We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, but very small rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cambon

Save Saved
You added Hotel Cambon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Cambon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 rue Cambon | 01 Arr., 75001 Paris, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast Offer
Ranked #428 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Excellent location, but very small rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Cambon for 3 nights on a business trip. Staff was friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean but quite small and the linen was of good quality. Rue Cambon is not particularly busy and the traffic moves slowly, which meant the room was quiet with little street noise. The breakfast was fine, but limited. Whilst Hotel Cambon fit the bill, I can't give it more than 3 stars, as I expected a bit more for the €325/night rate. I would go back on a business trip, but would look for better value for money on a personal trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCAMBON, Manager at Hotel Cambon, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Lord -gin ,
We thank you for giving us your feedback about your stay .
We are glad you mainly had a good experience with us.
Regarding your comment on the size of room , Paris is an old city and space is rare .
we have different kind of room on different size (from standard 14 m²- to junior suite with private terrace 33m² ) .All sizes of our rooms had the agreement of new classification 4 stars.
For your next stay do not hesitate to contact us , it will be a pleasure to show you some other rooms .
On our web site , you could find our best rates for the moment . As you know , the rate is depending of the season , and exhibitions dates in Paris .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    37
    16
    8
    4
See reviews for
9
35
13
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mercer Island, Washington
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I read the reviews coming in and was fearful that this hotel would be quite crummy. Reality is that I found it (as well as other business travelers with me) quite great. Yes - the rooms are relatively small. But, the room quality was high. The A/C was cold. The shower was hot. The linens were clean/fresh. The breakfast is basic...but enough. I like that the hotel has a more modern feel to it. Plus, the room was super quiet. I couldn't hear a thing above/below/beside. I would stay here again without hesitation. Also, the location absolutely cannot be beat. Right in the dead center of the high end shops and within super convenient walking distance to the major sites.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel with my husband and daughter because of a misunderstanding of the travel agency and thank God she made this mistake, we love it.
It's clean, beautiful, very well located and the service is " impecável"!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Cambon for nine days in late June on the seventh floor in a junior suite with small balconies off the bedroom and bathroom, overlooking Paris rooftops and the Jardin du Tuileries. This is the special kind of hotel that is fast disappearing in Paris: Madame, la propriétaire (for the past 45 years), keeping a watchful eye onsite (with her cute and spoiled dachshund) to assure that the hotel lives up to a standard of "personal service where we get to know each of our clients." The manager, reception and all staff provided professional service that at the same time was very accueillant and chaleureux. They learn their clients quickly, by name and preferences. Room-size by Paris standards was average, but the hotel and our room were very elegantly and cleverly designed, and we would always gladly trade the few additional square meters for the intimate and thoughtful, personal service at Hotel Cambon. We've been coming to Paris fairly regularly for the past 25 years and also find room prices to be very reasonable, especially for this area of the city. We had a lovely stay here. Top marks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We've been staying at the Cambon for many years.. It is a boutique hotel that is a very well managed operation. Madam Simeon and her staff are gracious and accommodating. The rooms are well appointed (and recently renovated). Some of the rooms are small--good for one person. But they have larger rooms as well. Inquire and make sure the room fits your particular needs. There are no lines for anything. The breakfast is great and omelets exceptional. I've also stayed there on business trips. You couldn't ask for a better location in Paris. If you're looking for an upscale, hassle free and personal hotel, I highly recommend it.

Maureen B

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I booked this place believing it is a 4star only to find it's a b&b charging as a 4star hotel: very small room, tiny lift (it couldnt fit the trolley so somebody brought it afterwards!); when advertise parking they refer to the public one nearby; extra city-tourist taxes not included in the price and mentioned only at the departure; charged the card used to secure the booking prior to our arrival, although we wanted to pay cash; safe doesnt take a laptop, no tea/coffee facilities in the room, only 1pair of sleepers & bathrobe for..two for a 5nght stay; no 24hour reception-the main entrance gets locked at night so imagine urself waiting for15min or so, in "good humour" in the middle of the night, in frt of ur expensive "4start ..hotel!" 4 somebody to attend it, otherwise they hav plenty of staff: 4receptionists and their supervisor but only 1worker 2do the foot work in the rooms and push carrying customers luggage. Always enjoy 2c the good old french style at work, saw it, did it, next! The b&b is in a good location though.

Room Tip: Choose a hotel in the area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambonParis, Directeur général at Hotel Cambon, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear guest ,
Thank you for taking time to write your comment.
We are truly sorry that you didn’t find the feeling at the Cambon you may expect.
Our 40 different rooms have the size required for a 4 stars in Paris. If the room you had booked was not enough large for you, the reception would have been pleased to propose you a other category (from 14 sq meters for single room to 33 sq meters for junior suite).
You are in the old center of Paris and the Cambon is an hotel open since 40 years . the lift is for 3 persons and luggages of course . Our Porter is on service to help you with your luggage.
The city tax is always an extra charge and it was mentioned on your booking. As an extra charge it should be paid on departure with other extras.
The credit card you’ve done on booking was only a guarantee except if you have booked a special early booking rate via a booking engine (Ex: Booking .com) where the cancellation policy is not refundable. In that case, we charge the total amount of your stay on the booking receiving date.

Your comment regarding the safe size for Laptop, We believe that action will be taken as soon as the purchase of safes will be programmed.
Regarding the Slippers and bathrobe, we apologize for the missing .You should have ask for one more to our housekeeper.
Regarding the night, for security the main door is closed at midnight. After this time there is a bell that warns the night audit of your arrival. I will get back to the night porter to see why you had to wait 15 mn for opening. We can assure you this not by any means our standards.
After our explanations, we hope that the Cambon will definitely look like a nice home in Paris .
We really hope to welcoming you again.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were suprised by the size of our room/bathroom. We had expected a small space, but we were happy to find our room and bathroom were a good size. They are in the process of updating the hallways with new paint, etc. Our room was nicely decorated. The front desk staff was very helpful. They helped us sign into the hotel computer to take care of our flight check in and they took care of some noisy occupants in the middle of a night after we called to complain. The location was a great location. We were able to walk to most of the sights. There are also close metro stations and bike rental out front.

Room Tip: We had a courtyard room which wasn't noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambonParis, Directeur général at Hotel Cambon, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
We would like to thank you for giving us your feed back about your stay.
we are glad you mainly had a good experience with us .
We are glad you had a good experience to be assisted and pampered by our reception staff.

We are glad to hear that you are sensitive to the renovation we do for the comfort and beauty of our establishment. our owner is very attentive to the quality of materials and harmony of objects choosen .

We benefit of a very exceptional location in Paris and we are very pleased to read that you really enjoy that Paris Treasure are from some walking distance from the hotel

We hope to welcome you back again .
kind regargs
I.F
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Cambon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cambon

Address: 3 rue Cambon | 01 Arr., 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#200 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#384 Family Hotel in Paris
#400 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cambon 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel to discover or to be discovered in next to no time whose regular guests hand the address by word of mouth.An exceptional site: near the Concorde Place and the Tuileries gardens, in one of the most prestigious street of Paris: Cambon Street, the historical headquarter of Coco Chanel, but also in the heart of the city’s most elegant shopping and art district, and just next door, place Vendôme for its well-known jewelleries,Few steps from the Louvre and Orsay Museums, Opera Garnier and 10 minutes walking distance from the Galeries Lafayette flagship store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, AvailPro, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Venere, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel Cambon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambon Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cambon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.