We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like Home in Paris” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Relais Saint-Germain

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Relais Saint-Germain to your Saves list
Hotel Relais Saint-Germain
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9, Carrefour de l'Odeon, 75006 Paris, France (Odeon / Saint-Michel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #31 of 1,791 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Like Home in Paris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This was our second visit to Le Relais St. Germain, and our experience was every bit as good as it had been during our first visit four years ago. The staff members try to connect with all their visitors, so after a couple of days (we stayed for four), they will remember preferences and ask about your travels. They can handle English and French that has suffered from many years of disuse. It's nice to be in a place where, if your French is rusty, there is not an immediate switch to English.

Of course a major benefit to staying at Le Relais Saint Germain is the preferred guest access to Le Comptoir, the wonderful paired bistro, whose popularity is underlined by the ever present lines of folks who are not hotel guests waiting for access. Breakfast at Le Comptoir was simple (croissant, cheese, ham, coffee, juice, fruit, and egg) but excellent. We never took advantage of the in-room service because we enjoyed the morning atmosphere at the restaurant.

Our room faced the street (Carrefour de l'Odeon), and although there was a lot of activity until 11:30 or so, it was quiet thereafter until a couple of hours after dawn. The neighborhood is a wonderful slice of Paris.

Room Tip: Overlook Carrefour de l'Odeon. The street noise diminishes in the late evening, and the view is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clyvebaq, Directeur général at Hotel Relais Saint-Germain, responded to this review, December 29, 2014
We're truly grateful for your kind comments.It's help us to constantly improve our services.
We all wish you a happy new year!
The team of the Relais Saint Germain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    68
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
69
226
22
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We just returned from 4 nights in this fabulous hotel right in the heart of the St. Germain area and close to the Metro. Our room while not huge was large enough, well appointed and had a magnificent view of the street action. We arrived on "music day" and were treated to a concert just outside our window. The hotel staff were all very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We enjoyed our morning breakfast in the restaurant downstairs (Le Comptoir which is part of the hotel) watching the locals head off to work. The location is close to some of the major attractions and there is an abundance of beautiful restaurants and bars to choose from each night. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the street - on the 3rd floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clyvebaq, Directeur général at Hotel Relais Saint-Germain, responded to this review, December 29, 2014
We're truly grateful for your kind comments.It's help us to constantly improve our services.
We all wish you a happy new year!
The team of the Relais Saint Germain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Second time at Le Relais St. Germain, and it is as good as ever. The owners and staff could not be nicer, or more professional. Although I speak French, my wife and friends who stayed there did not, and that was no issue at all. Spectacular breakfasts brought up to the room every morning, and dinner at Le Comptoir is a must if you stay at the hotel. (Otherwise reserve a table 3-4 months in advance.) One small tick at Le Comptoir at one of our dinners was a poultry course with the birds arriving still on the raw side. The problem was immediately resolved and at the end we were presented with a second, and most magnificent dessert, melon balls in a citrus ginger broth. I cannot recommend this hotel any higher, as everything was superb.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clyvebaq, Directeur général at Hotel Relais Saint-Germain, responded to this review, December 29, 2014
We're truly grateful for your kind comments.It's help us to constantly improve our services.
We all wish you a happy new year!
The team of the Relais Saint Germain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We just returned from Paris and a 6 night stay at the hotel RSG. What a treat. We booked this hotel after doing research with the primary goal as location: proximity to St Germaine neighborhood and the metro as a direct line to Roland Garros since we were headed to the French Open. What a surprise that it lived up to all the positive reviews in terms of service, charm and dining! I didn't really focus on the restaurant but when I saw all the people queued up to dine at Le Comptoir du Relais, it dawned on me what an opportunity we had to obtain a coveted dinner reservation by being a guest of the hotel. It did not disappoint.
Also, the staff here is minimal. The front desk person is your go to for everything. Sometimes they are quite busy so it requires a little patience. Everyone there is willing to go the extra mile to help you, in particular Marie. We enjoyed seeing her in the morning with a big smile and bon jour and ready to assist us with our plans for the day. If you manage your expectation to a boutique hotel you will not be disappointed here. It's a charming experience that will make you want to go back again and again.

