We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“glamor at moderate price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa to your Saves list
Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   202, rue de Rivoli, 75001 Paris, France (Formerly Clarion Saint-James & Albany) (Louvre / Palais-Royal)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #730 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
long island ny
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“glamor at moderate price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

lovely hotel with all amenitieas located on the rue de rivoli at the center of all paris attractions!! across the street from the louvre and near 3 different metro lines....helpful staff and within walking distance of all the high end shops..my 10th trip to paris and favorite hotel so far!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
secretaire_direction, Directeur général at Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear auntieno47,

We thank you for leaving your impressions on trip Advisor.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Saint James Albany, especially for our good location and the helpfulness of our staff.

We will not miss to share your comment with the team.

We will be very happy to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    430
    227
    156
    124
See reviews for
269
466
38
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Tonawanda
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed here for the last three nights of our trip to France. It was conveniently located: near the Louvre and the subway system. I was also across the street from the Tuileries. The lobby and restaurant were gracious. The courtyard was a pleasant place to sit. The food was underwhelming. The rooms left something to be desired. They were sparse to say the least. We payed for an upgrade and were very disappointed. The view was of a pipe and a wall not a courtyard as promised.The staff was friendly but could not help with our room selection and offered nothing as an alternative. I had contacted the hotel months before we travelled and were assured that our grade of room would ensure that we would be very pleased with our accommodations.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
secretaire_direction, Directeur général at Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear mhagirl,

Thank you for sharing your experience on trip advisor.

We are delighted that you liked our lobby, our restaurant and our inner courtyards.
Besides, we are sorry that your room did not fully matched your expectations

We do hope for an opportunity to welcome you again to our hotel.

Best regards

The Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Lincoln, Australia
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I wish we read the reviews before booking this over priced tired old hotel. From the moment we arrived to this location things were not good... Given the busy road and no parking bay just arriving is difficult as our taxi had trouble parking somewhere. We check in, we are asked if we would like our bags sent up, this service we expect at a so called 4star hotel, an hour went by after asking twice and no bags until we got them ourselves! The room looked tired, stained carpets, old towels, curtains falling of their hooks, towel rack falling of wall and to top it of to get hot water we had to wait while water went down the drain without exaggeration at least 10 minutes.....after which hot water only lasted a few minutes., so then back to a cold shower! Not the best start to our Paris visit. I did address my great disappointment to the duty manager who said the hotel apparently experiences problems with the hot water when they are busy .. Maybe they need to put this in their brochures. You may think after reading this review we were staying in one of the cheaper rooms eg standard single in fact we we're staying in a pricey junior suite. Never again that was my fifth visit to Paris I'll go back to a past favorite the K and K cayre next visit .

Room Tip: Read trip adviser reviews first
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
secretaire_direction, Directeur général at Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Tania K,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment about the Saint James Albany.
It is very important to us and help to improve our quality of service.

We have taken good note of your comments about your room. We inform you that we already have renovated more than 70% of our rooms and that we are carrying on the program.

We have taken all measures in order to avoid your luggage experience that should not have occurred.

We deeply apologize for the lapses you encountered during your stay and we will continue to train our staff actively.

Best regards

The Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Basic things missing.....the rooms are Very poor standard...compared to the price....i travel all the world 200 night a year...I will not recommend this hotel to anyone....

Better hotels can be found i Paris at better price....I'm sure.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
secretaire_direction, Directeur général at Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Mads Z,

Thank you for leaving your impressions on Trip Advisor.

We are sorry to read that our stay did not match with your expectations.

We would be very grateful if you could contact us to give us more details about your stay (secretaire.direction@saintjamesalbany.com). This would help us to target what basic things are missing in order to improve our quality of facilities.

Best Regards,

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

From the photo on the website you expect something wonderful in the park by the louvre, but no, it is in a row of shops on the other side of a busy road to the museum.
If the room we had was a superior room i'd hate to see a standard room. There was a seperate toilet to the bathroom (often very useful) but only because both rooms were tiny and to sit on the toilet i had to sit at an angle because the sink was in the way.
Staff were very rude. Noone offered to even take our bags to the room let alone show us to it, which for the price we paid would be normal in any decent hotel in London. On returning to the hotel after the first night out i said bon soir to the receptionist who just looked at me like i shouldn't be speaking to her. I also went to the restaurant 1 afternoon to request the loan of a knife for some cheeses we had bought to eat in our room and again was looked at as if i was some sort of criminal, i was eventually given a knife but very grudgingly.
The only thing going for this hotel is the location with its close proximity to the city centre and a metro station opposite, but for this price i wished for so much more.
I HAVE STAYED IN THE SAVOY FOR THE SAME PRICE

Room Tip: go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
secretaire_direction, Directeur général at Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear didley1968,

Thank you for leaving your impressions on Trip Advisor.

We apologize for the lapses you encountered during your stay. This is definitely not the experience we intend to provide to our guest.

Be assured that our quality of service is our first priority and we will put an extra effort in training our team in order to avoid such inconvenience in the future.

Best Regards,

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, USA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

This was the first hotel I have stayed in Paris. Location is excellent and the hotel lobby and public areas are really beautiful. The bedrooms are fairly plain, although from what I read, that is quite typical of Paris. Toilet plumbing wasn't the best and air con was useless, but bathroom was a nice size and room was quiet. On check-in, they made a mistake saying we booked a room without breakfast but did resolve it eventually. They did not provide wi-fi codes on check-in automatically, so ask for those if you need it. Welcome screen on TV was in German when I am English and the only English TV channel was CNN - fine if sightseeing and not spending time in room but limiting if on business alone.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
secretaire_direction, Directeur général at Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Keznyc,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our location, the size of our bathroom and the quietness of your room.
We sincerely apologize for not having totally matched with your expectations.
We have taken good note of all your remarks and will definitely share them with our team in order to avoid such issues in the future.

We do hope for an opportunity to welcome you again to our hotel.

Best Regards,

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Location is grate !! but only that...
external a fantastic old building with nice public areas! that is....!!
Problems with the wi-fi (free) every day disconnected!!
Service was slow...
Rooms problems..like..5 minutebath faucet to come hot water.....
Airconditioning Panel doesn't work!
Copy machine of the Hotel "out of order"
Use of business center 7 euros per 15' minutes! but 1 hour for 13 euros..

Room Tip: rooms as small...so choose a standard at least....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
secretaire_direction, Directeur général at Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear mrxathens,

Thank you for leaving your impressions on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our location, Historical building and public areas.
We sincerely apologize that you have been face to technical issues.
The Wi-fi and copy machine problems we encountered last week are now fully solved.

We have taken good note of all your remarks and will definitely share them with our Maintenance team in order to improve the quality of facilities.

We do hope for an opportunity to welcome you again to our hotel under better circumstances.

Best Regards,

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa

Address: 202, rue de Rivoli, 75001 Paris, France (Formerly Clarion Saint-James & Albany)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Spa Hotel in Paris
#313 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#396 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Paris, member of Great Hotels of the World and the chain Les Hotels France Patrimoine, Saint James & Albany Hotel-Spa offers 194 rooms and suites in a XVIIth century Establishment. Mainly overlooking inner garden and courtyards, this 4 stars Hotel is a real haven of peace in the centre of the French capital. Thanks to its first bio Parisian SPA**** and its wonderful indoor pool, the atmosphere of this Hotel is very relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, getaroom.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint James And Albany Hotel-Spa
Saint James & Albany Hotel Paris
Clarion Paris
Saint James & Albany Hotel Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.