We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Lovely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Relais Saint-Germain

Save Saved
You added Hotel Relais Saint-Germain to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Relais Saint-Germain
9, Carrefour de l'Odeon, 75006 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #16 of 1,795 hotels in Paris
NY
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Absolutely Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

I have to admit that I'm a bit of a hotel snob, and was filled with some trepidation upon arriving here after a few days at the Four Seasons in London. This is far from your large, commercial type of hotel with a fairly non-descript presence (our taxi driver missed the entrance twice). When we were told only two people could fit in the elevator at one time, I really began to wonder about our choice. BUT...our attitude quickly changed. After an extremely warm welcome, we went up to our rooms (as a family, we had booked two rooms). I had made all of our arrangements via email, and they had placed us in exactly the types of rooms we had requested in close proximity. They were very nice and well-appointed rooms with the comforts and conveniences you would expect at any modern hotel. The staff was extremely kind and helpful throughout our stay, and honestly, as much as I like my Four Seasons and Mandarin Oriental type hotels, I can't imagine having had a more enjoyable stay in Paris. This hotel is in an amazing neighborhood where you feel that you are really in Paris (the area where some of the higher end hotels are has become very commercialized and "touristy.") Within a few blocks we had so many cafes, bakeries, shops and even Starbucks. The Metro station was right on our corner and we could get anywhere in Paris very quickly and efficiently. The hotel's restaurant, "Le Comptoir" was excellent and hotel guests have priority in booking a reservation there. It is quite the experience and well worth the effort to get a table. I would definitely recommend this hotel and consider staying there again when we are able to return to Paris.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    216
    46
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
42
165
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We chose to stay at Hotel Relais Saint-Germain for the great reviews and location. We stayed two nights before meeting up with friends and staying at an apartment. The hotel is located ideally in the St Germain arrondissment and it could not be a better location. The booking was easy as was communicating with the hotel beforehand. They booked us a table at Le Comptoir, their on site restaurant, which happens to be the hot ticket for restaurants. It was AMAZING as was the breakfast they serve in the morning at the same spot. Breakfast is included and it was the best we had while in Paris.
Rooms - we wanted a deluxe but it was not available so we had the basic twin room. Size for Paris was great. Bathroom was clean and in great condition. The only issue with our room, #14, was the location. Behind the small lift (which is not a deal killer as it is fairly quiet and not used much in the middle of the night) and next to the service closet which meant loud banging opening and closing earlier in the am than we would have liked. Also there is construction next door on the other side of our wall which was a bummer. When we come back, which we will, I would request a room opposite the elevator - easy enough request when booking.
Le Comptoir - Stay at Hotel Relais Saint-Germain just to eat here!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

Nice little hotel at a great location in town. Rooms are very orginal and not the standard buidling blocks of the international chains. Nice old french style rooms, well insulated against city noises and......next door to their excellent restaurant !

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I booked the stay for my Wifes birthday and what a great hotel it was.
the hotel is in an ideal site within 10 min walking distance to the louvre and notre dame
and very close to great Bistos and cafes.

as for the staff ...wonderful its so nice that when you enter the hotel from a day site seeing you are greated by name and when on the last day at breakfast the waiter says he is sorry to see you leave.

the room (Alexander Dumas suite) well was superb..even made me read 'trois musketeers'
and so clean.

a really brilliant stay and would recomend it ...and would love to go back...will go back

Merci to Claudine et Yves

Room Tip: the suites are very comfy and well appointed. and very special. the lift on the other hand is sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We were so lucky to choose this hotel - thanks to Tripadvisor. This is the first Parisian hotel we would return to after many trips to Paris. Location was perfect. The staff friendly and welcoming and the rooms beautifully appointed, warm and luxurious, each one bearing the name of an author on the door. We even fell asleep one night to sounds of the accordion player from the restaurant below. If you want that perfect "Midnight in Paris" experience then stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

My 4 night stay at this hotel was the best Christmas present. We arrived and discovered a gorgeous gift and card from the hotel. The room was most comfortable and clean. Our room faced the street on the first floor so we did encounter some noise issues.
Breakfast was served in Le Comptoir, their restaurant. The service was exceptional and the food was fabulous.
Marie at reception was particularly helpful but all the staff should be commended for their wonderful service. My husband left the safe opened by accident. The reception was alerted by the housekeeper and we were told when we returned from our day out. The housekeeper's honesty should also be noted!
We were fortunate to have dinner at Le Comptoir. Staying at the hotel allows you to have preferential treatment. The queues outside for lunch and dinner are understandable as the food and service were divine. We especially enjoyed Christopher, our waiter's humour and appreciated his English translations and advice.
Staying at this hotel is a definite A++!

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Could be described as a 'boutique' styled hotel which feels remarkably 'like home'. Excellent location - close to Metro. My son is autistic and does not manage transition well - he slept like a baby and tremendously enjoyed the atmosphere of our room, sitting room downstairs and restaurant. He is also a 'clean freak' and I cannot say enough about the cleanliness of this place. It's no wonder he was so relaxed - and me too, because of it! Beautifully, tastefully decorated with accommodating staff. Breakfast service was impeccable! An absolute pleasure - and our first stay in Paris. We will return!

Room Tip: We were in room 42 - a lovely little view of the street/ cafes ... very French. Loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Relais Saint-Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Relais Saint-Germain

Address: 9, Carrefour de l'Odeon, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Paris
#19 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Hotel Relais Saint-Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Relais Saint Germain Paris
Relais St Germain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Relais Saint-Germain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.