Room Tip: We loved being in the tower - felt like our own flat. Jorge Amado #50. Get your legs in shape by w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clyvebaq, Directeur général at Hotel Relais Saint-Germain, responded to this review, December 29, 2014
We're truly grateful for your kind comments.It's help us to constantly improve our services.
We all wish you a happy new year!
The team of the Relais Saint Germain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Just returned from our second stay at this wonderful small hotel. It was a perfect fit for us. If you need large fast elevators, 35+ TV stations, and expansive bathrooms this is probably not a good fit. If you need a perfect location, a warm and personal staff, charming very comfortable room, a great breakfast included in the price, access to a much sought after evening dining experience this is the place for you.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clyvebaq, Directeur général at Hotel Relais Saint-Germain, responded to this review, December 29, 2014
We're truly grateful for your kind comments.It's help us to constantly improve our services.
We all wish you a happy new year!
The team of the Relais Saint Germain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We choose this hotel for location mainly. St. Germain is a good for walking all of Paris. As well as being a very interesting place in itself on a previous trip to Paris we had stayed a couple of blocks away in St. michel.

Although we did first see the hotel in a Courmet traveller mag, we we not really aware that the restaurant attached to he hotel was on of the most sort after place to book. Up to a 4 month wait, of hotel guests had preference. Also attached is a standup creperie and "tapas" place, a lot fun to be in with great food.

But the hotel itself was also great. We had a large well appointed room. The service was good and the breakfast each morning was a highlight. A small hotel with a very family like feel.

You must try this hotel at least once in your life.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clyvebaq, Directeur général at Hotel Relais Saint-Germain, responded to this review, December 29, 2014
We're truly grateful for your kind comments.It's help us to constantly improve our services.
We all wish you a happy new year!
The team of the Relais Saint Germain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago IL
Level Contributor
255 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Sometimes we rent apartments, this visit we stayed here in this well located hotel and loved it. The room is gigantic by Paris standards and has a terrace with table and chairs.
Following Chef Camdeborde from his days at La Regalade we knew if we stayed here that we would have that coveted dinner reservation at Le Comptoir.
Breakfasts are lovely and served in the restaurant by two charming young men who could not have been more polite and friendly as was all staff here. The Gerard Mulot croissants and breads are divine.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clyvebaq, Directeur général at Hotel Relais Saint-Germain, responded to this review, December 29, 2014
We're truly grateful for your kind comments.It's help us to constantly improve our services.
We all wish you a happy new year!
The team of the Relais Saint Germain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Luxembourg Parc
Hotel Luxembourg Parc
#32 of 1,791 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 1,056 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de l'Abbaye Saint-Germain
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Relais Christine
Relais Christine
#64 of 1,791 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel d'Aubusson
Hotel d'Aubusson
#63 of 1,791 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 759 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Signature St Germain des Pres
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Da Vinci
Hotel Da Vinci
#49 of 1,791 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Relais Saint-Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Relais Saint-Germain

Address: 9, Carrefour de l'Odeon, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#21 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#35 Family Hotel in Paris
#272 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Relais Saint-Germain 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Paris, between the Sorbonne and Saint Germain des Pres, Relais Saint Germain perpetuates the literary and gourmet tradition of the latin quarter while offering its own complete art de vivre. The Hotel, the bar with its hors d'oeuvre, the brasserie during the day and the gourmet restaurant at dinner dinner time, contribute to a unique and outstanding range of services. Our ambition is to offer our clients personalized rooms in a family(style environment while giving them a taste of our vision of luxury a la francaise. Relais saint Germain is your choice location with is sophisticated and convivial ambiance. Because Paris is a "moveable feast" our rooms are dedicated to the writers who contributed to the legend of the capital : Honore de Balzac, Antoine Blondin, Hemingway, Joyce, Proust, casanova, Francois Sagan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hotel Relais Saint-Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Relais Saint Germain Paris
Relais St Germain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Relais Saint-Germain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.