We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay in Paris!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Paris

Save Saved
You added Shangri-La Hotel Paris to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Paris
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10, avenue d'Iena, 75116 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€715 (EUR)
Ranked #45 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The best place to stay in Paris!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

simply wonderful!
the location is fantastic, walking distance to the tower, the river, cafes etc.
for what is beyond walking distance there are a number of hotel cars available, or the staff will secure a taxi on your behalf.
i could write a whole page about the interior of the hotel, the lobby is clean, welcoming...and efficient. our bags were taken upon arrival, during our check in they were whisked to our room.
the service was the best i have ever had. the staff were outstanding. nothing could have been improved.
the room was extremely comfortable, wonderful views of Paris and the eifel tower.
we have booked a treturn visit to watch the final stage of the tour de france next year and i am looking forward to staying here again!

Room Tip: try to secure a room with a view of the eifell tower...and enjoy the nightly light shows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangriLaParis, Directeur général at Shangri-La Hotel Paris, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Talluk,

We would like to thank you for your very nice review on your stay at Shangri-La Hotel, Paris. It is a real pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed our location been so close to the major tourist attraction and we are happy to hear that you found our service "the best you ever had".

Be assured that we will share your comments with all our colleagues and we will be more than happy to welcome you back very soon for your next Parisian holidays!

Best Regards,

Stefan Bollhalder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    279
    42
    24
    10
    3
See reviews for
65
188
21
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This is truly a 5 Star hotel. Everything...from the airport pickup, to our departure was handled perfectly. Flying in from North America, and thus arriving in the early morning, it's rare to find your room ready. Our was. Our room was large, perfectly appointed, and I can't think of a thing that was missed.
The restaurants were great...make reservations if you intend on eating in the Chinese restaurant. The hotel is very well located.
Hotels in Paris are expensive...and the Shangri-La is more expensive than most. We saved some by booking a package (Romance in Paris) and what we paid was well worth the price.
I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Look through the various room packages. We found one that gave us a great large room, with a balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangriLaParis, Directeur général at Shangri-La Hotel Paris, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear travels46,

We would like to thank you for your very nice review on your stay at Shangri-La Hotel, Paris. It is a real pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed the benefits of our package - Romance in Paris. We note your comments on our location been so close to the major tourist attraction and of course are happy to hear that you found our quality of service excellent. It is most important for us to satisfy our guest .

Thank you for your recommendation of the food at the Shang Palace, our Authentic Cantonese 1 Star Michelin restaurant.

Be assured that we will share your comments with all our collegues and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon for your next Parisian holidays!

Best Regards,

Stefan Bollhalder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Hotel is a palace. Beautiful palace. Excellent location. We stayed at deluxe suite which was very nice and very comfortable. Big, comfortable bed. Excellent bathroom with Bulgari amenities. Great service, friendly staff. We had a great time in the hotel and we highly recommend it. It is perfect for a weekend break or for business trip. It is not cheap but it is Paris. All top hotels have similar prices and provide good quality of service. Shangri La is definitely in top 10 - without a doubt.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangriLaParis, Directeur général at Shangri-La Hotel Paris, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Robert F,

What a nice and kind review! Thank you very much for your detailed comment about your stay at Shangri-La Hotel, Paris. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and the comforts of your Deluxe Suite. It is very important to us to deliver a high quality of service during our guest stay and we are happy to know that you have been well looked after by our team.

We would like to thank you for your recommendation to the TripAdvisor community and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best Regards,

