with my wife, absolutely dreading it. And it isn't as bad as people suggest
The bad news: the hotel is run down. It needs a complete update
The good news: it's in a great spot, the Louvre is a 2 minute walk away. There are lots of cafes and bistros nearby, and I didn't hear of any security issues. The hotel could be stunning and has lots of original features, pelmets, cornices and so on. The bed linen and towels were changed everyday. Most(!) of the staff were friendly. There is free wifi. There is one address for the lobby area, and one for the rooms. You had to keep trying to get through in the rooms,but it wasn't too much of a problem in the lobby
For a three night room only break, I got a great deal. I wouldn't entertain paying the full rate, but if you can get a deal, consider this hotel. I have stayed in a lot worse Parisian hotels.
Just one thing, and this is hardly the hotel's fault. It is in an expensive area, in an expensive city. Do not faint when you get the bill if you have a beer! A pint and a half cost me €16

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I have never ever had to write a review before but I had to say something to stop any other poor innocent souls from making the mistake of booking a stay at this horrendous establishment. They call it 4 star I would not even rate it as anything. Premier Inns are 5 Star LUXURY compared to this. My husband is going through cancer and after his radiotherapy he booked a romantic trip for the pair of us to get over the ordeal of all the treatment he had. He booked through EUROSTAR as they recommended this particular hotel. It was not cheap and all in all a 4 days stay was around £1400.00 (Most of our savings). He requested and paid for one of their superior rooms, only when we got there we were given a room, that quite frankly you would find in the cheapest hostel. After moving us to another larger room (Still not superior) it was dark and dingy. They said all their superior rooms were booked out and thats all they had. There was no Wi Fi reception in the room. The electrics blew twice, blowing up our travel iron and burning my husbands brand new Lacoste polo shirt. The air conditioning unit was archaic and didnt even have all the equipment for it (i.e. the vent pipe) to function properly. So we had 90 degree heat in the room because it was pumping out hot as well as cold air! There was no satellite pay per view TV as promised (one channel - CNN News that was it!) the hotel bar was closed for two days that we were there and when we asked about the so called room service, you had to order a main meal if you wanted to order drinks in your room! Dont get me started on the price of Paris as thats another matter but be prepared to pay around 20 Euros for a beer and at least 8 euros for a coke. Location wise the hotel is centrally located. Thats all its got going for it. There is no pool, no gym. Honestly people, please look around Paris before booking a hotel. We saw a lovely 4 star round the corner called the Regency and it was BEAUTIFUL and it was CHEAPER that the crap hole we were staying in.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Normandy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandy Hotel

Address: 7 rue de l'Echelle, 75001 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Place Vendôme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#367 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Normandy Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Normandy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normandy Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Normandy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.