We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Relais Saint-Germain

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Relais Saint-Germain to your Saves list
Hotel Relais Saint-Germain
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9, Carrefour de l'Odeon, 75006 Paris, France (Odeon / Saint-Michel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #25 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

My daughter and I stayed for several nights at this hotel and found it to be absolutely wonderful. The room was large and beautifully decorated. The view on the carrefour de l'Odeon was perfect. If we opened the windows, the sounds of Paris floated in. Close the windows, and the double panes made the room a quiet oasis. The bed was comfortable and large. The sitting area included a comfortable sofa and a table on which we enjoyed the hotel's lavish breakfast each morning. And the location is hard to beat--Blvd. Saint-Germain is a half block away, and the Luxembourg Gardens a short stroll in the other direction.

We are already planning our next visit!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    61
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
62
212
21
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wayland, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
12 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Near all the hustle and bustle of Odeon but rooms are very quiet at night. Starbucks nearby. Very convenient for sightseeing. All around lovely boutique hotel. No complaints at all!!! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed June 11-15 and absolutely loved this very warm and charming hotel.
First, all of the staff we came in contact with were very warm and helpful. They made us feel very special when actually they are probably that way with everyone, which is a good thing. From the moment we walked in I was impressed with the charm. Beams of wood dating back to the 18th century, and yet, very updated in an elegant way. Our room was #30 and was perfect for us. Blue and white toile made us feel at home since we have a bedroom in blue and white toile.
A little living area, a nice closet area that could be shut off from the living and bedroom area.
A king size bed which was very comfortable and though the bathroom was not huge, it had a nice tub plus separate shower. Very nice. We had a lovely view. Great breakfast in our room made the morning start off just right.
As I said we loved the spotless charm and touch of elegance. The only thing one might need to consider if you have any physical issues, is that even though there is an elevator (2 person) you still will need to navigate some very steep and narrow stairs even with the elevator. Also, being
a little lower than some of the other rooms we did here some street noise at times, but that was not a huge issue as we slept well. Another important thing for us was an A/C that worked very well.
In general we loved the location, the staff, the room, the Le Comptoir and for Paris we thought the price was very reasonable for both hotel and Le Comptoir.

Room Tip: Room 30 had a good use of space and a great view of the little sidewalk bistros.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham, al
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This hotel is very charming and we enjoyed our stay here. The room and bathroom were a very nice size and we never felt cramped. The toilet is separate from the shower and sink area and that always works well for my husband and I. The shower only has the half glass and the tub is very small but it was fine. It was nice to open the windows and hear the French music going on while having wine and snacks at the little table and chairs they provide in the room.
I will warn though that even with the windows shut during the night, we could still hear street noise and scooters throughout the night while trying to sleep. We didn't have a good experience in the hotel restaurant, Le Comptoir, that seems to be raved upon and I have put this write up in the restaurant review area. The hotel was in a great location and after much research, I was very pleased I chose this hotel. It met all my expectations.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We travel to Paris often and many years ago discovered hotel RSG and loved it from the beginning. Then a few years ago the Camdebordes purchased the hotel and the experience is now even better. The location, the exquisitely furnished rooms, and the style is everything you would expect in a small Paris hotel. The staff has always been excellent but during our last three annual visits we have noticed even more effort in giving us the help we need. Restaurant reservations, music events, and this last trip getting French Open tickets in advance was far from simple. For a very small, shall I say romantic, hotel the rooms, amenities, and most particularly the service of the entire staff is exceptional. And Yves Camdeborde has turned the small attached café into one of the best meals in Paris. The line for both lunch and dinner never seems to go away but hotel guests bypass the wait. Some of our most memorable meals.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. However, the lower priced rooms are smaller and some of the walls of the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
49 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We know this area very well but it was the first time we stayed at relais saint germain and we were not disappointed. Admittedly, we chose the hotel for le Comptoir and avant-comptoir having dined there before but despite being close to the street, our room was so quiet. The room allowed us to really relax and enjoy the space and view. As I was in Paris for work, I had excellent sleep quality and felt very much at home. It is, like most decent Parisian hotel rooms, expensive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We recently stayed at the hotel during a visit to France. Beautiful location, but the reception was mediocre. Typical Parisienne attitude by the hotel manager when we discovered that we misbooked the dates of arrival and departure. There was no consideration for our dilemma, only a comment that they would be full and we would have to leave after two rather than three days. Also no consideration to lower the price for the unused room because of the mistake. We did make our own reservations at another hotel which did turn out fine.
The location however was wonderful. Close to virtually everything. We did enjoy our breakfasts at the restaurant but never ate dinner there, choosing to go out to other excellent (ie. better) restaurants in the area.
Overall I would have expected some understanding from management rather than attitude. Given the cost of the place, we should have been treated better.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
relaissaintgermain, Propriétaire at Hotel Relais Saint-Germain, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear guests,

We are very sorry to read about your inconvenience but please understand that our schedules in the spring and summer are very tight and don’t allow us major last-minute changes. A precise reservation modified without an early warning cause us a number of troubles that are not easily solved.
We understand how unpleasant it can be for a guest to talk about the mistakes or misfortunes made during their booking or after it but we need the details of your stay in order to make it as good as possible.
We always try to avoid this kind of situation with guests leaving earlier than planned or not coming at all: we try to book the unused room again and therefore not to charge the guests who left it (as it is planned by our cancellation policy). Our hotel is a small structure with several regular guests who book long stays widely in advance, which makes it difficult for us to deal with unexpected changes.
As much as we dislike to upset our dear guests, we can’t avoid unfortunately, under final circumstances, the process explained in our cancellation policy and sent to you by e-mails.
Please receive our sincerest apologies and our best regards,

Yours faithfully,

Claudine Camdeborde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Relais Saint-Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Relais Saint-Germain

Address: 9, Carrefour de l'Odeon, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#18 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#56 Family Hotel in Paris
#248 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Relais Saint-Germain 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Paris, between the Sorbonne and Saint Germain des Pres, Relais Saint Germain perpetuates the literary and gourmet tradition of the latin quarter while offering its own complete art de vivre. The Hotel, the bar with its hors d'oeuvre, the brasserie during the day and the gourmet restaurant at dinner dinner time, contribute to a unique and outstanding range of services. Our ambition is to offer our clients personalized rooms in a family(style environment while giving them a taste of our vision of luxury a la francaise. Relais saint Germain is your choice location with is sophisticated and convivial ambiance. Because Paris is a "moveable feast" our rooms are dedicated to the writers who contributed to the legend of the capital : Honore de Balzac, Antoine Blondin, Hemingway, Joyce, Proust, casanova, Francois Sagan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Relais Saint-Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Relais Saint Germain Paris
Relais St Germain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Relais Saint-Germain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.