Stefan Bollhalder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed at Le Bristol last year and thought we'd give the Shangri-La a try. For us Le Bristol was the winner, by a nose.
Things we liked about the Shangri-La:
It's location - just steps away from the Eiffel Tower and a departure point for the BatiBus - the only sensible way to get around Paris.
The pool - great length and temperature. Wonderful to ease aching legs after a day's sightseeing.
The rooms are equally as large and comfortable as Le Bristol and our bathroom had a lovely big window letting in lots of light, a rarity for hotel bathrooms.
So, why didn't we like it as much as Le Bristol? The public spaces did not match up. The bar is much too small and crowded. The Shang Palace was superb (see separate review) and breakfast was good but dinner in the Bauhinia restaurant was terrible. The real difference though was the service. Having to wait two hours to check in (not getting to our rom till 5pm) did not give a good first impression. Apart from that everyone was very nice and polite, almost too polite, it didn't seem natural. Whereas at Le Bristol top service with a smile and a chat just seemed to come naturally, with the manager constantly visible and talking to the guests.
Oh, and one last thing, the hair drier in the room was like the ones you find in cheap motels where you have to keep your hand pressed on the switch to keep it going. Unforgivable for a hotel of this standard.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangriLaParis, Directeur général at Shangri-La Hotel Paris, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Diggaa,

Thank you for your review on your stay at Shangri-La Hotel, Paris. It is very important to us to have detailed feedback of our guest stay's in order to further improve our service. We are more than happy to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel which is, as you said, "just steps away from the Eiffel Tower". It is a real pleasure to know that you appreciated the size of our swimming-pool bathed in natural light through its magnificent glass window.

Be sure that we will also share your comments on our Shang Palace Restaurant with our Executive Chinese Chef Frank Xu. We are of course very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the dinner at La Bauhinia Restaurant at all.

We also regret that you had to wait for your room for a long time and we sincerely apologize for the inconvenient caused.

Be sure that we will share your review with all our collegues and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back very soon.

Best Regards,

Stefan Bollhalder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

This hotel was once home to Napoleon Bonaparte's, grandnephew. It is now a beautiful hotel which has been restored to its former glory with period furnishings. Impeccable service began immediately. Upon entering the hotel we were greeted by two doormen, then we had our personal guide who ushered us through check in and gave us a tour of the hotel with some history, reviewed our in house dining choices, then escorted us to our room and made sure we knew where everything was. This personalized service continued through our stay with wonderful concierge, and white gloved attention. This hotel is top notch, with breathtaking decor and a location right across the river from the Eiffel Tower. How romantic is it to have a view of the tower from your room? This is by far, my favorite visit to a hotel in my entire life, and I've been to many.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangriLaParis, Directeur général at Shangri-La Hotel Paris, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Deb P,

What a beautiful review, thank you! We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in the former home of Napoleon Bonaparte’s grandnephew, Prince Roland Bonaparte. Its good to know that you fully benefited from the proximity of the hotel to its major tourist attraction, and of course the view you enjoyed over the nearby Eiffel Tower. Our designer Mr Pierre-Yves Rochon will be pleased to know that you enjoyed his interior design of the rooms and public areas.
Most of all we are very pleased to know that our team has delivered the true Shangri-la service during your stay.
We are all looking forward to welcome you back soon to your favorite hotel.
Best Regards,

Stefan Bollhalder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Shangri-La was a brand we were only vaguely familiar with, and while not inexpensive, it was offering what seemed to be the best value for a larger suite in Paris. We were overwhelmed positively and had one of the overall finest hotel experiences of our lives. (Think Singapore Air meets Ritz Carlton)

We tend to use Ritz Carlton and Four Seasons as the standard of comparison for other hotels and this property stands up very favorably to any comparison. First, let me put a concern we had to rest...while Shangri-La is largely an Asian based brand, this hotel exudes classic Paris chic and doesn't present itself as Asian styled in any regard. (Not that we are opposed to that style, we love it in certain places but it didn't feel right for Paris) The common areas are richly luxurious, beautifully architecturally with elegant styling...quite impressive but immediately comfortable at the same time.

The rooms and overall property have more of a Ritz Carlton classic style as opposed to a more transitional Four Seasons style. The room itself exceeded any RC room in terms of style, fit and finish. The attention to detail was quite amazing, from the furniture, to the beveled marble, the carpet and other soft materials, lighting and of course, the bathroom...large, spacious and very luxurious. I can't stress enough the quality of the room and the extent to which we were impressed.

