We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Hotel with Amazing Restaurants” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Paris

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La Hotel Paris to your Saves list
Shangri-La Hotel Paris
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10, avenue d'Iena, 75116 Paris, France (Trocadero)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€1,225 (EUR)
Ranked #34 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
DC, Beirut
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
56 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Very Good Hotel with Amazing Restaurants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This was our first visit to a Shangri La--we usually stay at the Park Hyatt in Paris. The Shangri La is a very good hotel. The rooms are large ---very nice bathrooms--and a comfortable bed. The Staff were very friendly and also spoke very good English. The entrance to the hotel and the hotel itself are very beautifully restored. It is a smaller hotel with about 82 rooms. The Restaurants (all 3) are very very good. L'Abeille restaurant is just incredible. The service in L'Abeille is incredible. Also if you get a room with a view of the Eiffel Tower it must be amazing but those are close to 2,000 Euros a night.

The downsides--I realize these are very picky but at the price you pay these things should be corrected. It is very expensive more than the Park Hyatt. The location is not ideal since the only attraction that is close by is the Eiffel Tower. Also housekeeping had a few misses--they forgot to replenish the soaps and shampoo, they did not change our water bottle (leaving the one from the previous night) on turn down, 1 night of the turn down did not include closing the window shades and they threw items away that my wife wanted to save. Finally, we ordered Room Service where they forgot an appetizer, drinks etc. They also quickly fixed it but each time the room service attendant would ring the doorbell and enter the room with his own key--maybe he was trying to be nice but I found it strange that he does not wait for me to open the door.

We also ordered a flower arrange for Valentines for 150 Euros --they forgot to remove the paper and plastic wrapping which was immersed in the water part of the vase and could not be removed without making a mess. When we told they quickly fixed and it should have been done from the start.

Room Tip: If you can afford the Eiffel Tower rooms they must be amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangriLaParis, Directeur général at Shangri-La Hotel Paris, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Baci2003,

We would like to thank you for your review about your stay at Shangri-La Hotel, Paris.
Be sure that we have taken into account all your points which are very useful for us in order to improve even more our services and hospitality. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused by the incidents mentioned.

I have discussed with the concerned departments about your review in order to better anticipate our guests' requests, to better respect our guest's privacy and to be more attentive to details. Be assured that a reminder on the importance of our standards of service and hospitality has been made clear.

Thank you once more for sharing your impressions and we hope to welcome you back very soon.

Best regards,
A.Borgers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    79
    32
    13
    3
See reviews for
115
310
36
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The hotel is right by the Trocadero, opposite the seine from the Eiffel Tower. It is very easy to get to from anywhere in the city but tucked away a bit from the hustle and bustle. We booked a premier duplux suite and a deluxe room and the room sizes are very large for a central Parisian hotel. The hotel is quite new so there were a lot of modern touches (such as the electric curtains and shades controlled from switches on the wall and beside the bed). The rooms had everything we could want during out stay with plenty of space to put luggage and clothes. We were checked in inside the suite by the front desk staff and when booking had mentioned we wanted to hold a meeting in the room that afternoon. During check in the lady asked us what she could get for out meeting and some refreshments were swiftly sent up to the room. Some of the rooms from the upper floor have spectacular views of the Eiffel Tower, but to paraphrase Guy de Maupassant, why splash out more on a room with that view when you can see it from all over Paris! We have a lovely room overlooking the front of the hotel with a nice balcony. We are already planning out next visit to the hotel!

Room Tip: Don't waste money on an Eiffel Tower view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Great location. Staff are very attentive. Breakfast is very overpriced. Rooms are lovely and our room and great views. Would definitely stay here again. The best staff I've ever come across in the world.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I've been lucky to stay at several wonderful Paris hotels, including Four Seasons George V and the Plaza Athenee...but this was by far my favorite. The experience was truly exceptional from start to finish. The hotel staff was incredibly warm and attentive to our every need. We were upgraded upon arrival to an amazing two-story suite with an incredible view of the Eiffel Tower. The room itself was very Parisian while subtly incorporating eastern elements. The room was modern, impeccably clean and despite its size, felt comfortable. The lobby and each of the other common spaces were lovely and had so many interesting design elements. During our brief 2 night stay, we had breakfast in our room, lunch in the restaurant, drinks at the bar and afternoon tea in the lounge - the food and drinks were wonderful on all occasions and the scene was quite lovely as well (busy, but not too busy). The concierge and bellman were always very helpful and had spent considerable time helping my fiance make arrangements in advance of the trip. The hotel feels more intimate than the other hotels I have stayed in in Paris. Although some find the location to be less desirable than some of the other hotels, you are really only a 10-15 minute walk to Avenue Montaigne, des Champs Elysees, etc. and I don't think we ever paid more than 10 euros in a cab to get anywhere we wanted to go from the hotel (besides the airport, of course). I am a picky traveler, and I had no complaints. It was a very special weekend for me and I just want to thank the hotel for everything they did to make it even more amazing. Would return in a heartbeat and was very sad to leave!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I booked this hotel for our long weekend in December last year mainly based on the reviews i read. The hotel is located in a beautiful building with lots of history relating to Napoleons cousin. When we arrived the staff were very attentive and helpful and everything looked as glossy as i had expected until we were taken to our room.

Yes the room was lovely and a fantastic view of the tower but the reception staff did not tell me when they sold me an upgrade that you could hear drilling from building works next door. The management offered their apologies but i thought it was rather naughty of them not to inform arriving guests of the ongoing works next door to the hotel.

We had a lovely time and we are going to stay at the Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi in March so will keep you guys updated.

Room Tip: Ask about the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Probably the best hotel I've ever stayed in! Excellent and discreet service! The check in process in my suite was a nice touch as was the Jasmine tea on arrival. The knowledge of the concierge team was superb and the restaurant bookings they made for me for first class. Lots of nice little touches that separate this from the mainstream hotels in Paris and a stunning view of The Eiffel Tower from my room. Excellent breakfast , wonderful pool and spa facilities . Cannot recommend this hotel enough.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with Eiffel Tower view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My family recently stayed at this gorgeous hotel for only 2 nights. I wish it could have been more! The only problem that I had was that I just wanted to stay at the hotel when I should be out sightseeing. Upon arrival, staff is so welcoming. You can sit down in a lounge while checking in. They bring you tea or coffee and water to refresh you after your (probable) long journey. We were taken to our tower view duplex suite, and I could've just sat there, so comfy, with that view for days. Such a historic building with such great modern amenities, coffee maker (pod espresso style), dark curtains/lighting from the bedside switches, great Bulgari and L'Occitane amenities. Although we were not there on business, I was very impressed with the desk. Wifi, in room printer, drawer with scotch tape, paper clips, white out, scissors etc. They just thought of everything.

One more tip. The concierge, who are all clefs d'or, have tickets for many attractions (boat tours, museums etc). You can buy them at the hotel and not have to stand in ticket lines! Great attention to detail.

Room Tip: If possible, get the tower view (even more fantastic at night after a long sightseeing day).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Paris

Address: 10, avenue d'Iena, 75116 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Trocadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Paris 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 101 rooms and suites, three restaurants, one Bar and four events and reception rooms, Shangri-La Hotel, Paris cultivates a warm and authentic ambience, drawing the best from two cultures: the Asian art of hospitality and the French art of living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel Paris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.