We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is not everything!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Normandy Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Normandy Hotel to your Saves list
Normandy Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 rue de l'Echelle, 75001 Paris, France (Louvre / Palais-Royal)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,437 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Location is not everything!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had a 5 night stay as a couple. This is a rundown tired beauty in a perfect location. The hotel has large rooms that have seen better days. The sheets were clean and the bed comfortable, however everything else needed cleaning and updating. It was advertised as air conditioned but it was not working!! Luckily we had French doors that allowed airflow. We did accept this room after being shown 3 others! The staff were rude and unhelpful. Wifi did work efficiently. The breakfast was reasonable. I would not stay again due to the staff who made life as difficult as possible for all guests.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Panda59-Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Aguadilla, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

First time visit to Paris, the hotel was allegedly rated as a 4-star, upon arrival we felt great at the reception but the room was terrible, we felt like in a dungeon. There was no air conditioning in the room and it was really hot. The service person came to the room and he solved the problem by opening the windows. The next day, we were moved to another room that looked much better, but the air conditioning did not work so we had to spend two more nights in a hot room until finally we were moved to another room with a portable a/c unit that made noise all the time. The internet was not working in the rooms, further the small refrigerator that we had in the previous rooms did not work. Cable only has about 18 french language channels, all of the furniture is old and scratched, wasted. The TV was about a 13-inch flat screen on top of the refrigerator. My wife and I had to sleep in a two twin beds put together. It was definitely a mess.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank F P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

No wifi access as promised, torn carpetry on stairs(!!!), lousy air conditioning, aloof and at times hostile staff, old torn furniture, we asked for a full size bed or queen size bed & we got twin beds(??), the bar was never open, exposed wood & cracks all over the walls, would not even call us a cab when we were ready to leave.
the ONLY good thing was its location...& the sweet housekeeping staff (hope they get a decent wage!) This is NOT a three star hotel! we were just there in early July 2013 so AVOID, they don't deserve your business.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I wanted to watch the TdF in Paris, saw a three night deal on the Internet at this hotel and immediately booked it. Then I read the reviews on here. I walked into the Normandy on Friday, with my wife, absolutely dreading it. And it isn't as bad as people suggest
The bad news: the hotel is run down. It needs a complete update
The good news: it's in a great spot, the Louvre is a 2 minute walk away. There are lots of cafes and bistros nearby, and I didn't hear of any security issues. The hotel could be stunning and has lots of original features, pelmets, cornices and so on. The bed linen and towels were changed everyday. Most(!) of the staff were friendly. There is free wifi. There is one address for the lobby area, and one for the rooms. You had to keep trying to get through in the rooms,but it wasn't too much of a problem in the lobby
For a three night room only break, I got a great deal. I wouldn't entertain paying the full rate, but if you can get a deal, consider this hotel. I have stayed in a lot worse Parisian hotels.
Just one thing, and this is hardly the hotel's fault. It is in an expensive area, in an expensive city. Do not faint when you get the bill if you have a beer! A pint and a half cost me €16

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chimbonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I have never ever had to write a review before but I had to say something to stop any other poor innocent souls from making the mistake of booking a stay at this horrendous establishment. They call it 4 star I would not even rate it as anything. Premier Inns are 5 Star LUXURY compared to this. My husband is going through cancer and after his radiotherapy he booked a romantic trip for the pair of us to get over the ordeal of all the treatment he had. He booked through EUROSTAR as they recommended this particular hotel. It was not cheap and all in all a 4 days stay was around £1400.00 (Most of our savings). He requested and paid for one of their superior rooms, only when we got there we were given a room, that quite frankly you would find in the cheapest hostel. After moving us to another larger room (Still not superior) it was dark and dingy. They said all their superior rooms were booked out and thats all they had. There was no Wi Fi reception in the room. The electrics blew twice, blowing up our travel iron and burning my husbands brand new Lacoste polo shirt. The air conditioning unit was archaic and didnt even have all the equipment for it (i.e. the vent pipe) to function properly. So we had 90 degree heat in the room because it was pumping out hot as well as cold air! There was no satellite pay per view TV as promised (one channel - CNN News that was it!) the hotel bar was closed for two days that we were there and when we asked about the so called room service, you had to order a main meal if you wanted to order drinks in your room! Dont get me started on the price of Paris as thats another matter but be prepared to pay around 20 Euros for a beer and at least 8 euros for a coke. Location wise the hotel is centrally located. Thats all its got going for it. There is no pool, no gym. Honestly people, please look around Paris before booking a hotel. We saw a lovely 4 star round the corner called the Regency and it was BEAUTIFUL and it was CHEAPER that the crap hole we were staying in.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in December. I made the reservation through booking.com because of the price. I then decided to read guests reviews and started to get worried as they were not that positive and wondered why I didn't read reviews before booking - I probably wouldn't have reserved if I had read them first. I decided to give the hotel the benefit of the doubt and hoped our stay would be better than others.

Our first impression of the hotel was not good, the glass entrance door was cracked and looked like it was going to shatter any minute and the window shutters looked old and dirty and needed to be repainted.

We went to Reception to check-in, standard procedure except for the fact that you had to see the Concierge after to get your room key...

The room was not as bad as I thought it would be. Very spacious, with double bed, a small seating area, working desk and plenty of closet and wardrobe space. It did look old but nothing too worn out or damaged. It was comfortable enough for 3 nights and we did not plan on staying in the room very much anyway.

The bathroom was large, clean and bright with a combined bath and shower, double basins and toilet with a bidet. No complaints.

Basic television, mostly news, sports and only French speaking available.

Wi-Fi signal was very weak and only worked in certain spots of the room, gave up after numerous attempts.

Location is good, close to plenty of cafes and restaurants nearby. Walking distance to shopping streets. Close to metro and bus routes. Down the street (one block) from the Louvre.

Overall, it was a pleasant stay, no major issues - good for the price and location. I would probably stay again if they renovated or at least repainted and recarpeted the rooms as they do need refreshment. It could be worse and to be honest if you expect a lot from a hotel, you should pay more and stay somewhere else instead of complain or give negative reviews.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DEFMNO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Szentendre, Hungary
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The good location is the only positive thing in this hotel. The breakfast is avarage, nothing special. Really expensive, but its the price of the location maybe....however the rooms are in a really bad condition, whats more dirty...the furniture is old and need to be renovated..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kata S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Emeraude Louvre Montana Hotel
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Royal Saint-Honore
Hotel Royal Saint-Honore
#132 of 1,809 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 541 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Duminy Vendome
Duminy Vendome
#390 of 1,809 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Brighton
Hotel Brighton
#137 of 1,809 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 1,236 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel La Tamise
Hotel La Tamise
#3 of 1,809 in Paris
5.0 of 5 stars 135 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Pavillon Louvre Rivoli
Pavillon Louvre Rivoli
#1,341 of 1,809 in Paris
3.0 of 5 stars 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Normandy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandy Hotel

Address: 7 rue de l'Echelle, 75001 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#424 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Normandy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Normandy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normandy Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing