We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWFUL - BUGS WALK ON TABLE !!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Le Petit Centre du Monde

Le Petit Centre du Monde
1 bis rue Jean Mermoz, 75008 Paris, France
153762442
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Book Online and Save Up to 30% *
Le Petit Centre du Monde is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
*Some exclusions may apply.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,354 of 13,462 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: The Small Centre of the World - elegant ant reasonable, trendy and rafining! Come to try the best "Bo-Bun" in Paris and our exclusive homemade springrolls and nems! Also our extraordinary vietnamienne chef de cusine will prepare for you the mostly traditional vietnamienne course like beef "Luc-Lac", "Tiger who cry" and the famous asian dessert "Coco Pearls"
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“AWFUL - BUGS WALK ON TABLE !!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Dreadful experience, dirty, bug-infested restaurant and bad food.

Fried nem rolls were fried with dirty oil that you could taste. The Pho, one of my favourite soups was greasy with awful aftertaste of badly made stock and cheap ground beef, I could only eat the noodles from it. To make it all worse three bugs walked across out table while we had dinner.

To boot, the blond lady at front of house shouted at us "what do you want me to do about it?" when we complained about the 3 bugs we saw walking across the table. Not given away, our bill for bottle water, bottle wine, shared starter, Pho and Caramelised pork was €112. The Pho returned to the kitchen practically untouched and there was not even a gesture to have it taken off the bill when we complained about it. That the rice was decent, is the only good thing we can say about it. AVOID, LIKE THE PLAGUE IT IS PROBABLY IS INFESTED BY.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    37
    23
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“best atmoshpere and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

absolutely the best vietnamen restqurant in paris. spring rolls are highly reccomended. and then dont forget to order a fillet in oyster sause. absolutely amasing! really friendly stuff. both things are making your evening incredible!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Intentionally or not, fusion reigns supreme”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Not quite sure what to make of this place. A Vietnamese restaurant coupled with a champagne bar, decorated in an off-beat, Parisian bar américain style, run by friendly Slavs. The food was tasty but, in my opinion, too greasy, with some items definitely overpriced - a relatively small bowl of phó, which was tasty but lacked some of the helpful trimmings, such as fresh mint leaves, bean sprouts, lemon, a hot pepper, etc. for twice the price of a huge bowl of phó at some more modest looking, but perhaps more genuine, establishments. If you're looking for a simple, homey Vietnamese meal, this is definitely not the place. If, however, you're looking for a post-modern fusion of imaginary places intricately bundled together, you will certainly find traces of it here. I asked for a cup of green tea with my food, and when I got a pot of organic green Darjeeling (an excellent tea but definitely not the brew of choice in most Vietnamese establishments), I must admit I was genuinely amused after going through the initial shock.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing food!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The best meet I have ever tried in my life!!! ( 35 years old :) Location is perfect. Palm treas at the door :)

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Very nice, reasonably priced.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

Me and my wife spent three dinners there during our vacation to Paris, which lasted for a week so you see that we enjoyed the restaurant. Service was excellence the restaurant was cleane and nice and not overbooked. Prices were reasonable too, ranging from €20-€30 per person including something to drink.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Le Petit Centre du Monde also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Petit Centre du Monde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Petit Centre du Monde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.