We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Normandy Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Normandy Hotel to your Saves list
Normandy Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 rue de l'Echelle, 75001 Paris, France (Louvre / Palais-Royal)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,453 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Szentendre, Hungary
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good location”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The good location is the only positive thing in this hotel. The breakfast is avarage, nothing special. Really expensive, but its the price of the location maybe....however the rooms are in a really bad condition, whats more dirty...the furniture is old and need to be renovated..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    178
    150
    146
    246
See reviews for
126
247
57
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here in 2008 and had a room with a view of rue Ste Honare and the top of the Eiffel Tower in the distance. This time we were on an interior courtyard with no view. The hotel is older, so don't expect the Ritz. It is clean and the staff are helpful. We had no wifi access in our room and no AC. My parents' room did have AC. Being on an interior courtyard helped with the heat and we asked for a fan, slept with the windows open and were fine, even though it was in the upper 80's F (27 C).
You CANNOT beat the location for the price. Walking distance to 3 different metro stops, the louvre, Tuileries, cafes and a grocery store (Monoprix- closed n Sundays).

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

old, daggy, the only good thing about this hotel is its location...staff is actually fairly friendly but rooms are absolutely atrocious...I paid EUR200 per night for a single bedroom 1970s style with only light bulb still functional and a bathroom my grandmother would have refused to use...Value for money, this is possibly one of the worst possible deal in Paris...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

My friend and I had booked a package holiday that included a stay in this hotel early June. After booking we learned of the bad reviews the hotel had gotten on sites like for instance this one and tried to change the booking but it was too late. We got to Paris armed with a strong sense of humour and expected the worst, but luckily it wasn't terrible. We did not get the 4* comfort that we had paid for, but it wasn't a nightmare either. In short, here's the pros and cons:


Cons:
- this is not a 4* hotel, by any means. It's a fine 2*, 3* at a stretch, but not 4*
- everything in the hotel is old and a bit shabby
- the breakfast buffet isn't fantastic, it's mediocre
- the rooms are not big
- wifi doesn't work outside the lobby


Pros:
- everything in our room was clean
- the bathrooms were all also nice and clean
- staff (front desk as well as everyone else) was friendly and courteous and helpful
- the location is absolutely unbeatable


In short: do *not* expect anything 4*. Expect a nice 2* and you'll be fine.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay here, stay on the top (6th) floor. You'll have your own little balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The advantage to this hotel was it was close to where both of my tours started, less than three blocks for both. Breakfast was good. Clean room. TV stations had a couple of English channels. Hotel staff was very helpful and spoke good English. Had a room that was facing the center of the hotel so it was quiet.

The only bad thing was that the bathroom had a tub only. No shower. It made it interesting getting in an out of the tub with a bad knee.

Over all, I'd stay there again but only ask for a room with a shower.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the center of the property. No street noise that way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuffley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Very central location walking distance to most sights. Comfortable bed, clean sheets and bathroom with hotwater. Friendly reception staff. Is in need of a refurb but we came to Paris to see the sights not to stay in the room ! Good breakfast would stay there again next time in Paris.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Tired and run down in desperate need of refurbishment. The bathroom had dirty broken tiles, noisy antiquated plumbing that rumbled through the night. The room was in a terrible state of repair with broken furniture and torn wallpaper, it was also dirty. To cap it all the WiFi did not work at all. Avoid!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Normandy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandy Hotel

Address: 7 rue de l'Echelle, 75001 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#400 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Normandy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Normandy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normandy Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Normandy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.