The staff is what you would expect from any world-class five-star property...expect everyone to know you by name from hour one, to be incredibly helpful at every opportunity and to seemingly all love their jobs and employer! The concierge desk was everything you would expect and then some.

We only dined at the hotel for breakfast, which was superb in every regard. Room service was perfect, having never waited more than 20 minutes. The bar, while smallish, was classic in design and feel. The gym was adequate, probably quite good by European standards but we did not try the spa while we were there. There is a beautiful indoor pool inlaid with mosaic tile...quite beautiful and never more than a couple of people utilizing it.

We stayed in a split-level suite which was very spacious and had a very pleasing view of a large, beautifully sculpted garden courtyard along with a partial view the the Eiffel Tower. My only caution with this room layout would be the stairs, they are small, circular and steep.

The location is perfect, easy walking to the Eiffel Tower (5 minutes), the Louvre (25 minutes) shopping at Avenue Montaigne and Champs-Élysées (25 minutes) and many other must-visit locations. Car service was always prompt when required.

Overall an amazing hotel experience, we are quite glad that we took a chance on the Shangri-La and can't imagine staying any place else in Paris. We also look forward to visiting other Shangri-La properties...we really were that impressed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangriLaParis, Directeur général at Shangri-La Hotel Paris, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Honest 0112,

We would like to thank you for your very nice and detailed review about your stay at Shangri-La Hotel, Paris. It is a real pleasure to read that you enjoyed the decoration of the hotel made by the architecte Pierre-Yves Rochon. It was very important to him, as the Shangri-La Brand, to make the Shangri-La Hotel, Paris a Parisian place for princely stays.
We are happy to read that you found a very high quality of service, it is very important for us to satisfy our guest in every details and we are delighted to know that you enjoyed the location of the hotel which is as you mentioned, very close to main tourist activities.

We have taken into account all your comments and remarks concerning your stay and we will share them with all our employees.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon for your next Parisian holidays!

Best Regards,

Stefan Bollhalder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

There is no doubt this is one of the finest hotels in Paris with commanding views of the Eiffel Tower.

As Golden Circle members we were upgraded to a lovely suite with champagne and chocolates on arrival... Shangri-La Golden Circle program truly is one of the best worldwide.

The suite and hotel exteriors and interiors are divine... At times, we didn't want to leave the comforts of this magnificent hotel.

However, for a hotel of this calibre we expect the best possible service, and sadly this was lacking in a couple of areas.

The breakfast in the hotel was served to us cold most days... Of course I did report this to staff and they did apologise, however it clearly should not happen. On our last day I specifically requested our meals come out hot which they did. Guests really shouldn't have to ask for this.

The service in La Bauhinia was slow... We waited 30 minutes for our breakfast one morning. Again, the staff were very apologetic, but it really should not happen.

Room servicing was also a concern with water in the fridge and cups in the drawer not replenished on a couple of occasions.

These matters aside, Shangri-La Paris is a divine hotel and we are very glad we have experienced it.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangriLaParis, Directeur général at Shangri-La Hotel Paris, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear NikolaGuy,

Thank you very much for your detailed comments about your stay at Shangri-La Hotel, Paris. It is a real pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay and even more thanks to your fidelity and the Golden Circle Program.
Unfortunately, it seems that you encountered some difficulties during your stay. It is not acceptable for a five stars hotel to not deliver a high quality of service and we would like to present you our apologize for the inconvenient. If you want to give us more detail about your stay, do not hesitate to contact me directly by phone +33 1 53 57 19 98 or by email via slpr@shangri-la.com.

Be sure that we will share your comments with all our employees and concerned managers in order to further more improve our service and we will be more than happy to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Stefan Bollhalder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Paris

Address: 10, avenue d'Iena, 75116 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Paris 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 101 rooms and suites, three restaurants, one Bar and four events and reception rooms, Shangri-La Hotel, Paris cultivates a warm and authentic ambience, drawing the best from two cultures: the Asian art of hospitality and the French art of living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Splendia, Amex, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Jetsetter, Expedia and Otel so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel Paris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.