We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apart from Count Dracula, noone can be happy here - avoid this place” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Richmond Opera Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Richmond Opera Hotel to your Saves list
Richmond Opera Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Rue Du Helder, 75009 Paris, France (Batignolles-Monceau)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,400 of 1,792 Hotels in Paris
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Apart from Count Dracula, noone can be happy here - avoid this place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

I have stayed here 2 horrible nights in July 2012, traveled on business. Truth be told I had to travel to Paris on a short notice (meaning book flight & hotel on Monday, travel Tuesday morning) and this particular week seemed to be a week when the ENTIRE CITY is booked out. Apart from the 800+ EUR / night luxury hotels offering a few remaining rooms, even the airport hotels were pretty much full, let alone the ones in the city. A major event in Paris, probably. Anyways, I managed to find available rooms here (and in a prime downtown location) for less than the corporate rate (135 EUR / night) and this should have already been a warning sign. But I desperately needed the room, so booked anyways.

HOTEL

The hotel is located very close to Opera, in a small sidestreet. The only good thing about this hotel is the location.

CHECK IN

Check-in was done by an eldery Chinese man who barely spoke English (it's lucky I do speak some French) and was done in an interrogation style, like this:

Him: So what is your name?
Me: X Y
Him: And how many nights did you book?
Me: 2
Him: So that means you check out on Thursday?
Me: Yes
Him: So how many nights did you book?
Me: 2
Him: And you live in Z?
Me: Yes
Him: But you have a passport from W?
Me: Yes, because I was born there but now live in Z
Him: So how many nights did you book?
Me: 2
Him: How many persons in the room?
Me: Just me.
Him: But you booked a twin room.
Me: Yes, because this was the only room available.

And so on and so forth. Then he proceeded to fill my details into a notebook - a paper notebook - which took approximately 5 minutes. During this time he made this revolting noise one makes when trying to mimic a pig. But it was his thing, which he apparently does when concentrating really hard on something. Then he proceeded to give me the room key which weighs like a ton (there is no way you take it outside with you).

ROOM

The room was old: old carpet, old furniture, old crappy art on the wall, old bathroom which was far from clean (the toilet looked horrible). There was no proper duvet, just a blanket with a sheet underneath it. But the worst thing was: there were NO PILLOWS. Instead of pillows, they rolled up a blanket and covered that with the top of the sheet. So it was a sold, massive, long TUBE, but nothing like a pillow. The mattress was horrible, I had the worst sleep there both nights - I woke up in 30 minute intervals, and trust me generally I don't have trouble sleeping.

Based on how the room looked and the check-in experience I did not even dare to try the breakfast in the morning.

CHECK OUT

The same old Chinese guy who did the check in was on duty when I checked out in the morning. He slowly proceeded to give me a HANDWRITTEN receipt. A rarity for a hotel these days, I guess. At this stage I did not want to take a risk and proceeded paying with cash, because I did not feel enough trust towards this place to give them my credit card.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    39
    21
    11
    8
See reviews for
22
32
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in early June - never again. It needs a serious refurbishment. The furnishings look like they were bought at an antiques shop at bargain prices. The carpet was threadbare, the pillows were the worst, still not sure what was in them, if anything at all. The lift was barely 2 arms lenghts across and even less depth wise. The floor boards squeak, the walls are paper thin.

Simply a cheap and nasty place. A tired old hotel, way way past its prime. Do yourself a favour and stay away. Spend a little bit more money on a bit more luxury accomodation somewhere else

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights in March 2012. The room was huge and we had 3 balconies, but the room was smelly and a coat of paint would be a good idea (probably hasn't been painted for 20 years). Yes it is cheap and the location was good (close to Lafayette, trains and hop on-off bus) but its overdue for a renovation. Beds are old, the carpets smell and the floor boards creak big time. You can wake up the entire hotel by just going to the bathroom in the middle of the night. The people in the room above us kept us awake the 1st night because they were packing their bags for a few hours.

My biggest gripe was the lack of Internet included in the price. When we booked we received an email to say that internet was "available" and was rather shocked when it was explained to us that "available" meant that it was "available at an extra cost". Their web site has since been updated to say "wifi access with supplement".

The Internet "supplement" is VERY expensive and you get charged different rates if you use an iPhone, iPad or Laptop. iPhone was about 10 euros per day, but laptop was much much dearer, and if you use an iPhone and laptop then you have to pay twice (the one price does not cover both connections).

If you need to do some slightly serious Internet stuff (i.e. uploading photos, booking trains or checking into flights then look for a hotel that already has the Internet included in the price.

Pay the extra and go to a better hotel. This one is not worth the cheap price.

The food for breakfast is OK if you like a cold boiled eggs, cheap fatty ham, and very average croissants and low quality cheese.

The day time staff are nice and very knowledgeable but don't ask the night time staff anything (they are the B team and they are useless).

You can tell this is a very low budget hotel because its mainly Chinese that stay here.

Room Tip: Do not use this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akaa, Finland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Nice hotel with a wonderful and helpful staff. Breakfast was good, but quite small.
Clean rooms, but we were a bit disappointed with our view: we did have a french balcony but it was to a "shaft". Quiet hotel to sleep.
Great location to all places you must see the first time visiting Paris. I'd definitely recommend Richmond Opera to my friends!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

We were at a couple with twin babies. We received a large open room. Very large beds and comfort. Baby cribs are excellent. A very large bathroom and spacious.
Hotel furnishings elegant and noble, and the attitude of hotel staff pleasant, warm and very human.
Hotel location excellent. Downtown, near the Opera and Galery La Fayett and many popular sites.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011 via mobile

I never got to sleep here as you can hear the noise of people going up and down the stairs day and night! Rooms are a good size but packed in together so you can hear the people next door going in and out of the room. Horrendous experience.
Sheets were smelly and old. The room was stinking of stale smoke.
Only good thing about this hotel was the location

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

Very well situated. Breakfast is ok if included/free, else go out for breakfast - you are in Paris!

Room was OK, a bit old and a bit hot but there is air-conditioning. Can hear people in the hallway outside if they are talking but not a big deal for us.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Richmond Opera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Opera Hotel

Address: 11 Rue Du Helder, 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Batignolles-Monceau
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,400 of 1,792 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Richmond Opera Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional six-story hotel dating from turn of the century, located near the Place de l'Opera, just off les Grands Boulevards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Richmond Opera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Richmond Opera
Richmond Opera Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Richmond Opera Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.