We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Beaumarchais Review” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Beaumarchais

Save Saved
You added Hotel Beaumarchais to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Beaumarchais
3 Rue Oberkampf | 11th Arr., 75011 Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,376 of 1,793 hotels in Paris
Chicago
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hotel Beaumarchais Review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I've been coming to this hotel literally for decades. It's the perfect location and albeit maybe a little bit on the small side, especially the elevator, it has everything you need in a hotel, especially if you spend the entire day sight seeing, eating, drinking and going out and you just need a crash pad. My favorite rooms are on the 5th floor overlooking the street, listening to all the Parisien sounds.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    27
    15
    11
    17
See reviews for
6
23
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Good experience with this hotel close walking distance to the lively marais a few bars and restaurants nearby but the street is not loud
good price very welcoming and charming
good basic parisian breakfast

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

An old hotel renovated in a simply way. Very nice people at the reception, open 24 hours. Small rooms with smaller bathrooms, clearly hastily renovated but with modern items and colours. For the position and the price is very good!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Positives
Outstanding - friendliness & helpfulness of the staff plus having someone at reception 24hrs.
Room quiet looking over the rear.
Comfortable and colourful ground floor lounge.
Brilliant location close to Marais, metro, bus.
Free WiFi.

Negatives
Bathroom tiny, room small but acceptable.

We were there in August and the weather was warmish mid 20s.

Room Tip: We had rear facing room on 5th floor = more light, no noise, good ventilation via windows. Continen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The room and bathroom were extremely small and dirty. We got bites all over our body while sleeping, not sure from what, but these were not normal mosquito bites!! The hotel is low end, more like a hostel (which is fine if that is what you pay for and expect). Location was decent (30 min walk to most sites) and trendy nearby restaurants and bars. Not worth paying less for an unsanitary hotel. Plus it was noisy in the morning, doors slamming all morning long.

Room Tip: Don't bother, go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I hesitated before booking this as the reviews I saw were somewhat mixed. Whether the hotel is for you or not will very much depend on your priorities. However, It suited my needs perfectly and represented good value for money given what I paid for it. I would definitely stay again. The hotel is a basic offering, ideal for people on a budget who want to spend most of their time (and money) out and about enjoying what the city has to offer, and want a conveniently located base from which to do so. I've put together a summary of what I see as the main pros and cons so you can decide for yourself whether this hotel is for you or not.

The pros:
* En suite bathroom. ( I did notice when I booked some other hotel rooms in Paris aren't all en suite)

* Squeaky clean - fresh bed covers, towels, room and bathroom cleaned daily.

* Very friendly and helpful staff.

* Free unlimited WiFi access - the connection seemed very reliable.

* The room has a safe for storing valuables.

* Convenient location very close to the centre and just a few minutes walk from two metro stations (Filles du Calvaire on line 8 which is the nearest and Oberkampf on line 5 which is a little further but still within easy walking distance)

* Great surrounding neighbourhood with a nice atmosphere. It all comes to life at night and has many bars, cafes and restaurants where you can enjoy sitting, taking in the surroundings and watching people go about their daily business.

* Safe at night. This was especially important for me as a lone female traveller. The hotel is more or less on the corner of the main boulevard of Filles de Calvaire and I felt perfectly comfortable arriving back late at night at this tube station and taking the two minute walk to the hotel.

* There is a Carrefour supermarket just a few minutes walk away on Rue Amelot which is really handy for stocking up on water, snacks and any essentials you may need or have forgotten to pack.


Cons.

For me there were no major downsides, but people should be aware of the following before booking so they can consider whether this hotel is for them.

* Breakfast is not included in the price (not a problem for me as I preferred to eat at a local cafe)

* There were no tea/coffee making facilities in my room. This wasn't a problem in August but I may appreciate a hot drink in winter so would probably take a travel kettle.

* My room had only a shower no bath - I didn't have a problem with this though some people may prefer a bath.

* There's no satelite TV - French channels only.

* The rooms are small and basic in terms of the furnishings. if you're looking for a place where you can relax and enjoy the comforts of your hotel room, rather than spending your evenings out and about enjoying the city this may not be your cup of tea.

* Apart from the entrance and reception which is welcoming and attractive the rest of the hotel feels somewhat run down and could do with a refurb. The owners have made an effort to make the best of this with the 'funky' decor but this may not be to everyone's taste.

Hope you find this review helpful

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Everything in this hotel is mini. The entrance door, the reception, the elevator, the hallway to get to the room, the room itself, the bed, the bathroom, the shower, it is very very very small. The colors of the rooms in the photos are misleading, as the ground moquet is old and pale, exactly like the hotel itself

One of the incidents that happened is that I had to go back to my room and close the door, so that one of the guests got into the adjacent room.

On another hand, the people taking the shifts on the reception are not the friendliest people you would meet. Even when raising a complaint, the receptionist barely answered, and made fun of the complaint the second day

It is true that the rooms are cheap, but then again, budget versus value you would be paying so much for such an experience. I used the room as a closet, where i just kept my stuff since i wasnt able to cancel.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Beaumarchais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beaumarchais

Also Known As:
Hotel Beaumarchais Hotel Paris
Hotel Beaumarchais Hotel
Beaumarchais Hotel Paris
Address: 3 Rue Oberkampf | 11th Arr., 75011 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,376 of 1,793 hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Beaumarchais is ideally situated in the heart of Paris. It lies between the historic neighborhood of the Marais with its museums, and the typically Parisian atmosphere of bars and restaurants of Rue Oberkampf. You will be welcomed by a warm atmosphere where the contemporary setting harkens of a distinctly southern style. A flowery patio welcomes you for breakfast. The 31 rooms feel fresh and gay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Beaumarchais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Beaumarchais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.