We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Montmartre Cemetery (Cimetiere Montmartre)

Montmartre Cemetery (Cimetiere Montmartre)
20 av. Rachel | 18e, Paris, France (Montmartre)
01-43-87-64-24
Improve this listing
Ranked #67 of 636 Attractions in Paris
Type: Cemeteries, Historic Sites, Neighborhoods, Cultural
Activities: Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This cemetery is the final resting place of Émile Zola, Edgar Degas, Alexandre Dumas as well as other artistic luminaries.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fascinating place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I do not want to sound weird but I found this place absolutely fascinating . It was my first experience of a cemetry of this size and interest . It is obvious that many artists and people who worked in the entertainment industry have chosen this cemetry to be their final resting place . The tombs and headstones are sometimes wonderful and bizarre at the same time . Will visit here again .

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    75
    27
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“the living dead”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

As in life there are some flamboyant final resting places,the overall feeling is not one of gloom,it's celebration for all the fabulous things-entertainment,bought to the world when they were alive.Relatively quiet spot also,acting as a break to the hustle and bustle.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“They hate tripods!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is the only cemetery I've ever been in where I was stopped from using a tripod by one of the staff. There was no explanation for this and, on reading the noticeboard, there was NO mention of tripods being banned. I think the caretaker guy was disappointed when I said I was neither a professional photographer nor a journalist. Ridiculous!!! Any photographer worth their salt uses a tripod these days. What's with these people. I can understand this 'rule' in a small church filled with people, or in a museum, but come on - a, eleven hectare cemetery with a handful of visitors about!!! Next time I go there, I will not produce my tripod until I'm out of sight of the caretaker's office. Sod 'em.

That apart, this cemetery has a fabulous collection of memorials and sculptures. A must for anyone interested in sculpture, graveyards, headstones etc.

Graveyard lacks an adequate guide book or signage to indicate the graves of famous people.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherstburg, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Why visit a cemetery on vacation?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband asked me why I wanted to visit this cemetery when we toured Paris. It sounds creepy but in reality it wasn't at all. There was a haunting serenity there that is beyond description. Thousands of crypts and statues, all paying their respect to the dead from early 1500's to present day, each of them unique in one way or another gave us understanding of the French people. The famous ballet dancer, Nijinski, actually has a life sized statue of himself sitting on his tomb. Dumas, Berlioz, Offenbach are there. Be sure to stop at the entrance and get a map of the place. It has all the names of the famous people buried there. Well worth the time.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Spooky, incredible and extravagant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I love cemeteries. Have visited dozens over the years. This cemetery is the best so far. The crypts and mausoleums are amazing . Peer through the iron doors and see intricate stained glass, statues and china floral tributes. Shame there is no English signs but I did love the one at the entrance telling you what not to do. Amongst the instructs were not to skate, use your phone or feed a cat! I have never thought of taking a can of Whiskas to a cemetery before now.
It definitely is the spookiest cemetery I have ever seen, and the locals tell me they go on Halloween. No way!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montmartre Cemetery (Cimetiere Montmartre) also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Montmartre Cemetery (Cimetiere Montmartre)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montmartre Cemetery (Cimetiere Montmartre), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.