We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fit for a queen!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Paris

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La Hotel Paris to your Saves list
Shangri-La Hotel Paris
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10, avenue d'Iena, 75116 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€820 (EUR)
Ranked #44 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Fort Myers, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Fit for a queen!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

This hotel was once home to Napoleon Bonaparte's, grandnephew. It is now a beautiful hotel which has been restored to its former glory with period furnishings. Impeccable service began immediately. Upon entering the hotel we were greeted by two doormen, then we had our personal guide who ushered us through check in and gave us a tour of the hotel with some history, reviewed our in house dining choices, then escorted us to our room and made sure we knew where everything was. This personalized service continued through our stay with wonderful concierge, and white gloved attention. This hotel is top notch, with breathtaking decor and a location right across the river from the Eiffel Tower. How romantic is it to have a view of the tower from your room? This is by far, my favorite visit to a hotel in my entire life, and I've been to many.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangriLaParis, Directeur général at Shangri-La Hotel Paris, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Deb P,

What a beautiful review, thank you! We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in the former home of Napoleon Bonaparte’s grandnephew, Prince Roland Bonaparte. Its good to know that you fully benefited from the proximity of the hotel to its major tourist attraction, and of course the view you enjoyed over the nearby Eiffel Tower. Our designer Mr Pierre-Yves Rochon will be pleased to know that you enjoyed his interior design of the rooms and public areas.
Most of all we are very pleased to know that our team has delivered the true Shangri-la service during your stay.
We are all looking forward to welcome you back soon to your favorite hotel.
Best Regards,

Stefan Bollhalder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    63
    28
    12
    3
See reviews for
87
245
27
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Shangri-La was a brand we were only vaguely familiar with, and while not inexpensive, it was offering what seemed to be the best value for a larger suite in Paris. We were overwhelmed positively and had one of the overall finest hotel experiences of our lives. (Think Singapore Air meets Ritz Carlton)

We tend to use Ritz Carlton and Four Seasons as the standard of comparison for other hotels and this property stands up very favorably to any comparison. First, let me put a concern we had to rest...while Shangri-La is largely an Asian based brand, this hotel exudes classic Paris chic and doesn't present itself as Asian styled in any regard. (Not that we are opposed to that style, we love it in certain places but it didn't feel right for Paris) The common areas are richly luxurious, beautifully architecturally with elegant styling...quite impressive but immediately comfortable at the same time.

The rooms and overall property have more of a Ritz Carlton classic style as opposed to a more transitional Four Seasons style. The room itself exceeded any RC room in terms of style, fit and finish. The attention to detail was quite amazing, from the furniture, to the beveled marble, the carpet and other soft materials, lighting and of course, the bathroom...large, spacious and very luxurious. I can't stress enough the quality of the room and the extent to which we were impressed.

The staff is what you would expect from any world-class five-star property...expect everyone to know you by name from hour one, to be incredibly helpful at every opportunity and to seemingly all love their jobs and employer! The concierge desk was everything you would expect and then some.

We only dined at the hotel for breakfast, which was superb in every regard. Room service was perfect, having never waited more than 20 minutes. The bar, while smallish, was classic in design and feel. The gym was adequate, probably quite good by European standards but we did not try the spa while we were there. There is a beautiful indoor pool inlaid with mosaic tile...quite beautiful and never more than a couple of people utilizing it.

We stayed in a split-level suite which was very spacious and had a very pleasing view of a large, beautifully sculpted garden courtyard along with a partial view the the Eiffel Tower. My only caution with this room layout would be the stairs, they are small, circular and steep.

The location is perfect, easy walking to the Eiffel Tower (5 minutes), the Louvre (25 minutes) shopping at Avenue Montaigne and Champs-Élysées (25 minutes) and many other must-visit locations. Car service was always prompt when required.

Overall an amazing hotel experience, we are quite glad that we took a chance on the Shangri-La and can't imagine staying any place else in Paris. We also look forward to visiting other Shangri-La properties...we really were that impressed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangriLaParis, Directeur général at Shangri-La Hotel Paris, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Honest 0112,

We would like to thank you for your very nice and detailed review about your stay at Shangri-La Hotel, Paris. It is a real pleasure to read that you enjoyed the decoration of the hotel made by the architecte Pierre-Yves Rochon. It was very important to him, as the Shangri-La Brand, to make the Shangri-La Hotel, Paris a Parisian place for princely stays.
We are happy to read that you found a very high quality of service, it is very important for us to satisfy our guest in every details and we are delighted to know that you enjoyed the location of the hotel which is as you mentioned, very close to main tourist activities.

We have taken into account all your comments and remarks concerning your stay and we will share them with all our employees.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon for your next Parisian holidays!

Best Regards,

Stefan Bollhalder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

There is no doubt this is one of the finest hotels in Paris with commanding views of the Eiffel Tower.

As Golden Circle members we were upgraded to a lovely suite with champagne and chocolates on arrival... Shangri-La Golden Circle program truly is one of the best worldwide.

The suite and hotel exteriors and interiors are divine... At times, we didn't want to leave the comforts of this magnificent hotel.

However, for a hotel of this calibre we expect the best possible service, and sadly this was lacking in a couple of areas.

The breakfast in the hotel was served to us cold most days... Of course I did report this to staff and they did apologise, however it clearly should not happen. On our last day I specifically requested our meals come out hot which they did. Guests really shouldn't have to ask for this.

