We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cambon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cambon to your Saves list
Hotel Cambon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 rue Cambon | 01 Arr., 75001 Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #486 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Cebu City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“GOOD”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

staff: the staff were very helpful and accommodating.
hotel: lobby was ok, elevators could only accommodate 2 persons. so if you have a luggage, you have to go up one at a time. hallways were really small and had a weird smell.
room: our room was nice. with lively colors and a clean bed and bathroom. the room was small we could barely open our luggage. the good part was there was a small balcony where we can smoke.
value and location: expensive. the rates were quite high considering there was no free breakfast and wifi. location was good. we were near the train station and near restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    41
    18
    8
    5
See reviews for
11
39
17
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Let's start with the good news. The location is fantastic -- right near the Jardin des Tuileries -- making this hotel an ideal base for exploring Paris on foot. I also have to agree with other reviewers that the staff were generally pleasant and welcoming.

But the issue here is value -- both in terms of the room, and the level of service provided.

We booked to stay for three nights in a "superior" room at a cost of €297 a night. The hotel charged the full amount for the three nights to my credit card immediately I had booked. This did not include breakfast (a further €22 per night per person).

The room was described as having "a large bathroom". But on arrival we found that this was simply not true; there was a small bathroom with a shower, and no bath. The bedroom was nicely decorated, but again it was small and not what you would expect for the price.

The service was also patchy. On our first day we returned to our room at 14.30 to find that it had not yet been made up. When we came to check-out at 08.30 on the last day, there was no sign of any receptionist so one of the waiters had to step in (a bit like Manuel taking over from Basil in "Fawlty Towers"!).

One further indignity: wi-fi was charged at €17 per day. In this day and age most four-star hotels offer this free.

None of this would matter very much if we had been paying €100 a night. But at nearly €300 -- excluding breakfast, wi-fi and parking -- it really is a rip-off.

I have stayed in lots of hotels in central Paris over the years, but I'm afraid I won't be staying at Hotel Cambon again any time soon.

Room Tip: The best rooms can be found at another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

I had the unfortunate to visit this hotel. Entered the room and laid down on the bed, starting having some of the complimentaries candies of the hotel..first one nice, second one nice, i open the third one and show ants coming out of it..antsssss...went down to complain, no measure was taken..next morning the concierge woke me up at 6.30 instead of 7.30.. When i woke up, i saw next to the bowl with the candies, even more ants.... The reaction from the hotel was to just upgrade me to a junior suite for the remaining nights...very dissapointed with the hotel and how they approached the topic...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hotel Cambon, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
We pay special attention to your comment like during your stay. Indeed we have considered your complaint immediately in order to change rooms for the rest of your stay. We've upgraded to a junior suite with no extra charge. We immediately made arrangements by calling our pest control company who confirmed that a plant located on the balcony of the room you were in, attracted ants. We immediately removed the plant.
Regarding the wrong time you wake up, please accept our apologies. We asked our receptionist who is on duty for more than 25 years who said he noted 6.30 am. I think there was a misunderstanding and will ensure the future what it has not renewed. We always try to provide the best service to our customers and will be careful that this inconvenience does not recur.
We regret that you did not keep a good impression of your visit here and hope to see you again to give you complete satisfaction on your next stay in Paris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynbrook
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

For a group of artists Hotel Cambon was the perfect place to stay. It is beautifully decorated with a love of art. The staff was attentive, caring and wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

We were a group of 6 friends who stayed for one night at the Hotel Cambon. It's a cute, quaint, lovely hotel with clean and attractive rooms and surroundings and an unusual feature of this hotel is their single rooms. The staff were very helpful, polite and accommodating to all our requests, particularly last minute changes and help with various restaurant bookings. Especially helpful were Fredrique, Isabelle and Stephanie. Excellent location. Would highly recommend this hotel and would certainly consider staying there when visiting Paris in the future!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

i Just came back from a trip to paris with my friend to watch roland Garros, we were supposed to stay at champs elysees... but i am so glad we were able to find a room in hotel cambon instead of champs elysees. Here's a detailed review of the hotel

Location: the location is perfect where its a walking distance from many touristic attractions like the louvre, place vendome, jardin du tulieries, rue saint honore, trocadero and champs elysees. so you get all that without all the crowd and commercially touristic nature of champs elyesees. also there are very chic hotels and restaurants around so you can have lunch or dinner in any of them, and experience the real france.

Hotel: the hotel is very clean and elegant, for a boutique hotel, it was certainly up to the standard

Hotel Staff: the staff are very nice and friendly, we never needed to ask for anything, they are so helpful and polite.

Rooms: the rooms are very clean and nothing was missing, there's a minibar in the room, the bathroom is very clean, with mini toiletries, hair dryer and bath robes. we stayed in the classic double room, its spacious enough with a double bed (and an option for twin beds if you want), there's a small sort of living area with a desk and a couch. so for a double room the room is perfect.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roslyn, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

This hotel is clean, bright and sunny. The rooms are modern as well as the lobby and breakfast area. Great art work throughout the hotel.
The staff all spoke english and were very helpful in all ways that help was needed.
I would love to have the opportunity to stay there again.

Room Tip: smaller rooms have balconies, larger rooms are more interior
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cambon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cambon

Address: 3 rue Cambon | 01 Arr., 75001 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#227 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#413 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cambon 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel to discover or to be discovered in next to no time whose regular guests hand the address by word of mouth.An exceptional site: near the Concorde Place and the Tuileries gardens, in one of the most prestigious street of Paris: Cambon Street, the historical headquarter of Coco Chanel, but also in the heart of the city’s most elegant shopping and art district, and just next door, place Vendôme for its well-known jewelleries,Few steps from the Louvre and Orsay Museums, Opera Garnier and 10 minutes walking distance from the Galeries Lafayette flagship store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Cambon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambon Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cambon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.