We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and nice service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Jeu de Paume

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel du Jeu de Paume to your Saves list
Hotel du Jeu de Paume
54, rue Saint-Louis-en-l'Ile, 75004 Paris, France (Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #183 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Greve, Denmark
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect location and nice service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

We picked the hotel due to the location and were pleasantly surprised to find this pearl in the middle of Paris. Nice rooms with a lot of history and very friendly service. The location is perfect to explore the Marais and Latin quarters. Definitely not the last time we use this hotel as a base for exploring Paris.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    67
    15
    9
    7
See reviews for
24
123
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night last week after reading reviews on Trip Advisor. While visiting my daughter in London, we had a 2 day, one night escape to Paris. We have both been a few times and love Ile St Louis. The location was as perfect as we had expected, and the hotel an absolutely stunning old building. Every staff member was very friendly, happy to speak English and help us in anyway. Our room was ready on arrival from Eurostar about 10am. Quiet room with everything we required. Wish we had longer and time to explore the whole building. Couldn't fault anything and would happily stay there again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This is the best place to stay in Paris. Beautiful, historic hotel, comfortable large [for Paris] rooms, excellent staff and a perfect location in Ile st-louis. And, since its recent renovation, even more perfect.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My boyfriend and I visited the Hotel du Jeu de Paume in June and it was excellent! The staff was very friendly and the room was very clean. We opted for the larger size room and were very pleased. The location was the best part. After traveling around Paris and seeing other options we knew that we had made the best choice. I will return to Paris and will definitely stay on the same island.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We normally stay in the Latin Quarter, but decided to try a different location for our short stay, and we're glad we did. We stayed in this hotel for only a few nights upon our arrival in France from the US, and our goal was a few good nights' sleep after our daily Paris wanderings. We enjoyed a walking tour of the Marais (Paris Walks, highly recommended!) and enjoyed wandering along the Seine, not to mention the dangerously close Bertillon ice cream shops. We walked everywhere!

The Jeu de Paume is hidden behind a big door, off a main tourist street, and once you enter the hotel property, you hear nothing. It was magical! The rooms were light, spacious, and modern. Ours was on the main floor and had big windows that opened on to the courtyard. Staff was helpful, and we enjoyed the big lab who seemed more interested in napping than greeting guests. My only negative comment is that virtually none of the rooms have actual queen or king beds. They have two twin beds pushed together to simulate one big bed. So one of us was always getting stuck "in the gap", which is one of my hotel pet peeves (especially when it's ME in the gap!). When I inquired about this after our first night, I was advised that there are only a handful of rooms in this hotel which have a proper queen bed, and we'd have to change rooms if we wanted a different bed. For only one night, it wasn't worth it. But if you don't want to "mind the gap" all night, be sure to make a special request for one of those rooms.

Room Tip: If you want a proper queen bed, as opposed to twin beds pushed together, be sure to request it ahead...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

On the ille St Louie, a great hotel, great service and a perfect location: Marias on the right, Latin Quarter on the left, Notre Dame, all attached by bridges. A narrow, one way main street with every thing you need: great bistros, 2 tasty bakeries, cheese shop, chocolatier, grocery store, wine shop and the Hotel du Jeu de Paume. Enter and quiet descends. Well appointed, friendly staff, very comfortable, great location, a haven in the middle of Paris. Eat at the St Regis bistro at the end of the street.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

You will live in a historical monument, in a quiet zone in the center of Paris. You can reach all monuments by walk and in the meanwhile you are in a peaceful and relaxing place. The staff is helpful and friendly, ready to answer to your requests. A great place where spend your time!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Jeu de Paume? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Jeu de Paume

Address: 54, rue Saint-Louis-en-l'Ile, 75004 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis , Notre Dame / Marais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#191 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#268 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel du Jeu de Paume is a charming 4* hotel created in a former 17th century royal jeu de paume; it was fully renovated during summer 2010 and decorated in the "Arty" style. The rooms are cosy and comfortable, overlooking the small patio garden in which breakfast or drinks can be served. The Jeu de Paume is located in the historical heart of Paris on the Island Saint Louis, at walking distance from the cathedral Notre Dame, the Latin Quarter.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel du Jeu de Paume reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Jeu De Paume Hotel
Hotel Jeu De Paume Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Jeu de Paume, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.