We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quiet hotel; fab spa!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa to your Saves list
Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   202, rue de Rivoli, 75001 Paris, France (Formerly Clarion Saint-James & Albany) (Louvre / Place Vendôme)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #745 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Oxted, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great quiet hotel; fab spa!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We booked via a package with BA. the Hotel is very central, fab for museums and shops... the SPA was great too!!! with a lovely basement swimming pool.

The rooms were really quiet; the only issues we had were that the hair dryer was a bit weak; internet ok.
The bed was a but cosy; no UK tv - but this happens alot in Paris hotels..
We were certainly recommend; polite staff, central location....

Room Tip: get one overlooking courtyard - very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    397
    214
    153
    123
See reviews for
255
431
34
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The hotel location is what makes it a great holiday hotel. Just a couple of minutes from the Louvre and Place Vendome. Walking distance from the Opera and Champs Élysées.

We stayed in a Superior room, comfortable and spacious. The only thing is that not all rooms have a nice view (or a view at all). The hotel would benefit from a renovation. But otherwise, everything was fine.

There are also good transport links nearby.

I would reccommend this hotel for couples or friends travelling together.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Overlooking the courtyard
We were put on top floor with a tiny window overlooking the roofs
Large room
On complaining we were told they would move us the next day
To the 2nd floor
It overlooked the garden but was shabby, peeling wallpaper and a step that we both missed in the night
this was not even 3 * accomadation
Staff were unfriendly and couldn't care
Take it or leave it attitude
No manager bothered to speak with us
Breakfast was good
Definately would not recomend

Room Tip: Don't believe what you see advertised on the internet It is not true
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
secretaire_direction, Directeur général at Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Sherryl B,

Thank you for leaving your review on trip advisor.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our breakfast.
But, we feel sorry that you stay did not match you expectations despite your room change.
We have taken all of your comments very seriously and will put an additional effort in training our staff.
We inform you that at this stage, more than 70% of our rooms have been renovated and that we are carrying on this effort.

Feel free to contact us (secretaire.direction@saintjamesalbany.com) for any additional information regarding your stay.

Again we apologize for your dissatisfaction.

Best regards

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The St. James & Albany Hotel is a gem of a hotel that just needs some polishing to reach the next level. When marking my star ratings (overall and each sub-category) I kept finding myself wanting to click 5-stars but then pausing when I thought of this or that minor negative.

For example, the gentlemen that greeted us during check-in was pleasant, professional and welcoming. But then our interactions with other staff members (at the front desk and at the spa/pool) would best be described as off-putting. The rooms were certainly very clean, but the carpets are old and had un-removable stains from years past. There were ongoing renovations so some of the areas of the hotel were sparkling and new, while others were in desperate need of attention.

When this gem is done being polished it will most likely be world class, especially considering its location… just across from Musée du Louvre.

Note on my value rating: I scored a special rate when I booked. The fee was non-refundable but it was also about 40% off the normal rate.

Room Tip: Aim for a suite duplex with windows facing the courtyard (pictured).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

To be fair, our last visit was about six years ago. That said, we lived in Switzerland for a couple of years (mid-90s) and went to Paris every five or six weeks... we always stayed here! Six years ago we went back to Paris after a 10-year absence and payed to stay here even though we could have stayed on points at any Marriott in Paris. It will always have a special place in our hearts. The location is perfect, between the Lourve and the Arc. The courtyard is very special and I look forward to visiting the spa. Very romantic for a couple, and the junior suite was perfect for a couple +1. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krugersdorp
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I had booked this hotel and was told some horror stories about it. It was therefore a nice surprise when we arrived. Nice reception area you can see it's just been re done - friendly staff who took us to show us where things were etc. We had booked a suite again I had heard about room sizes being very small - we had a lovey suite on the 6th floor - you can see the carpets & wallpaper etc a bit jaded but clean, lovely king sized bed with clean linen, new bathroom & separate toilet, sitting room again an older couch but comfortable and clean, two TV's one in each room, bar fridge small dining table etc. The hotel is busy being upgraded but we were never disturbed by the workmen. The hotel is situated a stones throw from the Louvre and Tuileries Gardens across the road. Definitely a big plus is the area as it is convenient for transport and other sights. A lot of the "cheap & Cheerful" shops selling the usual key rings & tee shirts around the hotel but other than that no problems. They have a lovely spa and pool which was great after a long days sightseeing to relax in. WiFi available in rooms and in one of the many lounges. Good breakfast which we had included in our package thankfully as it was E22 per person but a good variety of hot and cold food. Definitely highly recommend it as a good hotel in a great location.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and upgrade to a suite - ours was looking into the courtyard but it was quiet etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My experience and Saint-James Albany was a good one. I stayed at this hotel two nights and everything was great. The room was comfortable and quite and overlooking the "Jardin des Tuileries". The breakfast was delicious with a good variety of food, the service was very professional and friendly.
I do recommend this hotel and would come back to it.
Thank you

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa

Address: 202, rue de Rivoli, 75001 Paris, France (Formerly Clarion Saint-James & Albany)
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Place Vendôme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Spa Hotel in Paris
#301 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#397 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Paris, member of Great Hotels of the World and the chain Les Hôtels France Patrimoine, Saint James & Albany Hotel-Spa offers 194 rooms and suites in a XVIIth century Establishment. Mainly overlooking inner garden and courtyards, this 4 stars Hotel is a real haven of peace in the centre of the French capital. Thanks to its first bio Parisian SPA**** and its wonderful indoor pool, the atmosphere of this Hotel is very relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking and Tingo so you can book your Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint James And Albany Hotel-Spa
Saint James & Albany Hotel Paris
Clarion Paris
Saint James & Albany Hotel Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.