We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent sized room and good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel d'Aubusson

Save Saved
You added Hotel d'Aubusson to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel d'Aubusson
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Rue Dauphine | 06 Arr., 75006 Paris, France (Luxembourg)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
€40 off room rate
Ranked #43 of 1,795 hotels in Paris
Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Decent sized room and good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

In a city notorious for small hotel bedrooms, it was heartening to find one in which it was possible to stretch out and relax. After reading previous reviews, my wife and I opted for four nights in a standard room in a mid-priced hotel rather than the most expensive room in a more basic establishment. (That was what we did last time we were in Paris, and we were none too pleased with the result.) On arrival, the receptionist was very helpful and only lapsed into English when my schoolboy French failed fully to deliver the goods. At other times a different receptionist made bookings at restaurants we ourselves chose from the Michelin guide.

Our room overlooked the Rue Dauphine, which is quite a busy street, but thanks to the double glazing we heard not a sound. The TV showed plenty of channels, but the only one we watched was BBC World News. There were plenty of sockets for charging phones, cameras and electric toothbrushes, and we could have had wi-fi if we had wanted it - we didn't. The bathroom was excellent, with a powerful shower over the full-sized bath. Slippers and bathrobes were provided. If I had to make a criticism it would be this: the bed, although very comfortable, was furnished with sheets and blankets rather than the duvets we are used to at home and elsewhere in Europe. As a result we had very disturbed nights, ending up all in a tangle. To be fair, however, duvets are not common in France, and so the hotel cannot really be blamed.

Our tarriff included a full buffet breakfast, which we took in the very stylish breakfast room. The choice of food included a good range of fruits, juices, breads, pastries, hams and cheeses. There was bacon, scrambled eggs etc for those who wanted them. The coffee was fine, if not ultra hot. One afternoon we took tea in the bar, but be warned, the Earl Grey was the weakest ever experienced. Hot water would have been just as good. But perhaps that's how the French like it.

On our final morning we checked out, but were able to leave our suitcases for a couple of hours whilst we went out for a final walk. Finally a taxi was called and took us to the Gare du Nord for our Eurostar train back to London. But had we been unencumbered with luggage and parcels, the metro would have been quite convenient: you can get from the Odeon stop, two minutes walk away, to Gare du Nord by using Line Number 4, with no need to change.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    456
    110
    22
    12
    7
See reviews for
117
333
14
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, CT
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Great choice in the St-Germain-des-Pres area, because it's on a quiet street away from the hustle and bustle. Rue Dauphine leads straight to the Pont Neuf, for fast access to the Louvre; also a short walk to Notre Dame or Musee d'Orsay. Comfortable room, excellent housekeeping, good bathroom with Hermes amenities, friendly, eager-to-please front desk staff. Breakfast (included in price) was generous. Plenty of nice restaurants within a short walk--3 good ones on nearby rue Christine. A really good experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, FL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I heartily recommend this hotel. I was there in June with my daughters and granddaughters. The staff is outstanding, our rooms were very good, and our entire stay was a pleasure. I hope I can return. Each one of us enjoyed our visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The location is fantastic, in the heart of the Latin Quarter and still accessible to the Right Bank, being just steps away from Pont Neuf. Staff is very helpful especially for Americans ( one Concierge is actually from Arizona). I would say 90% of the people who stay here are American. Don't expect to hear much French spoken here.
If you are looking for a place, that is French, looks French, but where you will remain in your comfort zone, then this is the place for you. I have stayed many places in Paris, and while I have no specific complaints, I have stayed in more authentic small hotels in the Latin Quarter.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oradell, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This was our first trip to Paris and we couldn't have picked a better hotel. It is in the perfect location, and it's beautifully decorated. The staff were all very accommodating. They helped us with our daily itinerary and gave us great dining recommendations. Couldn't have been more helpful. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed recently four nights and were very pleased! The rooms are adequate size for Europe, the hotel is in a great location, easy walking to every point of interest or to the metro. The staff here is phenomenal, we asked for recommendations daily, and they went above and beyond to take care of us! We will recommend to our friends and will stay here again when we return to Paris someday!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This was our third stay at Hotel d"Aubusson. In addition to the perfect location and wonderful ambiance, we received extraordinary help from the front desk staff with concierge services. Several weeks before our trip we had requested help with restaurant reservations for several hot, new establishments. The D'Aubusson staff was able to secure all of our requested reservations. The hotel service is personal and accommodating. A much better choice than some big, impersonal, (and probably a lot more expensive) city hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel d'Aubusson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Aubusson

Address: 33 Rue Dauphine | 06 Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Luxembourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#31 Family Hotel in Paris
#44 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#112 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel d'Aubusson 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stylish and very attractive Hotel d’Aubusson is housed in a true Parisian mansion dating back to 1634 and located in the very heart of Saint Germain des Prés, a stone’s throw away from the renowned Pont Neuf bridge and within easy walking distance to The Louvre museum, the Orsay museum, Ile Saint Louis and the Notre Dame cathedral. Boasting discrete luxury, Louis XV furniture, original Aubusson tapestries and a wonderful wood burning fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Orbitz, Tingo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel d'Aubusson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel d Aubusson
d Aubusson Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel d'Aubusson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.