We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip Advisor on the Mark” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Relais Saint-Germain

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Relais Saint-Germain to your Saves list
Hotel Relais Saint-Germain
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9, Carrefour de l'Odeon, 75006 Paris, France (Odeon / Saint-Michel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
€1 (EUR)
Ranked #19 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fairfield, Connecticut
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Trip Advisor on the Mark”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

This is a great little hotel in the Sixth arroundisemont, perhaps the most interesting neighborhood in Paris. All the reviews proved to be true--It is a warm and charming boutique hotel with a great view of the street scene in a neighborhood of high quality shops and restaurants. We loved our little room with oak beams and lots of sun. A bit noisy one night but the cafes were buzzing. The restaurant is worth a meal or two and not an issue getting a choice reservation if you are a guest. Small elevators make it a bit of a challenge for large folk or those with lots of luggage who wish to carry it themselves.
But all in all a fantastic experience. Spring flowers and sunshine completed the stay. Back next time for sure.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clyvebaq, Directeur général at Hotel Relais Saint-Germain, responded to this review, December 29, 2014
We're truly grateful for your kind comments.It's help us to constantly improve our services.
We all wish you a happy new year!
The team of the Relais Saint Germain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    55
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
59
196
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I have so much to say about this beautiful hotel, that a paragraph or two won't suffice. We were beyond impressed with the quality of service we received during our week stay at Le Relais. It was simply five stars. We cannot say enough about Marie. She took care of us and let us experience the finest cuisines in Paris with her restaurant recommendations. The best, of course, being the hotel's own restaurant, le Comptoir. The breakfast was amazing. The staff made us feel at home every morning, remembering our orders after the second day. Thank you, Tristan and Ben!
We feel fortunate to have found this gem in Paris. The location is excellent and so convenient with the metro and bus station right around the corner. There is much to see in the area itself.
The rooms each have there own charm. We had two rooms, 52 and 56. The interior has an authenticity which takes you to another era. Simply magical.
When in Paris, Le Relais will be the only hotel for us. We look forward to seeing our friends there again.
Thank you, Marie!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clyvebaq, Directeur général at Hotel Relais Saint-Germain, responded to this review, December 29, 2014
We're truly grateful for your kind comments.It's help us to constantly improve our services.
We all wish you a happy new year!
The team of the Relais Saint Germain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

I have to admit that I'm a bit of a hotel snob, and was filled with some trepidation upon arriving here after a few days at the Four Seasons in London. This is far from your large, commercial type of hotel with a fairly non-descript presence (our taxi driver missed the entrance twice). When we were told only two people could fit in the elevator at one time, I really began to wonder about our choice. BUT...our attitude quickly changed. After an extremely warm welcome, we went up to our rooms (as a family, we had booked two rooms). I had made all of our arrangements via email, and they had placed us in exactly the types of rooms we had requested in close proximity. They were very nice and well-appointed rooms with the comforts and conveniences you would expect at any modern hotel. The staff was extremely kind and helpful throughout our stay, and honestly, as much as I like my Four Seasons and Mandarin Oriental type hotels, I can't imagine having had a more enjoyable stay in Paris. This hotel is in an amazing neighborhood where you feel that you are really in Paris (the area where some of the higher end hotels are has become very commercialized and "touristy.") Within a few blocks we had so many cafes, bakeries, shops and even Starbucks. The Metro station was right on our corner and we could get anywhere in Paris very quickly and efficiently. The hotel's restaurant, "Le Comptoir" was excellent and hotel guests have priority in booking a reservation there. It is quite the experience and well worth the effort to get a table. I would definitely recommend this hotel and consider staying there again when we are able to return to Paris.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clyvebaq, Directeur général at Hotel Relais Saint-Germain, responded to this review, December 29, 2014
We're truly grateful for your kind comments.It's help us to constantly improve our services.
We all wish you a happy new year!
The team of the Relais Saint Germain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We chose to stay at Hotel Relais Saint-Germain for the great reviews and location. We stayed two nights before meeting up with friends and staying at an apartment. The hotel is located ideally in the St Germain arrondissment and it could not be a better location. The booking was easy as was communicating with the hotel beforehand. They booked us a table at Le Comptoir, their on site restaurant, which happens to be the hot ticket for restaurants. It was AMAZING as was the breakfast they serve in the morning at the same spot. Breakfast is included and it was the best we had while in Paris.
Rooms - we wanted a deluxe but it was not available so we had the basic twin room. Size for Paris was great. Bathroom was clean and in great condition. The only issue with our room, #14, was the location. Behind the small lift (which is not a deal killer as it is fairly quiet and not used much in the middle of the night) and next to the service closet which meant loud banging opening and closing earlier in the am than we would have liked. Also there is construction next door on the other side of our wall which was a bummer. When we come back, which we will, I would request a room opposite the elevator - easy enough request when booking.
Le Comptoir - Stay at Hotel Relais Saint-Germain just to eat here!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clyvebaq, Directeur général at Hotel Relais Saint-Germain, responded to this review, December 29, 2014
We're truly grateful for your kind comments.It's help us to constantly improve our services.
We all wish you a happy new year!
The team of the Relais Saint Germain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