The service in La Bauhinia was slow... We waited 30 minutes for our breakfast one morning. Again, the staff were very apologetic, but it really should not happen.

Room servicing was also a concern with water in the fridge and cups in the drawer not replenished on a couple of occasions.

These matters aside, Shangri-La Paris is a divine hotel and we are very glad we have experienced it.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangriLaParis, Directeur général at Shangri-La Hotel Paris, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear NikolaGuy,

Thank you very much for your detailed comments about your stay at Shangri-La Hotel, Paris. It is a real pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay and even more thanks to your fidelity and the Golden Circle Program.
Unfortunately, it seems that you encountered some difficulties during your stay. It is not acceptable for a five stars hotel to not deliver a high quality of service and we would like to present you our apologize for the inconvenient. If you want to give us more detail about your stay, do not hesitate to contact me directly by phone +33 1 53 57 19 98 or by email via slpr@shangri-la.com.

Be sure that we will share your comments with all our employees and concerned managers in order to further more improve our service and we will be more than happy to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Stefan Bollhalder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, Usa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Knowledgable and friendly staff. Great location in the heart of Paris. Beautifully decorated and comfortable rooms (huge bathrooms with great Bulgari amenities). The best views of the Eiffel tower. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangriLaParis, Directeur général at Shangri-La Hotel Paris, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Gabriela S,

We would like to thank you for your very nice review about your stay at Shangri-La Hotel, Paris. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the location of the hotel which is very close to Paris main museums, the Eiffel Tower and Champs Elysees. We are also very happy to know that you enjoyed the BVLGARI amenities in your room and the beautiful views of the Eiffel Tower which are totally unique in Paris.

Be sure that we will share your great comments with the employees of the hotel.

We will be more than happy to welcome you back very soon.

Best Regards,

Stefan Bollhalder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hingham, Massachusetts, Usa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This hotel is absolutely beautiful. The staff is beyond kind and helpful. I highly recommend staying here if you have the opportunity. Our room was enormous even by American standards and the location was excellent. Metro was nearby. The views of the Eiffel tower can not be beat.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangriLaParis, Directeur général at Shangri-La Hotel Paris, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Suzanne K,

What a nice review about your stay at Shangri-La Hotel, Paris!
Thank you very much for your comment. We are very happy to know that you found the hotel "absolutely beautiful".
It is a pleasure to read as well that our team delivered a high quality of service and that you appreciated the room and the location of the hotel, which is indeed very close to the Avenue Montaigne, the Champs Elysées and Trocadero.
As for the views of the Eiffel Tower, they are indeed unique in Paris and we are delighted to learn that you loved them.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best Regards,

Stefan Bollhalder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona del Mar
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed during the second week of September 2013. The experience was so extraordinary, that this hotel truly is in a class of its own. We have stayed not only in the finest hotels in Paris, but also the world. None compare. We stayed in the Eiffel Duplex Suite. The views of the Eiffel Tower from the room and our very large terrace were exceptional. Our first night, we had dinner on the terrace and it was exquisite . Our room was luxurious, well laid out and had very comfortable bedding/pillows. This was also the only hotel in Europe that I've ever stayed that had a strong enough internet connection to actually fully function. The expresso machine was wonderful in the mornings. But beyond everything else, the service at every level was extraordinary. We felt welcome and comfortable, in what easily could have been a very stuffy and uppity environment, but wasn't. Couldn't recommend this hotel any higher.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangriLaParis, Directeur général at Shangri-La Hotel Paris, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Tim W,

What a very nice review about your stay at Shangri-La Hotel, Paris! It is a real pleasure to know that you spent a really good time in the hotel. The Eiffel Duplex Suites offer indeed incredible views of the Eiffel Tower and you really have the feeling to be in a Parisian apartment. We are happy to read that you found a very high quality of service, it is very important for us to satisfy our guest in every details. Our complementary WiFi is actually a large broad band access and we are delighted that you enjoyed it!

Be sure that we will share your comments with all our employees and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Best Regards,

Alain Borgers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The hotel's perfect location and beautiful property is only part of the equation. The service was impeccable and beyond compare. The staff made my husband and I feel genuinely at home. Everyone was incredible kind, gracious and helpful. The general manager was extremely professional and warm, welcoming us personally to the hotel and going above and beyond to make sure our stay was an amazing one. The concierge was also extremely considerate and helpful. After staying in many other luxury hotels in Europe, I can easily say that this was above and beyond the very best.

Room Tip: We were placed in what we were told was a newer wing of the hotel, but as every inch of the hotel lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Shangri La Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangriLaParis, Directeur général at Shangri-La Hotel Paris, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear DfromNYCNYC,

We would like to thank you for your really great comment about your stay at Shangri-La Hotel, Paris. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and the property itself. It is an honor to read that, according to you, Shangri-La Hotel, Paris is the best hotel in Europe!
Thank you also for your comment about the service, be assured that we will share it with all our employees.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best Regards,

Alain Borgers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Paris

Address: 10, avenue d'Iena, 75116 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Paris 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 101 rooms and suites, three restaurants, one Bar and four events and reception rooms, Shangri-La Hotel, Paris cultivates a warm and authentic ambience, drawing the best from two cultures: the Asian art of hospitality and the French art of living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splendia, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel Paris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.