We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid avoid avoid” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Normandy Hotel

Save Saved
You added Normandy Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Normandy Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 rue de l'Echelle, 75001 Paris, France (Louvre / Place Vendôme)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,530 of 1,796 hotels in Paris
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Avoid avoid avoid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

old, daggy, the only good thing about this hotel is its location...staff is actually fairly friendly but rooms are absolutely atrocious...I paid EUR200 per night for a single bedroom 1970s style with only light bulb still functional and a bathroom my grandmother would have refused to use...Value for money, this is possibly one of the worst possible deal in Paris...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    129
    121
    132
    215
See reviews for
94
198
50
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

My friend and I had booked a package holiday that included a stay in this hotel early June. After booking we learned of the bad reviews the hotel had gotten on sites like for instance this one and tried to change the booking but it was too late. We got to Paris armed with a strong sense of humour and expected the worst, but luckily it wasn't terrible. We did not get the 4* comfort that we had paid for, but it wasn't a nightmare either. In short, here's the pros and cons:


Cons:
- this is not a 4* hotel, by any means. It's a fine 2*, 3* at a stretch, but not 4*
- everything in the hotel is old and a bit shabby
- the breakfast buffet isn't fantastic, it's mediocre
- the rooms are not big
- wifi doesn't work outside the lobby


Pros:
- everything in our room was clean
- the bathrooms were all also nice and clean
- staff (front desk as well as everyone else) was friendly and courteous and helpful
- the location is absolutely unbeatable


In short: do *not* expect anything 4*. Expect a nice 2* and you'll be fine.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay here, stay on the top (6th) floor. You'll have your own little balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The advantage to this hotel was it was close to where both of my tours started, less than three blocks for both. Breakfast was good. Clean room. TV stations had a couple of English channels. Hotel staff was very helpful and spoke good English. Had a room that was facing the center of the hotel so it was quiet.

The only bad thing was that the bathroom had a tub only. No shower. It made it interesting getting in an out of the tub with a bad knee.

Over all, I'd stay there again but only ask for a room with a shower.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the center of the property. No street noise that way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuffley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Very central location walking distance to most sights. Comfortable bed, clean sheets and bathroom with hotwater. Friendly reception staff. Is in need of a refurb but we came to Paris to see the sights not to stay in the room ! Good breakfast would stay there again next time in Paris.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Tired and run down in desperate need of refurbishment. The bathroom had dirty broken tiles, noisy antiquated plumbing that rumbled through the night. The room was in a terrible state of repair with broken furniture and torn wallpaper, it was also dirty. To cap it all the WiFi did not work at all. Avoid!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I read the earlier reviews and was concerned as to the hotel that I had booked. However, upon arrival my wife and I were met by a charming and helpful receptionist. we were made to feel very welcome. We were pleasantly surprised by the reception area.
Our room was clearly in need of a coat of paint but comfortable with a good sized bathroom.
We did not go to Paris to sit in a hotel. This hotel is superbly located for all major attractions especially the Louvre.
If we had wanted to stay in the hotel for a four day break we would have looked for a five star.
If you are going to this hotel then do not be unduly concerned by the negative reviews. enjoy yourself.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a long weekend trip to Paris and booked this hotel for its location and price, which was $100/night below anything in the same general vicinity. With only three days, I didn't want to waste time traveling and this hotel's location is very central and within walking distance of many of the key attractions. I read the previous Trip Advisor reviews after booking this property and sufficiently lowered my expectations such that I found the hotel acceptable. The check in was smooth, the room was clean, all amenities functioned (power, hot water, etc.), the staff was friendly and helpful, and the location is perfect. The hotel does need a good renovation to replace/repair carpets and fixtures and generally improve the overall appearance. I also would not even think about staying here during the summer as there is no central A/C and opening the windows would let in a lot of noise if your room is on the exterior/road facing side.

If you are on a short leisure trip to Paris and can live with the shortcomings of this property, then the Normandy is acceptable.

Room Tip: Try and get an interior facing room. Without A/C, you made need to open the windows during the warm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Normandy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandy Hotel

Address: 7 rue de l'Echelle, 75001 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Place Vendôme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#365 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Normandy Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Normandy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normandy Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Normandy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.