We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If the United States only knew. . .” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TGV

TGV
Paris, France
Improve this listing
Ranked #266 of 732 attractions in Paris
Type: Public Transportation Systems, Scenic Railroads
Attraction Details
Concord, NH
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“If the United States only knew. . .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Boy, do we look backwards compared to Europe in many ways (health care, animals pumped full of steroids, our obsessions with cars and guns). Ride high-speed rail in Europe and you will be advocating some changes back home.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    114
    55
    32
    56
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Top Contributor
660 reviews 660 reviews
360 attraction reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
296 helpful votes 296 helpful votes
“Great way to get out to the provinces”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The TGV is a fast way to get around France, although there is a very big gap in using the TGV to get to the middle of France currently, but it is super fast and very nice way to get to the south of France in a relaxed manner in order to see the country side.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“awesome way to travel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I traveled from Paris to Dijon to Lyon to Avignon to Marseille and back to Paris. I booked the tickets way in advance, and get pretty good bargain. Journey was very pleasant, train is fast, and clean, and punctual! Id say it's the best way to travel in France. It only takes 3 hrs between Marseille and Paris, how awesome that is!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Scotrail could learn a thing or two”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Just back fom a LNG weekend in St Raphael and travelled on the TGV from Paris as no winter flights from Edinburgh to the South. Booked well in advance and chose first class as only 5 euros more and have t say I was very impressed. Lovely decor, loads of room to move around in your seat and even a reclining function if you're feeling tired. 4 hours and a few glasses of champagne later and we had reached our destination relaxed and ready to begin our holiday.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great way to travel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Travelled from Bordeaux to Paris. Booked online well in advance, no problems with ticketing, no hassles at any stage. Great way to get around France without driving. Very quick, clean and punctual.

Puts Australian train travel to shame!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TGV also viewed

 

Been to TGV? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TGV, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added TGV to your Saves list