Nice little hotel at a great location in town. Rooms are very orginal and not the standard buidling blocks of the international chains. Nice old french style rooms, well insulated against city noises and......next door to their excellent restaurant !

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clyvebaq, Directeur général at Hotel Relais Saint-Germain, responded to this review, December 29, 2014
We're truly grateful for your kind comments.It's help us to constantly improve our services.
We all wish you a happy new year!
The team of the Relais Saint Germain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I booked the stay for my Wifes birthday and what a great hotel it was.
the hotel is in an ideal site within 10 min walking distance to the louvre and notre dame
and very close to great Bistos and cafes.

as for the staff ...wonderful its so nice that when you enter the hotel from a day site seeing you are greated by name and when on the last day at breakfast the waiter says he is sorry to see you leave.

the room (Alexander Dumas suite) well was superb..even made me read 'trois musketeers'
and so clean.

a really brilliant stay and would recomend it ...and would love to go back...will go back

Merci to Claudine et Yves

Room Tip: the suites are very comfy and well appointed. and very special. the lift on the other hand is sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clyvebaq, Directeur général at Hotel Relais Saint-Germain, responded to this review, December 29, 2014
We're truly grateful for your kind comments.It's help us to constantly improve our services.
We all wish you a happy new year!
The team of the Relais Saint Germain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We were so lucky to choose this hotel - thanks to Tripadvisor. This is the first Parisian hotel we would return to after many trips to Paris. Location was perfect. The staff friendly and welcoming and the rooms beautifully appointed, warm and luxurious, each one bearing the name of an author on the door. We even fell asleep one night to sounds of the accordion player from the restaurant below. If you want that perfect "Midnight in Paris" experience then stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clyvebaq, Directeur général at Hotel Relais Saint-Germain, responded to this review, December 29, 2014
We're truly grateful for your kind comments.It's help us to constantly improve our services.
We all wish you a happy new year!
The team of the Relais Saint Germain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Relais Saint-Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Relais Saint-Germain

Address: 9, Carrefour de l'Odeon, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#17 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#38 Family Hotel in Paris
#192 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Relais Saint-Germain 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Paris, between the Sorbonne and Saint Germain des Pres, Relais Saint Germain perpetuates the literary and gourmet tradition of the latin quarter while offering its own complete art de vivre. The Hotel, the bar with its hors d'oeuvre, the brasserie during the day and the gourmet restaurant at dinner dinner time, contribute to a unique and outstanding range of services. Our ambition is to offer our clients personalized rooms in a family(style environment while giving them a taste of our vision of luxury a la francaise. Relais saint Germain is your choice location with is sophisticated and convivial ambiance. Because Paris is a "moveable feast" our rooms are dedicated to the writers who contributed to the legend of the capital : Honore de Balzac, Antoine Blondin, Hemingway, Joyce, Proust, casanova, Francois Sagan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Relais Saint-Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Relais Saint Germain Paris
Relais St Germain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Relais Saint-Germain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.